Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Yorkshire

Perfect for a leisure or business stay

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Excellent beautiful setting great staff & immaculate accommodation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outstanding stay

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: The whole feel of the place was great.
We booked a 2 bed roomed apartment and it was spacious and beautifully furnished. The receptionist was lovely and very helpful. The leisure facilities were excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Nice location but very little else to offer

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: The rooms are spacious and clean
Cons: Need more reception staff and better method of dealing with crisis.
Location: Lancaster town centre. Worth a visit.
No restaurant or bar. Closed suddenly. Boiler outage led t no hot water. No towels in room on arrival. Only one receptionist who seemed to be under so much strain and pressure. Long queue and wait for check in. Despite this the hotel were not willing to do much by way of compensation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom blackpool

beautiful apartment

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: very close to Glasson dock
fabulous hotel and staff. tried to book extra night but full didn't want to leave. food superb. loved the ducks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Carolinefrom immingham

Excellent accommodation

Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very large accommodation with plenty of space, very clean and everything you need in the apartment. I do not think you should be charged extra to use the pool. Restaurant meals were excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely comments! We are glad your apartment was to your liking. We are however sorry to read you were disappointed with the charges and we will be sure to pass on your feedback. We do hope you will stay with us again soon. Rosario Seabra Resort manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but disappointing on the basics

Posted Nov 10, 2014
no hot water for showers due to low water pressure - difficult to manage when there are more than 2 of you in the apartment. Heater not working in one of the rooms, and electric heaters were on an economy 7 timing so noisy throughout the night. Also, when the water has been used for a bath would take another 40 mins to warm up if you can find the booster on the boiler in order to have water to shave or wash the pots. Just not good enough.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom teesside

not for kids

Posted Nov 2, 2014
they expected my 13 yr old daughter to share a bed with her 10 yr old brother. when you book on line and your told the room is suitable for children this age you would think they would be more considerate. lovely place but we did not feel welcome. maybe more for retired people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we are sorry you did not feel welcomed by our resort team. Our reception team try their hardest to make everyone feel welcome on our resort so we will be sure to address this. We are sorry you were disappointed with the apartment you were allocated and we hope you queried this with our team to see if there was another they could do to assist you. We hope your current disappointment will not mar your future dealings with us. Rosario Seabra Resort manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Allanfrom kent

Comfy beds

Posted Oct 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
i stayed at Thurnham hall for a weekend break ,hotel very good but there was an extra £15 a day to use pool and gym as my wife and I both like swimming I though it was a bit expensive,also you can't get anything to eat after 9pm not even a packet of crisps
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry you found the charges to use the leisure facilities high, we are always looking to improve our services so we will be sure to pass this on for you. We hope you will visit us again in the future. Rosario Seabra Resort manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oxford

Fabulous place.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
The room was more than adequate with excellent cooking facilities. We did incur problems with the water. However, when we called reception they soon put it right. But had several phone calls and men coming into the room. Which spoilt the stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that your stay at Thurnham Hall was a generally enjoyable one, although we’re sorry that you had some issues with the water supply while you were here. We try to minimise disruption caused to our guests when maintenance/repair work is necessary, and we are sorry that this had a negative impact on your stay. We hope that this hasn’t dissuaded you from returning here in the future – we’d love to see you again! Rosario Seabra Resort manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester

Great apartment in lovely surroundings

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Hotel Setting, room cleanliness and room facilities
Cons: If there has to be a charge for use of leisure facilities consider basing this on a 24 hour period and introduce 2, 4 and 6 day stay tariffs
Location: The Mill at Condor Green. The Barn at Scorton
Arrived about 1.45pm, staff on reception were lovely and it was great to be able to go straight to apartment even though check in is not till 4pm. Our studio, no 48, was tucked away in a quiet area and the room and facilities were excellent. We had a nice meal in the restaurant on the 1st evening and went out to The Mill the next, which was lovely and only a mile down the road. My one gripe is the charge for using the swimming pool, this was £10 per day - if staying 3 days it would have been £25 however we were only there for 2. I asked if the charge could be based on a 24 hr period, as we didn't go in until 3.30pm for only just over an hour, but was told this is not possible the charge being per day, hence we did not use the pool again unfortunately. I have stayed at a couple of other Diamond resorts and this is the first time there has been a charge to use the pool. Other than that I had no complaints
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
We are really pleased that you had a comfortable and generally enjoyable stay at Thurnham Hall – thank you for your review! We’re sorry to read your concerns about the charge for using the leisure centre, though. This charge has recently been introduced across all our properties; it may be subject to review in the future, though, and we would like to thank you for your feedback and suggestions. We hope that your disappointment with this matter didn’t spoil an otherwise enjoyable stay here, and that you’ll choose to come back to Thurnham Hall in the future – we’d love to see you again! Rosario Seabra Resort manager