Ratings based on 471 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle wa

very nice room but the bed was terrible

Posted Sep 14, 2014
nice room but bed was terrible room clean and nice
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in college town

Posted Aug 25, 2014
This Howard Johnson is very close to MSU campus. The service and rooms are fine. Definitely will keep as an option for college weekend visits. With the pool in the common atrium area, it was a little disappointing not to be able to take a early morning swim (It seems like I remember the pool not opening until 10:00 a.m.). The little breakfast bar was ok, but the staff needs to keep better eye on the coffee, it was pretty cool most of the time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Got what I expected

Posted Aug 21, 2014
I rented the cheapest room that was suggested to me and I thought it was good enough. Nothing fancy but wifi worked well and breakfast was included, which is already more than you sometimes get in the lowest range rooms. I would definitely return if I'm really busy and just a need a place to sleep. The only thing that really annoyed me is that the only window in my room gave on the common room where people had breakfast and where everyone would go by to reach their room; you basically have to keep curtains closed all the time and it is a bit depressing if you plan to spend a little bit of time in your room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Close to MSU campus!!!!

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Very nice place to stay very clean and comfortable. It is a great location next to campus. I will be staying there again when I go visit my son at college. The pool was nice and so was breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Not really a Howard Johnson.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: It had a decent size pool.
Cons: Bathroom sizes and cleanliness.
Location: The immediate area had some fast food places but I wouldn't recommend walking to them even though they were easily within walking distance.
This is a converted motel. They took half the motel and enclosed it. The enclosed area contains the pool, fitness area and dining area. Not sure when the area was enclosed but the carpet looks like it hasn't been cleaned in ages. Unfortunately, they didn't upgrade the rooms, they're still motel rooms. You have to negotiate your way around the toilet if you want to close the bethrom door! Stayed here because they gave a good discount and based on the proximity to MSU I thought it would be OK. I won't make that mistake again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bonita Springs, Fl

Disappointing

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Nothing..... It was run down needing a complete renovation. Est. $1,000,000. Front desk staff should be replaced or retrained.
Cons: Current hospitality industry standards need to be implemented. Again, major updating of property
Location: Borders premier institution of Michigan State University.....Spartan Athletics Many attractions in the greater Lansing area
Requested with Expedia 1st floor room.....assigned 2nd floor. Front desk clerk was critical of Expedia for not providing arrangement information......as a continuing problem. $50 Charge for pet.......will be disputed with our credit card company because of room interior assignment on 2nd floor. Front desk clerk was unprofessional......very combative and unyielding blaming Expedia but not providing relief to me as their customer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by vikram from raleigh

Convenient place to stay

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had some work at michigan state university. Very close to that, walk-able distance. The amtrak station is right across the road, highly convenient. Just 15 mins away from the nearest airport. Good indian restaurant next to the hotel (plus point if you like indian food).
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by mary from michigan

Outside and inside looked old and needed repairs.

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Everything was old.....room looked like it hadn't been updated since the 80's. Felt dirty. Not enough towels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very friendly staff, clean room, really close to MSU, about 10 minutes from downtown Lansing