Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

Hotel next to best part of Nicosia

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: The location was great and the food at the hotels Marco Polo room was fantastic.
Cons: The whole hotel needs a serious update.
Location: The hotel is situated in a great part of town. The cities best restaurants and cafe's are within walking distance.
I had problems with the room heater, on two occasions I asked that it be fixed and they did, but then it broke again. They never changed the sheets, I know because I accidentally put a shoe mark on them and saw it every night before bed. If the shower door was not positioned right water would leak on the bathroom floor. There are 10 TV channels. There was no ironing set in the room, there was an ironing room on the 2nd floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by P V, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for your recent stay with us and for your detailed feedback about your experience. As you mentioned, you remember our location as very convenient and enjoyed the food at our Marco Polo restaurant. However, I would like to offer you my sincere apologies for any inconvenience you experienced due to lack of service of the housekeeping and maintenance department. Bed linen have to be changed every second day. Your concerns have been forwarded to the responsible departments to look into those issues. We will take all necessary steps to make sure similar incidents will not be repeated in the future. Once again, thank you for taking the time to inform us about our areas of improvement and hope you will choose Holiday Inn Nicosia for your future travel needs. Sincerely, Petra Varnavides Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom München

Gutes Hotel in Altstadtnähe

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Hotel ist o.k., Zimmer wurden kürzlich renoviert, Lage gut
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by martinfrom oxford

World's Worst Holiday Inn?

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
From one of the 2 lifts being permanently switched off and the other out-of-order for at least 24 hours, to the 2-floor hike to the ironing room (irons not allowed in-room!) and most of the restaurants being permanently closed, the hotel has few (if any) redeeming features. Warning!… this is NOT anything you'd expect from Holiday Inn - why it's still on their roster, I have no idea - it must break every rule in the franchise book.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Petra, Hotel Management
Dear Martin, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to communicate your concerns. We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for providing your feedback. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties. Sincerely, Petra Varnavides Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Oct 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very near Ledra Street and a 5 min walk to Macareo. In front of public transportation access. 10 min by taxi to Kapnos airport shuttle (give about an hour to go to airport from the shuttle station). Could get dark in the area in the evening so don't walk alone very late at night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Petra, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to share and post your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am really delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the location and appreciate your rating. We would welcome the opportunity to be your host in the future, should your travel bring you back to Nicosia. Sincerely, Petra Varnavides Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel der kurzen Wege für Business und Urlaub

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Zimmer mit Klimaanlage. On the Top Lokal mit Dachterrasse mit Blick über die Altstadt, auch der türkische Stadtteil ist einsehbar von der Bar.
Location: Hotel im Altstadtbereich unmittelbar nach der Überfahrt des Festungsgrabens. Fußgängerbereich in 2-5 Minuten. Gr. Busbahnhof und Parkplatz vor Hotel.
Fast alle Leihwagen haben kein Navi und keine Karten im Auto !! Am Flughafen kann man bei der Information im Erdges. kostenfrei Straßenkarten erhalten, mit dem das Hotel direkt gefunden werden kann, da auch alle Fahrtrichtungen der vielen Einbahnstr. eingezeichnet sind. In der Stadtkarte von Nicosia ist es die Nr. 69. Vor dem Hotel befindet sich ein sehr großer Parkplatz. 8-24 Stunden zu 5 €. Die Einkaufstr. der Altstadt sind in 2-5 Min. zu Fuß erreichbar. Essen in den Seitenstr. der Fußgängerzone gut und preiswert.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2014 by Petra, Hotel Management
Sehr geehrter Gast! Vielen Dank fuer Ihren Aufenthalt im Holiday Inn Nicosia und dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, uns Ihr detailliertes Feedback zu geben. Ich freue mich zu hoeren, dass Ihnen unsere Zimmer und die Hotellage gefallen haben. Nochmals moechte ich mich fuer Ihren Kommentar bedanken und wuerde mich freuen, Sie wieder bei uns begruessen zu duerfen, sollten Ihre Reiseplaene Sie wieder nach Nikosia fuehren. Mit freundlichen Gruessen, Petra Varnavides Front Office Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Arlington,Virginia,USA

Close to the center. Quality of service is bad.

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Ordered breakfast to the room to be delivered at 8 am but came around 11am with many items missing. Upon checking out, hotel cashier asked me to pay full charge despite that Reservation was made by Expedia.When I showed them a copy of Expedia confirmation,I was not charged.I consider this to be some kind of cheating and should never happen in a known hotel as Holiday Inn.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2014 by Petra, Hotel Management
Dear Akil, Thank you for your recent stay with us and taking the time to leave us a feedback. I appreciate that you liked our location and apologize for the level of service you received which did not meet your expectations. Further, I would like to assure you that we had no intention of cheating during your check out and we never charge our guests twice. Once again, thank you for taking the time to inform us about our areas of improvement. Sincerely, Petra Varnavides Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

悪くはないですが今ひとつです。何かが残念。

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
表現が難しいですが、Holiday Innのなので、もう少し期待したのがよくなかったです。普通のビジネスホテルなら問題無いですが、Holiday Innの看板をあげているのなら、その規格に合っていないホテルです。Taxiの運転手さんが言ってましたがNicosiaに泊まるなら値段があまり変わらないヒルトンが良いとのことでした。納得しました。でも、ホテルとして悪いわけではありませんよ。
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2014 by Petra, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. Sincerely, Petra Varnavides Front Office Manager
2 out of 5
Recommended
by wandering starfrom cyprus

What a pity

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
I prepai this hotel but on check out they had no record of the payment and demanded a further payment which of course I refused showing them my confirmation receipt which they still did not want to accept as proof of payment it was highly embarrassing. We stayed in a standard double room number 519. The room was a good size but the decoration very tired. My wife was fortunate to have a bed side cabinet with a drawer. Alas I was not so lucky where the drawer had once been a botched repair with a piece of wood nailed to the unit had to suffice. The room contained no hotel directory apparently they only put those in the executive rooms??? and the two chairs in the room were covered in rather alarming stains! the satelight TV had no real selection of channels and even if it had the quality of the picture was so bad it was like looking through a snowstorm. Could I go on? I cannot be bothered but let me end by saying the free car parking included in their rate didn't seem to extend to this guest reception had no idea about it! When will hotels realise no one these days wants to pay 10 Euros to have 24hrs internet. Very dissapointing
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2014 by Petra, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for providing your feedback. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Your business is valued. Petra Varnavides Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Yevgenfrom Kyiv-Khmelnitsky, Ukraine

Average hotel, more like 3*

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Very convenient location - within walking distance from the main shopping streets and close to several major headquarters of local legal businesses. Hotel lobby smells like chlorated pool. Hotel gym is open to external visitors and adds to lobby traffic. Rooms are basic, but clean. Old greyish towels - they are clean, but old. The bed turned out to be very comfortable for me. Breakfast is average, but no bad aftertaste.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Baldfinnfrom Cyprus

Good with reservations

Posted Feb 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Few reservations about this hotel: It is located next to main bus station, which is convienient, but at the same time noisy if room is on that side of the building. Hotel is next to "old town" which also creates extra noise and traffic in the area, which is either a blessing or a curse, depending what your are looking for, party or quietness? Hotel also is starting to show it's age. Some parts are remodeled, some are not. Some rooms have only one electrical plug-in, so if you our family has multiple devices to charge, this is a problem. Hotel also gives a code for online access, but this can not be shared between multiple devices. Air conditioning works only during the summer months, although +20'c (70'F) may feel warm for some, but can not be turned on. Staff is good and helpfull.