Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sara from Altoona

Amazing little hotel :)

Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
We absolutely loved this place-it's quiet, close to all the attractions and is really unique. The free breakfast in the morning is great and so is 'the breakfast guy'. Everything at the hotel is well taken care of and restored very well, but beware of the stairs as you will have to duck to not hit your head on the way down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brad from Owatonna,MN

Unique

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Pros: The hotel was an old mill with original stone walls are exposed for character. Continental breakfast was available.
Cons: It was a little damp. Ceiling in our room needed cleaning(mold)
Location: Walking distance to many shops and the bike trail. Also visited the Winery.
Located right in historical Lanesboro. We walked to shops and a deli for dinner. We drove to Preston and visited The Old Barn resort. We had a jacuzzi tub for relaxing at the end of the day. Seating area outside that looked nice (raining and cold when we were there). Wine glasses and a bottle opener available for guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joan from Iowa

Rustic Charm

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Pros: Location, amenities (free Wi-Fi, Jacuzzi, bike storage, well cared-for spaces).
Cons: Cushioned seating. The comfort score was a 4 because there were literally no cushioned, upholstered chairs or sofas that we could find in the inn. Bot
Location: Wonderful restaurants for lunch and dinner--lots of good food for a town of its size. Be aware that many--if not all--stop serving dinner before 8pm.
Make no mistake: Stone Mill Suites are actually stone and suites. The inn is located a stone's throw away from the bike trail and from shops and restaurants, so the location is perfect for bikers and shoppers. Although we didn't utilize their services, there is a massage studio/spa in the lower level of the inn. Thoughtful touches included secure on-site storage for bikes, covered front porch for socializing, pastries from a local bakery for the continental breakfast, and lots of information on local sights and activities. We stayed in a lower level suite (the Egg Suite--the walls were painted a light yolk color) which was cozy on a rainy afternoon, but without windows, could be a little too cave-like for some. The Jacuzzi was a godsend after our bike ride! Our check-in was efficient and the morning breakfast room host/hostess were personable and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dale from Wisconsin

staff friendliness was superior

Posted Oct 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
The inn's staff was exceptional. They went out of their way to show gratitude for our visit and were full of warmth and graciousness. The Stone Mill was tastefully restored, clean, and comfortable. We will stay there again when we return for the bicycling and sights of southern Minnesota.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gina from Iowa

Very comfortable and easy access to trails

Posted Sep 11, 2013
Location: bike trail around the corner! Downtown Lanesboro out the door.
We have previously stayed at a B & B in Lanesboro which was delightful. Our stay here was also very wonderful - although my husband missed having a "full" breakfast (I neglected to tell him it was only continental!). We stayed in the boat room with an in-room Jacuzzi which was very nice. Having bike storage was wonderful. We will definitely come back when in the area!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Fran from Shakopee

enjoyed the hotel and Amish tour

Posted Sep 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very enjoyable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Johnston, iowa

Wonderful

Posted Sep 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Wonderful place to stay and bike; expensive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Craig from Crystal,MN

Hotel getaway with no kids!!!!!

Posted Jul 26, 2013
Pros: Great Room and friendly staff as well as the hot tub that was in our room.
Location: Take a 2 1/2 hour tour through the Amish community and check out the bike paths where you can go from city to city where you can follow the Root River
Went to Lanesboro, Minnesota for a getaway with no kids, got to see how the Amish live as well as bike trails were wonderful, scenery was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Midge from Des Moines

Hotel was great; town, not so much...

Posted Jul 20, 2013
The only complaint I have regarding my stay at Stone Mill is the noise from the room next door. Everytime they ran water it was like they were sharing my room with me. When they showered, the noise was so loud, I couldn't hear the tv. Otherwise, the inn was nicely decorated, comfortable, and interesting. As for Lanesboro, be aware that very few business and restaurants operate on Tuesday and Wednesday, especially after 5pm. I cannot for the life of me understand this. It's the middle of summer but I only had 2 choices for a place to eat on a Wednesday evening! The winery's storefront closed at 4:30 so they, in effect, lost a sale. I went there to buy several bottles of wine but they were closing up when I arrived. The pie shop in Whalen....not open AT ALL on Tuesday and Wednesday. If the cycling crowds of summer are your bread and butter for the year, why would you ever be closed!? Also, there is no place to buy pop, snacks, etc other than the BP station so just a head's up there....don't go into Lanesboro thinking you can pick up what you need when you arrive. It just seems that Lanesboro needs a little shot of adrenaline...pull the weeds along the sidewalks, spiff up your main street and try to act like you're excited to see the visitors who come through your doors. The woman who waited on me at the bakery acted quite put out by having to get up out of her chair and say hi :(
2 out of 5
by GT from St Paul, MN

Just OK, but not for the price

Posted Jun 4, 2013
The sink had no counter space...just a large sink. There was room to do this. The plumbing from neighboring rooms was awfully loud, especially during showers. Very steep steps to the room, but not a problem for us. Curtains did not close out street lights and morning sun. For this the price was too high.