Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Akron, OH

The Marroitt in East Lansing

Posted Apr 6, 2015
The Marroitt in East Lansing is a beautiful hotel, very modern and pleasing to the eye. Parking is convenient as are many local restaurants and attractions. The campus is in walking distance. Went to Sunday brunch at the hotel restaurant, it was fine, but since it wasn't crowded, the food left a bit to be desired as it was sitting there a while.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Cons: The charges for parking and internet needed to be talked about at check in and should be posted online.
Location: Walking distance to restaurants, shopping and campus.
This was a great location for visiting my daughter at MSU. Walking distance to downtown and many restaurants. Didn't like the the charges for parking and internet use! I signed up for the rewards program to get the free internet but it still didn't work, so I just paid because it was late and didn't feel like dealing with it anymore. Very comfy beds and decent size room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Christopherfrom Denver

Very impressed

Posted Dec 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was very impressed. Beautiful lobby and bar, very well trained staff. Rooms were a little dated but was told they're being updated this summer. Still very comfortable though. Charged for Internet which is a little much in 2014. Best location in EL if you want to walk back from dinner, MSU etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Gaylord, Mi

Nice Hotel, Aesthetically pleasing, but....

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, that definitely made me feel like I was valued as a guest.
Cons: Please remove hairs from toilets, sinks, and tubs. And to 1st time guests, inform them that someone will have the door to their room already opened.
Location: I had a planned function at the HopCat that evening, and a conference to attend the next morning at the Kellog. Didn't do much other than that.
I felt that the staff of the Marriot were very friendly, when I got to the room, the door was already open, which was fine but made me a little uncomfortable to walk right in fearing the room possibly was double booked. I was not informed room would be open upon checking in. I entered the Room, Room was very nice, Bathroom was nice, but toilet had pubic hairs on it, sink had hairs in and there were some hairs stuck in the drain cap. To me, that was disgusting. I'm sure anyone anyone would be a little grossed out by some unknown persons "hairs" still lingering in the room. It made me uncomfortable, but to the point I could wipe them off myself with a large was of toilet paper. Still, I feel, that is not my responsibilty. If I was a complete germ-aphobe, Im sure I would have lost it. Other than that, Beds were comfortable, pillows were good, the burger I ordered was really good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2014 by Eric, Hotel Management
Candace, We thank you for your time in sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent stay. Please accept my personal apology for the issues that negatively affected your stay. Please be assured that we take great pride in maintaining the highest cleanliness standards and that we will take immediate corrective action steps to address the deficiency in our cleaning and inspection procedure that led to the mistake you experienced. I thank you for staying with us and hope that, in spite of this experience, we will have a future opportunity to regain your full confidence in us. Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brianfrom Lansing

Good experience.

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
My only complaint was that the heater in the room felt a little weak. We had it turned up to 75 and it was barely warm. The room was clean and the staff was very friendly and professional. Great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Very good location. Very comfortable.

Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good place to stay for the location. Very easy walking distance to the MSU campus and the local bars. Across the street from a church. The rooms are pretty standard (no mini fridge or anything, not huge) but the beds are super comfortable and the toiletries are amazing. (Would have pilfered some had we not used them all.) The pool is quite unimpressive. Indoor. Small. 4 feet at the absolute deepest. And the "sauna" got up to maybe 77 degrees after I left it on for 40 minutes. Parking stinks. They charge $9/car. There is free weekend parking across the street on MSU's campus. You can't beat the location, though. There isn't a hotel closer to the Grand River strip along campus. Considering we were bar hopping in November, this was a seller for us. There are a few cheaper and not too far hotels of you are driving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom columbus, ohio

Very close to everything - airport, sorority, dorm

Posted Nov 17, 2014
I flew up from ohio to surprise my daughter for her sorority intiation. It was perfect.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by dawnfrom New York, NY

Nickeled and Dimed you for EVERYTHING!

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
For the most expensive hotel in Downtown East Lansing, they nickeled and Dimed you for everything. No mini fridge. $12.95 to use the internet in your room PER NITE. To print out my boarding passes $8 charge in their "BUSINESS CENTER" to use the computers. Also $9 per night for parking. Then the audacity to ask for tips for the hotel staff. At $169-$189 a night - ITS OVERRRATED - DON'T STAY HERE. Go to the Holiday Inn I stayed at a Holiday Inn Express 2 weeks ago and it was so much better, free parking, unlimited internet access, and the bathroom was larger, had a mini fridge - and had a full buffet breakfast too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by General Manager Eric, Hotel Management
Dear Dawn, We thank you for your feedback and your business. Please accept my apology that we were not able to earn your complete satisfaction during your recent stay. Be assured that we understand your concern for value. However, while other hotels may not charge for some of the services you mentioned, we firmly believe that many discerning guests are willing to pay a little more for our location and the overall higher quality they expect from Marriott. Ultimately, we are committed to providing exceptional guest experiences at every opportunity to provide the best value for our guests. Once again, we are sorry if we fell short of this for your stay. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Weekend trip

Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent hotel to stay while visiting East Lansing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by VSfrom Oakville ON

Nice hotel in University town

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel, in a nice little town. Michigan State University is the focal point and if you are 30 or older, you WILL be the oldest person in most crowds. Everything was calm and controlled and surpisingly, many higher end shops and restaurants around. Room and hotel in general is a little tired, but it is conveniently located and relatively quiet. Would recommend this if you need to stay in the area, but be forewarned, it is not the cheapest place to stay.