Ratings based on 291 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: The food is delicious. The accommodation is wonderful and clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
Cons: I'm not very keen on dogs being allowed. One of the guests allowed his dog to soil the front of the hotel and he didn't pick it up.
Location: Location is very good, especially so near to the trams. Blackpool Tower, the Winter Gardens, the North Pier with all its attractions.
We had a fun packed break for my partner's birthday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Leeds

Love this Hotel

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: No granola available on my second morning for breakfast was a little disappointing
Location: Close to the North Pier, Tower, Theatres and Shopping areas.
This lovely grand hotel is in my opinion the best in Blackpool. The rooms are spacious, clean and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. The location is ideal, across from the sea and a small walk from the North Pier. I have stayed here a few times before and will continue to look for the best deals to stay again there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cymru

Nice face, shame about the legs.

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Very friendly, courteous staff. Excellent food.
Cons: Judging by comments from other guests, the bedrooms need to be updated or refurbished.
Location: No doubt there's plenty to do in Blackpool, but I didn't really leave the hotel.
Stayed overnight for a 2 day conference. Everything related to conference was very good, including some simple, but excellent food. However, the bedrooms here are very tired. To make matters worse, I was kept awake most of the night by the noise from the industrial size extractor fan. Rooms in this area of the hotel should either be heavily subsidised and come with a warning, or be properly sound insulated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom manchester uk

2 days with the grandson

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: We liked everything about the hotel for our short stay except looking out the window
Cons: if i was told on booking about scaffolding i would have asked for another room or booked elsewhere
Location: location perfect just pleasant walks to entertainments
just a little break away with grandson Joe.hotel very smart and comfy,everything perfect until we looked out of the window......i realise hotels have to do maintainance,but the scaffolding all around the window was a dissapointment. the pigeons and pigeon poo more dissapointing. i know we cant always get sea views. we did get out and see the attractions, but guests should be warned that a room with a view might not always be a good view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Yorkshire

Great staff and breakfast, room with niggles

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Character
Cons: Just the maintenance niggles - things in the room that don't work quite right.
Location: Right on the seafront - lots to do within walking distance. We ate at a Chinese restaurant about 4 minutes walk away - it was fine.
We've stayed here a few times several years ago. The hotel is being done up outside and the finished parts look really smart. Inside it's got lots of character. A new lift takes you up, opening onto spacious hallways and we remembered the creaky floors. We booked our room on Expedia, the cheapest available so we didn't get the best one - ours was facing into an ugly internal light well - again being done up by the look of it so it may not be as ugly next time. We had a twin room 246 with a nice bathroom, most things were fine, just a few niggles. The cold tap in the bathroom wouldn't turn on easily, the extractor fan was very noisy (over 60db) and the shower was so difficult to turn off that it took 2 of us to turn the dial. We didn't find a hair dryer either, or any notepaper and pen. The beds were comfortable enough, the pillows were not quite right for my wife, but staff quickly brought us 2 thicker ones. The breakfast was one of the best buffets we've had (we usually stay in good hotels). It was very well organised and the staff were super efficient, we especially noticed an older Chinese man who would collect plates from tables as soon as they looked empty - he had such a disarming manner that people at other tables were lifted by his cheerfulness - the whole team was excellent, the manager was obviously a good one. All staff we encountered were very helpful and made the stay enjoyable. This is a much more interesting place to stay than the modern ones we usually use.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kent

First experience of Blackpool

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: It transported us back to another era. It made us feel special. And the staff were unerringly delightful.
Cons: The only thing we would have liked to have been better was the food. It just didn't live up to the ambiance of the place. No wow factor - sorry.
Location: This was our first visit to Blackpool. It was out of season, so EVERYTHING was closed down. Ho-hum.
First - the good bit. Wow - what a hotel!!. The term crumbling elegance is totally inadequate to describe how amazing it was. It is old, it is pricelessly beautiful, with a history which defies description. It oozes charm. And the price was astonishingly cheap - it knocks a Travel Lodge into a cocked hat for value for money. Now the not-so-good bit. It is a bit tired here and there, the room we had was cramped - although we could have upgraded for not a lot - and the breakfast and our bar meal were only 'adequate'.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NOTTINGHAM

LOVELY HOTEL

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING
Cons: NOTHING
Location: SHOPS, RESTAURANTS AND BARS.
WE HAVE BEEN GOING THE LAST FEWS AND LOVE IT. WILL BE BACK AGAIN NEXT YEAR.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mohammedfrom Birmingham

Very little sleep and not in a good way!

Posted Feb 23, 2015 on Hotels.com
The hotel looks lovely from the outside and located right on the sea front and promenade. The inside of the hotel is dated along with the hotel rooms but they are generally clean and comfortable. However, the walls between rooms are paper thin to the point that I could hear telephone conversations between guests (including those on spekerphone) and hear word for word what was being watched on the TV. All of this was undertaken between midnight and 2am which resulted in no sleep between those times. Despite a visit from a staff member during the night the noise persisted. When I checked out I was going to raise this with staff. However, it took 15 minutes of queing to check out after which I was asked for my name, they confimed the bill had already been paid and then asked for the next person in the queue. No conversation, noone asked if our stay had been ok. Nothing. Won't be staying again purely on the basis that above anyting a hotel should provide a decent nights sleep which wasn't the case here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 19, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joanfrom Manchester

Love Blackpool

Posted Feb 13, 2015 on Hotels.com
Lovely oldie hotel one of the best hotels in Blackpool