Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Gaylord, Mi

Nice Hotel, Aesthetically pleasing, but....

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, that definitely made me feel like I was valued as a guest.
Cons: Please remove hairs from toilets, sinks, and tubs. And to 1st time guests, inform them that someone will have the door to their room already opened.
Location: I had a planned function at the HopCat that evening, and a conference to attend the next morning at the Kellog. Didn't do much other than that.
I felt that the staff of the Marriot were very friendly, when I got to the room, the door was already open, which was fine but made me a little uncomfortable to walk right in fearing the room possibly was double booked. I was not informed room would be open upon checking in. I entered the Room, Room was very nice, Bathroom was nice, but toilet had pubic hairs on it, sink had hairs in and there were some hairs stuck in the drain cap. To me, that was disgusting. I'm sure anyone anyone would be a little grossed out by some unknown persons "hairs" still lingering in the room. It made me uncomfortable, but to the point I could wipe them off myself with a large was of toilet paper. Still, I feel, that is not my responsibilty. If I was a complete germ-aphobe, Im sure I would have lost it. Other than that, Beds were comfortable, pillows were good, the burger I ordered was really good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2014 by Eric, Hotel Management
Candace, We thank you for your time in sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent stay. Please accept my personal apology for the issues that negatively affected your stay. Please be assured that we take great pride in maintaining the highest cleanliness standards and that we will take immediate corrective action steps to address the deficiency in our cleaning and inspection procedure that led to the mistake you experienced. I thank you for staying with us and hope that, in spite of this experience, we will have a future opportunity to regain your full confidence in us. Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Very good location. Very comfortable.

Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good place to stay for the location. Very easy walking distance to the MSU campus and the local bars. Across the street from a church. The rooms are pretty standard (no mini fridge or anything, not huge) but the beds are super comfortable and the toiletries are amazing. (Would have pilfered some had we not used them all.) The pool is quite unimpressive. Indoor. Small. 4 feet at the absolute deepest. And the "sauna" got up to maybe 77 degrees after I left it on for 40 minutes. Parking stinks. They charge $9/car. There is free weekend parking across the street on MSU's campus. You can't beat the location, though. There isn't a hotel closer to the Grand River strip along campus. Considering we were bar hopping in November, this was a seller for us. There are a few cheaper and not too far hotels of you are driving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom columbus, ohio

Very close to everything - airport, sorority, dorm

Posted Nov 17, 2014
I flew up from ohio to surprise my daughter for her sorority intiation. It was perfect.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by dawnfrom New York, NY

Nickeled and Dimed you for EVERYTHING!

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
For the most expensive hotel in Downtown East Lansing, they nickeled and Dimed you for everything. No mini fridge. $12.95 to use the internet in your room PER NITE. To print out my boarding passes $8 charge in their "BUSINESS CENTER" to use the computers. Also $9 per night for parking. Then the audacity to ask for tips for the hotel staff. At $169-$189 a night - ITS OVERRRATED - DON'T STAY HERE. Go to the Holiday Inn I stayed at a Holiday Inn Express 2 weeks ago and it was so much better, free parking, unlimited internet access, and the bathroom was larger, had a mini fridge - and had a full buffet breakfast too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by General Manager Eric, Hotel Management
Dear Dawn, We thank you for your feedback and your business. Please accept my apology that we were not able to earn your complete satisfaction during your recent stay. Be assured that we understand your concern for value. However, while other hotels may not charge for some of the services you mentioned, we firmly believe that many discerning guests are willing to pay a little more for our location and the overall higher quality they expect from Marriott. Ultimately, we are committed to providing exceptional guest experiences at every opportunity to provide the best value for our guests. Once again, we are sorry if we fell short of this for your stay. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Weekend trip

Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent hotel to stay while visiting East Lansing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by VSfrom Oakville ON

Nice hotel in University town

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel, in a nice little town. Michigan State University is the focal point and if you are 30 or older, you WILL be the oldest person in most crowds. Everything was calm and controlled and surpisingly, many higher end shops and restaurants around. Room and hotel in general is a little tired, but it is conveniently located and relatively quiet. Would recommend this if you need to stay in the area, but be forewarned, it is not the cheapest place to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Convenient but dated

Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was fine. The staff were very nice and helpful. The hotel is under construction which will definitely pay off in the end. Some of our disappointments were fixable and others, not. The Wifi did not work and the staff were apologetic, but that should be fixed. The room was very small, and that's just not anything anyone can fix. We definitely paid for the location and the convenience of being so close to the University. We weren't upset about anything, but feel there are definite pros and cons to this property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dave H.from Green Bay, WI

Close to MSU

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were very impressed with the Hotel and accomodations especially the cleanliness considering they were under construction improvements. Especially enjoyed the walking distance closeness of the MSU campus. Definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com