Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Over priced and generally disappointing for a 5 *

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Wonderful peaceful position on beautiful beach, sublime pool, huge quiet rooms which are v comfortable.
Cons: Food, service
Hotel is certainly impressive and we chose it because of its wonderful pool for my young son and rave reviews about food and service. Ate at Planters the first night, very average, family had chateaubriand, craving for a piece of steak after much delicious Asian food; steak was not tender and without taste, Asian meal was very ordinary and the bill was exorbitant, we understood why the restaurant was virtually empty each night. Breakfast was really disappointing and one of our joys is having wonderful brekkies in Asian hotels. Fruit selection was woeful, apples and oranges, tasteless tropical fruit and very small selection. Coffee was awful. Food looked old and was badly presented, dribbles of mayonnaise inside sad looking verrines, overcooked salmon, bad tasting smoked salmon of low quality etc etc. The personalised service was lacking, I felt like a number, not once did staff call us by our names, which after 6 days one would expect, or did they once ask how our stay was going, what we had planned for the day etc, things you do get in other luxury hotels as a matter of course. On the 5th day a woman from the front office greeted us and other guests at their tables, at last some communication. After a career in the luxury hotel industry, it is known that it is the little details, extras and attentions that put the best above the rest, this hotel lacked all of these.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from Munich, Germany

Perfect stay in this 5 star hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2014
This Hotel is the best I ever had. The service was unbelievably good, Hotel stuff very courteous and well trained and the restaurants with a great quality. The pool service was very good! All in all a perfect stay ins this Hotel!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wasif from Dubai, UAE

Value for money

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: The building style from inside was very good (though from outside it wasnt impressive).
Cons: Breakfast could have some South Asian component. Like paratha, cholay, puri. etc.
Location: The location was close to the Airport, seven wells, cable car but very far from Eagle Square and jetties. There are at the extreme points.
The hotel ambiance, rooms, pool & the beach; all were superb. The staff were too good and accomodative. We were given an early check-in at around 10:30. Though the hotel didnt extended our check-out, they gave us a shower room in the evening. The breakfast was very good and so were the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Satisfied from singapore

Great Hotel to relax!

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: The attention to detail and the service, staff were attentive without being overburdening and lovely personalities - very service orientated !
Cons: No keep up the present standards!
Location: Fairly isolated but fantastic setting so if you just want to relax in a lovely location this will fit the bill.
First class, everything was better than expected, lovely building, great facilities and food but finally fantastic staff! I hotel where we spent a special occasion and were treated like royalty, definetly will return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai, U.A.E

Beautiful hotel for a perfect getaway

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: Great Swimming pool and private beach, nice restaurants next to the hotel, nice cigar room in hotel with live music on weekends,
Location: Location is perfect for a romantic getaway, I was travelling with my wife and we enjoyed the stay at this beautiful hotel a lot.
Stayed at the hotel for three nights, it is a absolute 5 star hotel, starting from free shoulder massage during check-in to great views from the room balcony. Hotel has nice restaurants close to it. Good Swimming pool and private beach to chill at. Hotel is about 20 min drive from Pantai Cenang (Famous Tourist place with shopping . lots of water activities/ restaurants and bars).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cathy from Auckland

Fantastic Relaxing Hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cristina from London

Paradise

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness. The staff. The amazing swimming pool.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The location is perfect. Beautiful marina next door with a few restaurants. Set on the beach. 5 min drive to cable cars and 20 mins to Cenang.
Immediately on arriving at the hotel we were made to feel welcome and comfortable. The welcome drink & massage was a lovely gesture and this started off what was one of our best hotel stays ever. The rooms were comfortable, clean and had ample space. We were treated like royalty the whole time we were there, every guest were made to feel that they're as important as the next. The staff couldn't do enough for you and were extremely friendly. The location of the hotel is ideal, peaceful but a short taxi ride in to Cenang if you wanted to visit. Definitely hoping to return one day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Lovely get-away break in a beautiful- quite new but colonial style hotel. Great room,facilities, pools and terraces, and above all exceptionally helpful, warm and professional staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by OJ from Singapore

Lovely hotel for a relaxing break.

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Enjoyed the good service and comfort of this hotel. Excellent breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joy from Perth Australia

Heaven on Earth

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: The Colonial ambiance and the best staff ever.
Cons: Perhaps airport pickup and return could be included in room price for those staying for longer periods.
Location: Location was quiet, which is what we wanted however a 20 minute taxi ride to Kuah and major shopping. The cable car experience only 5 minutes away.
We first visited this hotel 3 years ago when we dined at Telega Harbour. The staff were kind enough to show us through the property. We were very impressed with the colonial ambiance and the staff we came in contact with were excellent.. We then decided the next time we planned to visit Langkawi having previously stayed at the Sheraton and The Andaman we would definitely stay at the Danna. We definitely were not disappointed with our 10 day stay. My husband had recently undergone major surgery and we needed total relaxation. The Danna provided this in spades. Our room was very luxurious and spacious with the largest bathroom we had ever experienced. The property was truly beautiful, the pool area deserves special mention. The dining room staff were excellent together with the great array of food selection. The complimentary champagne was a very nice touch. A special mention to Lavasan who made us feel extra special. Unfortunately the 10 days went far too quickly but we will be back. Joy & Warren