Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great room, food not so good

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Good value and excellent rooms... but be aware this is not a hotel in the usual sense, it's a pub with accommodation. Which means if eating in you have a 'chain pub' type menu to choose from. Still, worth a visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by YI-FENGfrom Taiwan

normal hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
no internet service in the room. simple breakfast. they won't prepare the invoice or receipt for room and food voluntarily.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Poor service

Posted Nov 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely room however not cleaned. Hairs everywhere in bathroom and remains of somebody elses business left in toilet. Had to wait for service at breakfast so waitress could finish her conversation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by JulesJfrom Sunderland

Comfortable stay

Posted Sep 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our family of 4 (children aged 4 and 6) stayed in the family room which was truly a family room with two singles for the kids rather than a sofa bed which you often get. The room was spacious and comfortable. Excellent breakfast including a vegeterian full beakfast as an option. It's a quiet spot but it was convenient for a wedding at Samlesbury Hall.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by MUAfrom Lanarkshire

Disappointing

Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
We chose The Boatyard for a stop - off on the way home. The images on the web look nice but in reality the rooms are a bit tired looking and quite disappointing. The bed was quite comfortable and the room and ensuite spacious but the wash basin was cracked and chipped and the bath panel hanging off. We ate there and food was extremely disappointing. The blackpudding was greasy and bland and the fish and chips were swimming in oil. Breakfast was acceptable but with limited choice. There was no cereal option just a choice of full English or eggs with toast. No additional toast. I asked for Earl Gray tea but this "wasn't part of the breakfast option". This could be so nice but needs improvements before we would consider returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by cjbrennfrom newcastle upon tyne

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Shower was amazing, room was comfortable, and view was great and of course it was a nice pint in the pub.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Fantastic

Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent food, wonderful room, excellent value for money. Would stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Victoriafrom Harrogate

Location by the canal very nice

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Close proximity to M65
Cons: Refurbishment of the restaurant area
Location: N/A
Stayed for one night as we were meeting up with friends. Overall the place was pleasant but a little tired. The room we had was clean apart from the shower cubicle which was in need of some attention to the grouting and the silicone seal was mostly black. The lip of the cubicle was very dirty and looked as if hadn't seen any cleaning materials since the day it was fitted. The menu was limited, mainly burgers, chicken and fish and chips. The breakfast experience was interesting. I'm sure the waitress enjoyed her job really but she hid it well. The bacon was under-cooked and the fried egg tasted as if it had been cooked in old oil. The drinks were expensive, on a par with a 5* hotel without the five star surroundings! Other than that it was OK.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Lynnefrom Scotland

Great Location

Posted May 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed our stay