Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Next to the beach & promenade.

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Prefer if the room price included fridge, safe. Paying separately for these items makes you feel it is not a 4 star hotel, but a cheap airline,
Location: Great for renting bikes, walking on the amazing beach, easy to get into Arecife and airport is only 10 minutes away by taxi.
Nice swimming pool area. Spa and treatments also nice. Caters for big groups. Huge hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Ballina

a total switch off from our day to day living!

Posted May 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay immensely and have said so when we filled in the form at the hotel before leaving. the friendly and helpful staff made it possible for us to relax and enjoy the atmosphere of the hotel as well as the beautiful surroundings. thank you so muach it was a wonderful experience and we look forward to our next visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Definitely not a 4 star, leave alone 3 star

Posted Mar 4, 2013
Pros: Proximity to the airport
Cons: Attitude of night staff Hotel upkeep
Location: Small village close to the airport. 15min car ride to the main street of Playa Carmen (Avenida de los Playas) which has all the restaurants/bars/shops
We booked this hotel through Expedia expecting a 4 star hotel - good, clean and friendly - and chose this in particular because of its proximity to the airport. The hotel from the outside looked okay, the reception area had an interesting Asian vibe to it. Our check in was relatively smooth and the receptionist was happy to help us in any way, including giving us driving directions and info about flights. Once we left the reception area, things took a turn for the worse. The hotel is clearly very outdated. As soon as we opened our room, we faced a musty stench that never went away. My husband and I had requested a double bed, but to our surprise, our room had two singles pushed together. There was only 1 socket outlet in the entire room, so we couldn't even charge both of our mobile phones simultaneously. The sheets and bedding were extremely old and contributed to the smell. The tv was a Nokia box TV (who knew Nokia even made tvs!) and the timing on there was completely off. Amenities that you would expect from a 4 star hotel (shower gel, toiletries, etc) were extremely limited. All of this we could deal with, but what made us really decide to leave a review was the attitude and rude treatment we received from the night staff. I rang up with a polite request of flight updates (the receptionist who checked us in said they'd be happy to provide it to us), but was instead shouted at and repeatedly told I'd need to come down and use the phone booth.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by Franky from UK

Not a 4 star hotel - the 'canteen' is awful.

Posted Mar 18, 2012
Pros: Comfortable divan bed.
Cons: Restaurant
Location: Good, right on sea front with pleasant traffic-free promenade into centre of Puerto del Carmen. Near airport but plane noise not a problem.
Hotel in good location right on seafront at the far north (quiet) end of Puerto del Carmen.Unbelieveably rated 4 star but not. The reception area is pleasant but once you exit the lift to your room the pleasantness stops. The odd design of the hotel has bedrooms built around ugly peach painted concrete landings - bit like a prison but with open air centre. The restaurant and main bars and lounge areas are in the (dark and dingy) basement, with no natural light. The bedroom was large with a small lounge area with sofabed and old TV two steps down from the bedroom area. Bed was comfy but the room was very dated (more peach overload, with dated green floral curtains). To have a key to access the minibar/fridge was 3 euros per day! Poolside was tired with worn sunloungers needing a good clean/hose down. What really lets this hotel down is the restaurant,in the bowels of the hotel.The food is fine but the room is awful, like a 1960's works canteen complete with Hilda Ogden/ Corrie 'murals' of beach scences on the walls. If the restaurant had been positioned above ground level then the beach scences would be real! The seating is cheap and nasty black plastic patio chairs. The food stations are very dated and one even had a wheely bin on show. Couldn't wait to get out of there - very oppressive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Alex from St Albans

OK hotel

Posted Mar 8, 2012
Pros: pool area
Cons: breakfast
The hotel is very close to the airport but 2 miles away from the main resort of bars and restaurants. It is set on a lovely promenade and has a small compex of bars and restaurants close by which also has a Spar supermarket. The public and pool areas of the hotel are nice, but the rooms are very tired and certaintly not of a 4 star standard. Breakfast was limited in choice and the hot food was always cold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Lovely relaxing getaway!

Posted Nov 15, 2011 on Hotels.com
Stayed here during the halloween break with my 13yr old daughter and a friend for a girlie week in the sun. It was perfect for a quiet break yet still had everything you need either in the hotel or within 5mins walk. Its a large hotel so you'll spend your first day or two getting your barings. Its only a 10 minute taxi ride from the airport so no need to arrange transport before you go or for going home. You can hear and see planes landing but you only notice it the first day and they don't fly late or too early. The Matagorda area is very safe, clean and quiet but still has enough activity to keep you entertained. Its a good 50mins walk into Peurto Del Carmen from the hotel, went there one day but don't know why we bothered. The hotel itself serves fab food, I'm normally fussy but they had so much choice and changed the menu every night you couldn't be anything but satisfied. We were half-board, incase we wanted to try other places during the day, but ended up quite happily eating there except one day when we were in arecife. (If you fancy a change any day I would recommend Sirrocco's in the Matagorda centre 5mins away. They do lovely crepes and deserts, coffee is nice too and overlooking the beach). Hotel staff was very friendly, one or two had bad english so be patient and try a little spanish, they loved that. The location is idyllic and picturesque, most rooms seem to have lovely views. Loved taking a stroll in the evening cause its so safe. three different types of bars to choose from depending on your mood, accomodating either couples, families or groups. Evening entertainment was very impressive and had a different theme every night. If you preferred to relax on a comfy chair in a piano bar with a glass of bubbly you can do that too. Hotel has its own little shopping centre and there is a Spa supermarket just 5mins walk away. Pools very clean with one slighty heated and lots of sunbeds available at any time. Pool-side bar does a yummy toasted chicken sandwich with coleslaw and salad. The Spa is fab and perfect for finishing off the day when the sun starts to go down, you could float around it for hours. Rooms are very spacious and clean but a little dated. Didn't spend hardly any time in it anyway so they're grand. Beds very comfy and we all slept great. Sofa-bed was wide and more a bed than a sofa but not for a large person. Great if You're short or a child. This Hotel is unbelievable value and if I'm ever in Lanzarote again I will definitely be staying there if only to see the lovely manager Eric again, he's a legend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from ireland

Posted May 1, 2011 on Hotels.com
i stayed at hotel from 14 to 21 apr 2011, weather beautiful, any light sleeper will be awoken at sunrise to the sound of the dawn chorus from thousands or birds that over night at the airport side of the hotel, so if i was to stay there again it would be at the west side,also i was not impressed with the bars catering for mostly germans as far as beers are concerned,and also the tv stations a lot are in german and spanish none in english other than sky news. irish couple
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Great value for price

Posted Mar 31, 2011
Well designed hotel complex, excellent service-oriented staff. The fact that it was booked at nearly 99% during our stay probably speaks for itself.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Luton

excellent hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2008
good location, great beaches near by, excellent facilities and friendly staff