Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom teesside

not for kids

Posted Nov 2, 2014
they expected my 13 yr old daughter to share a bed with her 10 yr old brother. when you book on line and your told the room is suitable for children this age you would think they would be more considerate. lovely place but we did not feel welcome. maybe more for retired people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we are sorry you did not feel welcomed by our resort team. Our reception team try their hardest to make everyone feel welcome on our resort so we will be sure to address this. We are sorry you were disappointed with the apartment you were allocated and we hope you queried this with our team to see if there was another they could do to assist you. We hope your current disappointment will not mar your future dealings with us. Rosario Seabra Resort manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oxford

Fabulous place.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
The room was more than adequate with excellent cooking facilities. We did incur problems with the water. However, when we called reception they soon put it right. But had several phone calls and men coming into the room. Which spoilt the stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that your stay at Thurnham Hall was a generally enjoyable one, although we’re sorry that you had some issues with the water supply while you were here. We try to minimise disruption caused to our guests when maintenance/repair work is necessary, and we are sorry that this had a negative impact on your stay. We hope that this hasn’t dissuaded you from returning here in the future – we’d love to see you again! Rosario Seabra Resort manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester

Great apartment in lovely surroundings

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Hotel Setting, room cleanliness and room facilities
Cons: If there has to be a charge for use of leisure facilities consider basing this on a 24 hour period and introduce 2, 4 and 6 day stay tariffs
Location: The Mill at Condor Green. The Barn at Scorton
Arrived about 1.45pm, staff on reception were lovely and it was great to be able to go straight to apartment even though check in is not till 4pm. Our studio, no 48, was tucked away in a quiet area and the room and facilities were excellent. We had a nice meal in the restaurant on the 1st evening and went out to The Mill the next, which was lovely and only a mile down the road. My one gripe is the charge for using the swimming pool, this was £10 per day - if staying 3 days it would have been £25 however we were only there for 2. I asked if the charge could be based on a 24 hr period, as we didn't go in until 3.30pm for only just over an hour, but was told this is not possible the charge being per day, hence we did not use the pool again unfortunately. I have stayed at a couple of other Diamond resorts and this is the first time there has been a charge to use the pool. Other than that I had no complaints
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
We are really pleased that you had a comfortable and generally enjoyable stay at Thurnham Hall – thank you for your review! We’re sorry to read your concerns about the charge for using the leisure centre, though. This charge has recently been introduced across all our properties; it may be subject to review in the future, though, and we would like to thank you for your feedback and suggestions. We hope that your disappointment with this matter didn’t spoil an otherwise enjoyable stay here, and that you’ll choose to come back to Thurnham Hall in the future – we’d love to see you again! Rosario Seabra Resort manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Warrington

Nice relaxing place to stay.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pool was lovely and warm, but think the cost of using the leisure facilities should be included in the price. The one bedroomed apartment we stayed in was very large, well equiped kitchen and very comfy bed in the main bedroom. Unfortunately, the sofa bed in the lounge was terrible and needs replacing. Grouting in the bathrooms needs to be addressed as although the bathrooms were clean, this made them look dirty. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review – we are really pleased that your stay here was generally a very enjoyable one! We’re sorry to read that you had some concerns about the accommodation, though: we have an ongoing programme of refurbishment which includes both replacement of furnishings and interior renovation/redecoration – if you do have any particular concerns in this regard, though, we would encourage you to speak to the front desk during your stay as they’ll be more than happy to assist. At present, the cost for using the leisure facilities is not incorporated into our pricing plan as we are aware that not all guests will want to use these facilities, and we’re sorry for any disappointment that this caused to you. We really hope that these issues didn’t mar an otherwise enjoyable stay here, and that you’ll choose to return for another visit – we’d love to see you again! Rosario Seabra Resort manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wigan

Just what we needed

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Absolutely everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Location is great being only a short ride from the Lake District or Lancaster city centre. Also quite near to the Trough of Bowland and Yorkshire.
The pre-arrival service was superb due to requiring an apartment that was not too far from the main hall and with very few steps to negotiate for my elderly mother. The apartment was excellently appointed and the facilities are great. The staff were fabulous and nothing was too much trouble for them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are really pleased that you had a great time at Thurnham Hall, and that our team were able to provide your party with all the assistance that you needed in connection with this stay. We hope you’ll choose to come back here in the future, and we look forward to being of service to you again! Rosario Seabra Resort manager
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
We are so pleased to read that our team contributed to you having an enjoyable stay and we hope this is not the last time we will have an opportunity to welcome you back. Until then we wish you safe travels! Rosario Seabra Resort Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by stacyfrom england

Lovely location and great spacious apartments

Posted Jul 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was fantastic. The main house is beautifully kept and the apartments are spacious and modern - the grounds are beautiful and there were plenty of activities for all ages. The only negative was that the beds were very uncomfortable, especially the double beds (2 beds pushed together)
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are delighted to read that we were able to meet your expectations and you had such a lovely and relaxing time with us. Although we are sorry to read about the beds. Still, we hope to see you on your next visit to the area! Rosario Seabra Resort Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Lanefrom MA, USA

Great Location

Posted Jul 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
we had a great stay. The only downfalls were the internet connection was real bad and we didn't find the playground to be "girl friendly" We have 2 girls aged 2 and 3 1/2. It would've been nice if they had some swings or a slide that the girls could play on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
It is delightful to read your kind account of your recent stay. Thank you for your nice words and please be assured that we have noted your comments. Please come back soon as we would love to see you again! Rosario Seabra Resort Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Davidfrom Surrey

Beautiful location and great hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Really enjoyed the hotel, its surroundings and the general helpfulness of the staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you; we hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Until then we wish you safe travels! Rosario Seabra Resort Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sherburn in elmet

Amazing hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Booked a night for my family and i to stay before attending a conference at Lancaster uni. The place was stunning. we were in the main hall in a suite. The kitchen had everything you needed, both the bed and sofa bed were really comfy. Even though it was a suite it still had all the comforts of a hotel. The grounds were lovely and the children loved playing on the playground and following the ducks. A gorgeous place to stay for a very reasonable price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
We are delighted that you chose to stay at Thurnham Hall, and that you had a lovely time here! We hope you’ll choose to return here for a longer visit, to take advantage of everything that this area has to offer – we’d love to see you again! Rosario Seabra Resort manager
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you very much, we appreciate your comments and hope that you will chose to stay with us again in the future! Rosario Seabra Resort Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com