Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Stuttgart

Alles in allem ist das Hotel OK

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Lage
Cons: Service an Rezeption
Die Lage am Flughafen ist nicht wirklich störend. Ärgerlich war, dass man bei der Ankunft durch die Rezeption nicht auf die Besonderheiten (Poolhandtücher, freiesW-LAN nur in bestimmtem Raum, Zahlen mit Kreditkarte) hingewiesen wird. Viele Spielgeräte und Billiardtische haben nicht oder nicht einwandfrei funktioniert. Pool war öfter durch Dinge verschmutzt, der der Wind reingeweht hat.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Coventry

Looked good BUT VERY disappointing

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: Nice building, gardens and pools, nice rooms.
Cons: More facilities open during day and evening. Food definitely needs to be protected (probably by curved covering over top which you reach under.)
Location: Close to beach and small shopping / restaurant centre with lots more within walking distance. Aircraft noise which did NOT bother us al all.
Lack of hygiene in all restaurants, food completely open so that people coughed and sneezed over all the food. Most food only luke warm so encourages bugs, and plates occasionally warm but NEVER hot and in Oriental restaurant just stacked on a shelf so not even pretending to be warm, but went with the luke warm food. (& we went in within about 2 minutes of it opening). Beach bar - outside by pool - only place open to get a drink ( tea, coffee, soft, alcohol etc) during day whatever the weather, and one entertainment room only place open at night, so no choice at all. NO HEATING at all anywhere in the hotel, this confirmed by reception staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Next to the beach & promenade.

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Prefer if the room price included fridge, safe. Paying separately for these items makes you feel it is not a 4 star hotel, but a cheap airline,
Location: Great for renting bikes, walking on the amazing beach, easy to get into Arecife and airport is only 10 minutes away by taxi.
Nice swimming pool area. Spa and treatments also nice. Caters for big groups. Huge hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Ballina

a total switch off from our day to day living!

Posted May 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay immensely and have said so when we filled in the form at the hotel before leaving. the friendly and helpful staff made it possible for us to relax and enjoy the atmosphere of the hotel as well as the beautiful surroundings. thank you so muach it was a wonderful experience and we look forward to our next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by duquesnoyfrom pas de calais

Posted Apr 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
tout inclus correct,. Repas de midi cependant très légers. Un gros problème les piscines sont non chauffées et à 21 °: Pour acceder à la piscine chauffée il faut aller au spa dont l'entrée est payante:
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Definitely not a 4 star, leave alone 3 star

Posted Mar 4, 2013
Pros: Proximity to the airport
Cons: Attitude of night staff Hotel upkeep
Location: Small village close to the airport. 15min car ride to the main street of Playa Carmen (Avenida de los Playas) which has all the restaurants/bars/shops
We booked this hotel through Expedia expecting a 4 star hotel - good, clean and friendly - and chose this in particular because of its proximity to the airport. The hotel from the outside looked okay, the reception area had an interesting Asian vibe to it. Our check in was relatively smooth and the receptionist was happy to help us in any way, including giving us driving directions and info about flights. Once we left the reception area, things took a turn for the worse. The hotel is clearly very outdated. As soon as we opened our room, we faced a musty stench that never went away. My husband and I had requested a double bed, but to our surprise, our room had two singles pushed together. There was only 1 socket outlet in the entire room, so we couldn't even charge both of our mobile phones simultaneously. The sheets and bedding were extremely old and contributed to the smell. The tv was a Nokia box TV (who knew Nokia even made tvs!) and the timing on there was completely off. Amenities that you would expect from a 4 star hotel (shower gel, toiletries, etc) were extremely limited. All of this we could deal with, but what made us really decide to leave a review was the attitude and rude treatment we received from the night staff. I rang up with a polite request of flight updates (the receptionist who checked us in said they'd be happy to provide it to us), but was instead shouted at and repeatedly told I'd need to come down and use the phone booth.
2 out of 5
by Davidfrom Paris, France

Dépassé !

Posted May 21, 2012
Pros: Restaurant buffet bien achalandé
Cons: Hôtel pas refait depuis au moins 35 à 40 ans
Location: Proche de l'aéroport en voiture
Décoration et mobilier des années 70 et sûrement pas refait depuis. Restaurants corrects et à bons prix. L'ensemble ne vaut pas le nombre d'étoiles attribuées à cet hôtel. Ambiance un peu triste (au mois de mai).
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by Frankyfrom UK

Not a 4 star hotel - the 'canteen' is awful.

Posted Mar 18, 2012
Pros: Comfortable divan bed.
Cons: Restaurant
Location: Good, right on sea front with pleasant traffic-free promenade into centre of Puerto del Carmen. Near airport but plane noise not a problem.
Hotel in good location right on seafront at the far north (quiet) end of Puerto del Carmen.Unbelieveably rated 4 star but not. The reception area is pleasant but once you exit the lift to your room the pleasantness stops. The odd design of the hotel has bedrooms built around ugly peach painted concrete landings - bit like a prison but with open air centre. The restaurant and main bars and lounge areas are in the (dark and dingy) basement, with no natural light. The bedroom was large with a small lounge area with sofabed and old TV two steps down from the bedroom area. Bed was comfy but the room was very dated (more peach overload, with dated green floral curtains). To have a key to access the minibar/fridge was 3 euros per day! Poolside was tired with worn sunloungers needing a good clean/hose down. What really lets this hotel down is the restaurant,in the bowels of the hotel.The food is fine but the room is awful, like a 1960's works canteen complete with Hilda Ogden/ Corrie 'murals' of beach scences on the walls. If the restaurant had been positioned above ground level then the beach scences would be real! The seating is cheap and nasty black plastic patio chairs. The food stations are very dated and one even had a wheely bin on show. Couldn't wait to get out of there - very oppressive.