Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queensland

Superb service and atmosphere

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Facilities , cleanliness, high standard , staff service, range of foods and restaurants, room service
Cons: A general store type provision as expansion to gift store
Location: It's a distance from other attractions but easy and cheap to get a car or taxi . Our taxi driver was wonderful and had great stories.
The resort facilities are wonderful. We loved the range of restaurants and the food range available. We are fussy and healthy diners and every meal was wonderful, the wellness range was fantastic . Staff superb , we upgraded to an executive room with pool , which was the best decision. Lots of experiences for all interests but most of all a relaxing and beautiful place. Beach swimming was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Great location and setting.

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: size, scale, offerings, setting ON the beach.
Cons: Some minor tweeking with the staff on Guest Experience/Service. F&B staff was excellent.
Location: Perfect location - golf nearby was superb.
Great beach, pool, F&B, adventures, spa, nature - private cove ocean front.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Great location

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Magical location & friendly staff! Some communication problems with staff, but worked though them. Well worth a visit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Karratha, WA, Australia

Amazing resort right on the beach

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, beautiful location, amazing restaurants and relaxing vibe.
Cons: Some of the meals we ordered at the restaurants weren't available so we had to order second options.
Location: The Gulai Indian restaurant next door was amazing, and The Datai is walking distance along the beach, but quite a distance from town.
The staff were so welcoming and friendly, with our ocean view room taking in the spectacular beach, we only left the hotel once. Delicious varieties of food at the restuarants and pampering at the day spa. Just what a beachside holiday is about.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by family travel

Lovely relaxed hotel between rain forest and beach

Posted Jul 2, 2014
I booked last min, and the hotel arranged a pickup from airport. We got a great room, but noisy neighbours, so kindly we were upgraded. Great breakfast. Other food quite expensive, and options for reasonable snacks limited.staff lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing stay with some excitement

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Had a great stay at the Andaman. Location was quite remote and exclusive. The room was comfortable and well fitted out. Beach access was great, the dining options were ok. On the second night we had a visitor to our room, a hungry monkey. Piece of advice, don't leave your room balcony door open... even just a little bit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ernie from sydney, australia

Nice resort. Isolation is a plus

Posted May 25, 2014
Hard to fault the facilities or the staff and the day spa is awesome. Minor quibble is the whole food and beverage experience - I felt like I was being gouged and when the quality was taken into account it really felt like I was being ripped off. The lack of comprehensive malaysian options was disappointing - there is the dinner Malay pop up restaurant which was very poor in comparison to even the modest meals we had elsewhere on the island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alice from South Australia

Great hotel with amazing wildlife and stunning bay

Posted May 11, 2014
The hotel was made by the wildlife and stunning scenery. Only downfall was that our room had a musty smell, which was very overpowering on the first night. The cleaning staff seemed to fix this from the second night on so we were very grateful for that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Russell from Melbourne Australia

Outstanding setting, efficient and friendly staff

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: Everything. What we loved the most: Location and views Spa and fitness centre Wildlife Friendliness of staff Free nature walks
Cons: The main pool closes at 7pm, which I thought was a bit early.
Location: Long private beach, rainforest all around, Spa & fitness centre. Lots of tours via resort. Taxi to town c. RM50, a little more for hotel chauffeur
Just home after a wonderful short break at The Andaman - our only complaint is that we couldn't stay for much longer! Everything met or exceeded our expectations. The accommodation, level of comfort, and resort facilities were of the highest standard. Before our visit, I researched all the better resorts on Langkawi, and chose The Andaman because it seemed the best fit for us: comfort, a superb pool, dining flexibility, a good beach, a highly-rated spa and fitness centre, and lots of wildlife nearby. We were very, very impressed by the staff, not only for their efficiency and competence, but they were so friendly, always in a respectful way. All staff, whether pool attendants, waiters, cleaners or desk staff, had a friendly smile and "good morning" whenever we encountered them. Nothing seemed too much trouble for them, and our every request was met. The Andaman is an "eco-resort". The broad diversity of wildlife on the grounds and in adjacent forests suggests a successful balance. The gardens and pool area retain much of the original rainforest vegetation. Little wonder that hornbills, fruit-pigeons, kingfishers and lemurs are all breeding residents. If we visit Langkawi again, I'll save time researching alternatives, because we will go straight to The Andaman. The high number of multiple-stay people we talked to suggests it is a favourite destination for a lot of people. Lots of families, and well set up to keep everyone fully entertained.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by David from KL

The Andaman experience

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: The coral nursery and it closeness to the beach and forest as well
Cons: The beach is however very disappointing esp when it is low tide. Very ugly esp the left side so different from the picture on website
Location: The location is remote and not suitable for those who tries to get out if you do not have any car as transport is not easily available.
Good for a family and if you like serenity because it is remotely located. The coral nursery is very good for children as it is very safe. Quite an experience.