Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and relaxing atomospher.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Great escape! Really enjoyed the hospitality. Wish that the food quality is little better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Khan

Good and the bad

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Hotel is very expensive so the last thing you would expect is faulty. I had to change room cause my first room had water leaking from the ceiling and then when moved to 2nd room it has multi problems. Toilet water dispenser was spray far right, which had me sitting awkwardly so I can reach the water dispenser. Shower blockage was a major issue. Having shower on for a while would cause it to flood. DVD player didn't work. All problem was rectified and staff was very helpful and quick to act upon but if you spend a lot in a hotel then you don't expect none of these problem to occur in the first place. Great experience, hotel staff was absolute great and professional just disappointed with the problems in the room. Would still recommend, cause it is a very nice place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

We stayed four days and really didnt want to leave

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: The excellent service, the beech location and the choice of good restaurants as part of the hotel.
Cons: Nothing. Dont change it !
Location: The mangrove area approx 40 minutes drive away is very interesting
The hotel is situated on a fantastic private beach. The hotel service is one of the best we have exerienced, friendly, competent professional and helpful. The rooms are spacious and compfortable, situated a little way up the mountain from the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur

Older hotel but still comfortable and classy

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Service, above all else, secluded beach, luxuriously rustic feel, tranquility from the lack of street noise, interesting flora and fauna
Cons: Stronger ventilation in the bathroom, coffee at breakfast (both brewed and supposedly espresso type were bad), more non-alcoholic beverages near beach
Location: Gulai House restaurant had excellent beef rendang, grilled fish and tiger prawns were nothing special. Expensive, but not choice if not going to town.
Rent a car if you don't mind the winding roads up and down the hill, it's about 20 minutes to half an hour to Cenang town. The hotel is a little dated, but it was still classy and very comfortable. Our room was quite damp, so droplets of water can be seen on the ceiling. But never once the droplets fell, and the floors weren't wet. You won't be able to dry your swimsuits in the bathroom, as the ventilation will not be good enough. 2 sinks and magnified mirrors, ample supply of towels, toiletries, incense and the comfortable slippers were very much 5-star quality. Service was top notch throughout, even the housekeeping staff were smiley-faced at all times. Best part of the stay was actually the nature walk with resident naturalist Irshad, who is very knowledgeable about the flora and fauna of the area. We only went for the evening walk at 7pm, the 8am session had a different route with different things to see. We met a few people who actually went for both and enjoyed it very much. The beach was a fair distance away, being pregnant, I only managed to walk down to the beach and climb (yes, climb) back once. The rest of the time we took the complimentary buggy rides which were quite bumpy. The beach club didn't have too much music or song selections, but the beach was quite shaded and secluded from the next hotel (The Andaman). The 2 rectangular pools were boring, but perhaps adequate for just a soak or for children who can swim at 1m depth.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Simply magical

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
We spent the last couple of days of our holiday at this magical place. We could not have hoped for anything better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Emmanuel from Singapore

Perfection

Posted Apr 22, 2014
everything is done to make you enjoy a perfect stay, in all details
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarah from Singapore

Heaven on earth

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Loved everything. The staff just absolutely made it. Beautiful hotels aren't worth it if the staff aren't great , but they're wonderful at The Datai.
Cons: Truly nothing.
Location: The location is picture perfect. Being there only for a weekend we didn't want to venture. It seems to be in a more remote location.
We loved the Datai. The staff made an excellent impression from the pick up at the airport, to the drop off at the end. The food in the restaurants and the environment was wonderful. The Pavilion and Gulai House both fantastic in particular. Plenty of towels and drinking water at the pools and the beach. We were blessed with the weather and loved the water activities at the stunning beach. There are plenty of activities to choose from if you want to, tennis, nature walks, a nearby golf course. Because of the booking schedule, it was no trouble to let us stay in our room until 6pm on the day of check out at no additional cost. This was suggested to us before we had the chance to ask. We travelled as a couple but the kids we saw there seemed happy enough. Was glad for the quiet of the main pool (no kids!) at times. Gorgeous pool for the kids down at the Beach Club.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Best hotel on the site

Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
I worked for Hotels.com for over six years. This, in my opinion, is the best hotel on the site, and a perfect spot for a relaxing holiday.
3 out of 5
by itim777

Nice area, too old and worn out hotel

Posted Jan 17, 2014
Stayed in villa, paid a lot, expected to see luxury hotel for the money. Disappointed. Cost no more than 300$. Paid 900+.