Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mt. Pleasant, MI

Wonderful!

Posted Mar 23, 2015
The front desk staff was extremely nice and helpful. The rooms were recently remodeled and very clean. We will be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by Tracie K., Hotel Management
Kristen, Thank you so very much for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your experience as our guest. We are pleased to find our property was a great fit for you! We truly value your patronage and hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Was a nice hotel and conveniently located near the Michigan State Ubniversity
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Clinton Township

Great staff but room was not "awesome".

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Proximity to campus and how helpful the staff was to me.
Cons: Replace the couches and chairs, and definitely fix the toilet seat!
Location: Pizza House is a great restaurant and beings close to Grand River was awesome. Go to Hop Cat!
The hotel staff was very helpful and nice. As for the room, the bed was comfortable and the maid did a good job cleaning. However, the couch and chair was extremely uncomfortable. The couch has some kind of black/brown stain on the cushion, so I avoided it at all costs. The bed was comfortable, but it proved difficult to watch television while laying down because of the angle and height of the television. Every thing in the bathroom was clean except for the toilet seat. On the front of the seat, it looked like a dog or something chewed at it, and it was stained yellow. I think I had on of the rooms that was not recently updated; so hopefully these things won't be a problem for a future guest. As I said before, the staff was excellent and my room was nice and quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2015 by Rich, Hotel Management
Jake, Thank you kindly for taking the time to provide a detailed response regarding your experience as our guest. We truly value guest feedback as we strive to provide services and accommodations that exceed expectations. We are happy to hear the staff service met your expectations and that the properties location appealed to you. I do apologize for the poor condition of your suite and will address those items that I can immediately. We are currently undergoing a full scale renovation of our guest suites, as it seems you were aware. I apologize we were unable to provide your accommodations in one of the newly renovated units. Thank you again for your valuable feedback. We hope to see you again in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Thomas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2014 
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

poor value for money..awful breakfast !

Posted Nov 16, 2014 
For a short stay don't go here if you want a nice breakfast in the morning. Only waffles and bagels basically and bagels were old and dry. Milk and yogurt available were at expiration dates. We paid a lot to stay here and it was really bad value for money. Would not chose again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by Tracie, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience as our guest. We value our guests feedback and truly apologize for the breakfast experience you encountered. We certainly have higher expectations of our service and amenities. We will be adding hot items to our menu this year and hope you may consider giving us another try to exceed your expectations on a future visit. Thank you again for sharing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2014 
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jefffrom Beaverton

Good location

Posted Sep 4, 2014 
for going to a MSU football game.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pittsburgh, PA

Two-Bedroom Suite close to Michigan State

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Comfortable bed. Close to Michigan State
Cons: The rooms need to be updated. The smell is displeasing.
We picked this hotel because it has 2-bedroom suites which is great for traveling with two teenagers. It's also close to Michigan State without being in the middle of the college town. I was surprised at how cheap and worn the furniture and appliances were considering it is a Marriott property. It also had an odd smell that reminded me of a college apartment when they treated for insects. The bed was great and the room was fine for a one-night stay, but I wouldn't have wanted to stay longer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2015 by Rich, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with the TownePlace Suites of East Lansing. We appreciate your feedback. We will begin our full property update in October 2014. We hope you have the opportunity to enjoy our updates in 2015! Yours in hospitality,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jess Cfrom Southeastern MI

Great hotel!

Posted May 17, 2014 
I picked this hotel since it is close to the Michigan Horse Expo. Even with the construction next door, it was peaceful. The hotel rooms are clean and the staff are good at what they do. When I first checked in, there was some sort of event going on that involved a group of girls and their mothers, the lady at the counter made sure that I would have a quite room and put me in a separate part of the hotel. I had a nice stay, even with the train whistle at 3am. The breakfast is great, cereal, waffles, boiled eggs and lots of fresh fruit. And I can't forget the coffee. :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by james addisonfrom marquette, mich

noise

Posted May 2, 2014 
I stayed here 4.29 and it was incredibly noisy with construction on both sides of the building. The heavy equipment started at 6 am making sleep impossible.