Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Gaylord, Mi

Nice Hotel, Aesthetically pleasing, but....

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, that definitely made me feel like I was valued as a guest.
Cons: Please remove hairs from toilets, sinks, and tubs. And to 1st time guests, inform them that someone will have the door to their room already opened.
Location: I had a planned function at the HopCat that evening, and a conference to attend the next morning at the Kellog. Didn't do much other than that.
I felt that the staff of the Marriot were very friendly, when I got to the room, the door was already open, which was fine but made me a little uncomfortable to walk right in fearing the room possibly was double booked. I was not informed room would be open upon checking in. I entered the Room, Room was very nice, Bathroom was nice, but toilet had pubic hairs on it, sink had hairs in and there were some hairs stuck in the drain cap. To me, that was disgusting. I'm sure anyone anyone would be a little grossed out by some unknown persons "hairs" still lingering in the room. It made me uncomfortable, but to the point I could wipe them off myself with a large was of toilet paper. Still, I feel, that is not my responsibilty. If I was a complete germ-aphobe, Im sure I would have lost it. Other than that, Beds were comfortable, pillows were good, the burger I ordered was really good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2014 by Eric, Hotel Management
Candace, We thank you for your time in sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent stay. Please accept my personal apology for the issues that negatively affected your stay. Please be assured that we take great pride in maintaining the highest cleanliness standards and that we will take immediate corrective action steps to address the deficiency in our cleaning and inspection procedure that led to the mistake you experienced. I thank you for staying with us and hope that, in spite of this experience, we will have a future opportunity to regain your full confidence in us. Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom columbus, ohio

Very close to everything - airport, sorority, dorm

Posted Nov 17, 2014
I flew up from ohio to surprise my daughter for her sorority intiation. It was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by VSfrom Oakville ON

Nice hotel in University town

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel, in a nice little town. Michigan State University is the focal point and if you are 30 or older, you WILL be the oldest person in most crowds. Everything was calm and controlled and surpisingly, many higher end shops and restaurants around. Room and hotel in general is a little tired, but it is conveniently located and relatively quiet. Would recommend this if you need to stay in the area, but be forewarned, it is not the cheapest place to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Convenient but dated

Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was fine. The staff were very nice and helpful. The hotel is under construction which will definitely pay off in the end. Some of our disappointments were fixable and others, not. The Wifi did not work and the staff were apologetic, but that should be fixed. The room was very small, and that's just not anything anyone can fix. We definitely paid for the location and the convenience of being so close to the University. We weren't upset about anything, but feel there are definite pros and cons to this property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dave H.from Green Bay, WI

Close to MSU

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were very impressed with the Hotel and accomodations especially the cleanliness considering they were under construction improvements. Especially enjoyed the walking distance closeness of the MSU campus. Definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Kristenfrom Toledo, OH

Right In Downtown East Lansing

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a wonderful stay here while visiting for a wedding. My fiancé and I are both MSU alumni and really enjoyed being near the bars for after the reception! Can't wait to visit again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very ordinary

Posted Jul 20, 2014
A great location, but expected more than the standard issue generic hotel in dark and dated urban mall. The charm of an airport Hilton without the Hilton part. Aggressively pleasing staff. Near El Az.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2014 by Eric, Hotel Management
We thank you for your feedback and offer our apologies that we were not able to earn your complete satisfaction during your recent stay. I assure you that we are working to improve the lighting and ambiance of our lobby as part of our ongoing Greatroom renovation. By the end of summer, we look forward to offering a completely renovated lobby space! We are confident that you will be impressed. Once again, thank you for your business and your feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lisafrom Plover

Great Location in MSU campus

Posted Jul 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We have stayed many times. The location is perfect if you are doing anything on campus. Staff is always friendly and rooms are always clean