Ratings based on 155 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mohammad from Dubai

nice hotel with great views and delicious food

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: all
Cons: ......
Location: The location is very awesome and all the things you need are just around the hotel,... Food markets
nice hotel .......................................................................................................................................................................................................
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DMC from Australian

Perfect location on cenang beach

Posted Apr 8, 2014
My fiance and I visited pantai cenang before the busy season. Staying at the pelangi resort was wonderful. Beach was stunning and private, with about a 3min walk to the busier part of the beach with the water sports. The chateau was very nice, clean and comfortable. The 2 pools were great to chill out in, one with swim up bar. We had the pool to ourselves occasionally as we went during a quieter time. Restaurants were good, expensive compared to the dining just down the street. Food was better in cenang main town. Overall though we loved our stay and would come again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Debra from uk

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Nice resort on the beach, quiet location but close to shops resteraunts etc.
Cons: Large balcony so it would have been nice to have a sun lounger.
Location: Shops and rester aunts close to hotel and rice museum opposite the hotel. Taxis were cheap and enabled us to get around the island.
Lovely hotel, staff couldn't do enough to help. Room was lovely, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast tended to be a little hectic and if we returned would pay the extra to go to the other breakfast room. The main pool was closed for renovation which we were not informed of prior to booking. As it happened we had a delux room overlooking the small pool which was lovely so no major issue with the main pool being closed.
3 out of 5
by shyshyg from ATX

Very close to the beach!

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: The building was very nice. Not far of a walk down to the busier area of shops and eateries.
Cons: Hot water for showers and a better drainage system for the shower.
Location: 5-10 minute walk and you are near a busier street with shops, food, and Underwater World is about a 20-25 minute walk from this hotel.
We liked the room and it was very close to the beach. We waited an hour to check in since no one was really staffed although it was busy time for check ins. There was a line of 10 couples all waiting. The beds were very comfortable and I loved the large patio on the back of the room. The bathroom was setup unusually. When you take a shower that water goes does the shower drain but also into the toilet area where there is another drain. It all does drain, but it is not my idea of a good time to have a wet floor near the toilet. We also couldn't get very much hot water. I would have asked the staff, but we were only staying one night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David & Tricia from Bedfordshire, England

A glorious location on palm fringed white beach

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Courtesy, friendliness, comfort, and luxury
Cons: Nothing
Location: Sunset cruise, cable car, jungle walk, aquarium, walks along the beach at sunset and into the town close to the hotel
A very luxurious two weeks beside a beautiful white beach where the friendly staff were so helpful. Whatever you are looking for from a summer island, Langkawi and Meritus Pelangi can offer you it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Opalyn from Penang

Beautiful beach, good facilities, clean,friendly

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Stayed here a few times already. Great place for families and also for a nice relaxing time. They have beautiful beaches, good facilities and their staff are friendly and nice. Rooms could be quite far from main lobby but it's a nice walk and they provide transport by buggies too
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angela from Brisbane

Heaven in Langkawi

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing. Keep doing exactly what you are doing.
Location: The beach offers all sorts of activities and also relaxing and swimming. A trip to Coral Island is a must.
I really cannot fault this place. Everything from the rooms to the food to the layout to the service to the facilities to the staff is excellent. The location is fantastic, right on the beach. The staff are friendly, obliging and cannot do enough for you. Actually the only negative thing I have to say about my experience at Pelangi Resort is the way I saw some of the other guests speaking to the staff. The attitude was disgusting. Especially when each and every staff member was fantastic. I will definitely go back to Pelangi, loved it, loved it, loved it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ian from KL, Malaysia

Family hotel with optimum facilities

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Location and facilities
Cons: See above and to add, restaurant space
Location: Restaurants, shops and if you hire a car, it is easy to see all of the island in a couple of days or even one day according to time.
A nice hotel with large grounds conveniently located for beaches, shops and restaurants. The childrens facilities are close to the adult swimming pool and rest areas making supervision of children convenient. The hotel is adjacent to a long sea shore which is clean, safe and from time to time provides some heat relieving breezes. There is much water sport activity along this beach. Our only complaints concern restaurant service which can be "sleepy" until you wake the staff up and water shortages recently causing my daughter, her young son and her husband to have to move rooms. The shortage of water seemed to be more problematic for people staying in ground level accommodation. The staff do respond to complaints well
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brilliant 4 star! Not quite 5 star

Posted Mar 18, 2014
This resort is to notch but is definitely a 4 or 4.5 star. Solid in every area but not quite a 'luxury' resort. All staff so friendly (Concierge Ismail lovely bloke). Breakfast spread brilliant for Asia standards (Saiful omelette man is great) Gardens= amazing Beach = amazing. Pool(s) = amazing, especially for our 9 month old with splash park and water slides etc. Room perfect for price. Areas to improve: poolside F+B service almost non-existent. Mini golf center needs a refresh!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jan from Devon. England

Return visit

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: The staff were a credit so friendly and genuinely happy for you to be there. The rooms very clean and well furnished.
Cons: The buffet was a little bit too busy at breakfast, quite how you could alter it l don't know. Generally l would not alter anything it was perfect.
Location: The Cable Car is fab although the shopping area at the base is a little tired. The sea food restaurants in town are worth a visit, try Sun Cafe.
We returned to Pelangi in February, the rooms had been upgraded to a higher standard which was welcomed. The staff of this hotel are first class and a credit to them. We stayed for a month and did not have a single reason to complain about anything. The pools were both very clean with plenty of sun-loungers, also plenty of loungers on the beach front. Golf buggies were always available to transport you around the complex and the drivers didn't expect a tip ( but were very appreciative when a couple of Ringets were offered). Buffet breakfast was the only thing that needs looking at ( don't really know how they could alter it for the better though ). Would we return to this hotel? We are already planning our next trip.