Ratings based on 486 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Mexico

Not the best

Posted Oct 25, 2014
If you have to absolutely need a room it is a good value, unless there is a football game at MSU. An older facility that is close to the entrance of the University
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom east lansing,mi

Second visit, NOT a charm!

Posted Oct 20, 2014
First time we stayed in 2012 the hotel was absolutely fine. No complaints. We got what we paid for. Second time we stayed in 2014 was a totally different story. First floor by the rear entrance. All kinds of commotions with people talking, smoking, going to get ice and going in and out. Had several flies in room. Shower curtain had holes. Ceiling plaster was nasty looking. WiFi was weak. Never felt comfortable. Only good thing was the staff. Cleaning lady was pleasant and cordial. Receptionist was also very nice, as was the maintenance gentleman!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MI

5 Stars for me!

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: The location in relationship to MSU is my main concern.
Cons: The curtains hang too far out from the windows. A security strip should be added to block on outsider's view of the interior.
Location: Perfect for any business in the MSU campus area. It was perfect for my business meeting.
I thought the room, service, and personnel were all top-notch. I reserved on-line and check-in and everything else went very smoothly. The staff knocked themselves out trying to be sure everything was done well.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom michigan

Bugs and rude staff

Posted Oct 17, 2014
The room had bugs. Lots of them. They said, on the phone, they would switch my room but were very rude. When we got to the front desk, they said no to the room switch and told us bugs were normal for an exterior room. They weren't those kind of bugs..... we asked for a refund and they said no because we bought online. We ended up leaving without staying. Horrible hotel! Do not stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hillsdale MI.

Great Place and Close to it all

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The price and the entire experience while there
Cons: Maybe add waffles or something similar? But really it was very good as it was.
Location: You are no more then 20 minutes from the State Capitol and MSU. There are many restaurants in the area and shopping if needed. Great place to stay
Have stayed in more expensive Hotels in Lansing and not had good experiences. My stay was the right price and I got a clean room and indoor pool. The breakfast was ok and we enjoyed all of the staff. I recommend this stop to anyone looking for a nice place at a reasonable price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Close to campus

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: price and proximity
Cons: parking lot...
Location: ON CAMPUS!
The best things are that this hotel is REALLY close to campus and very inexpensive...saying that- the rooms are clean but maybe a bit tired....The breakfast is typical of a 'continental' -a couple cereal choices- some fruit and muffins and toast and bagels- cream cheese...coffee and juice. The pool was fabulous- so was the hot tub..perks you usually don't get in this price range. The exterior parking lot makes the place look like a dump- but the inside is nicely kept and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom seattle wa

very nice room but the bed was terrible

Posted Sep 14, 2014
nice room but bed was terrible room clean and nice
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in college town

Posted Aug 25, 2014
This Howard Johnson is very close to MSU campus. The service and rooms are fine. Definitely will keep as an option for college weekend visits. With the pool in the common atrium area, it was a little disappointing not to be able to take a early morning swim (It seems like I remember the pool not opening until 10:00 a.m.). The little breakfast bar was ok, but the staff needs to keep better eye on the coffee, it was pretty cool most of the time.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Squeakfrom MI

Creepy and dated

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
The first thing I noticed when we walked into the room was a strange smell. The sheets had cigarette burns in them (despite being a smoke-free room). The bathroom fixtures were from the 1970s, and the ground level outdoor entrance to the room made me uncomfortable. I did not feel safe. There were burrs of some kind on the comforter, which made it very itchy. All in all, I think this hotel was pretty creepy and I would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Catherinefrom Ontario

Nice for the Price

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a nice room but the mattresses on the bed we think were purchased in the early 80's. The room was tight for three large adults but the staff was absolutely excellent and could not have been more accommodating. The breakfast was more than ample and there was lots. The rooms were very clean. Would stay again but would choose a room with a refrigerator as it would have been useful.