Ratings based on 523 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Rooms were not that great for the price we paid. There was what looked like a water leak on multiple floors so we had to hear the dryers all night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO

Decent hotel but not a luxurious getaway

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Charming lobby and proximity to the events that brought us to town.
Cons: Southwestern charm of the lobby doesn't extend to the rooms. A luxury getaway this is not and this hotel does not compare to other Heritage Hotels.
Location: Located near the mall and university. Venture a bit farther and experience the charm of Old Mesilla.
Encanto is a nice enough hotel. The common spaces have a classic lovely southwestern charm. They have made efforts to extend this charm to the guest-rooms by adding cozy southwestern decor. The guest room carpeting is also newer, but the wall coverings and bathroom feel quite dated. The onsite lounge, Azul, is certainly a local hot spot which is good if you're looking for a night out on the town, not so good when you just want to get to your room and are overwhelmed by the party crowd that has spilled out into the lobby. The hotel was quite busy the weekend we were there and unfortunately that meant no warm water for two out of three showers. We booked a non-smoking room but allergies flared up and I later discovered cigarette butts and partially smoked cigar sitting on the exterior windowsill. All in all the hotel was good for what we needed most, a comfy bed and for the most part quiet room (request a room well away from the elevators if you really need peace and quiet).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tennessee

Nice room.

Posted Nov 26, 2014
We had a very nice room with a great view of the city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Hobbs

Not a 4 Star Rating

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Cons: Change beds to Queen size. No smoking within so many feet of the building. Provide complimentary beverages such as coffee and water in the lobby.
Location: Location is close to a busy highway. Easy access to the mall and other shops.
If you want two beds, you will have to settle for two full size beds. One of the beds is right up against the wall and very uncomfortable. The bed comfort was ok. Guests were allowed to smoke right outside the front doors and the lobby area smelled like smoke. There is a bar for entertainment and a Garduno's for food if you don't mind the smoke smell. There is no complimentary beverages for the guests. The 2nd night there, we asked for a room away from the busy highway because of the road noise.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Albuquerque, NM

Noisy hotel

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: the Gardunos restaurant
Cons: Replacing the carpet; Fixing the thermostats (work all year round). Being considerate of the rooms next to the front entrance area- no music at 6am
Location: close to many things: the Mall, open space, movie theater, I-40
I left it up to the room preferences i created on the Expedia website. I preferred a quiet, high floor room with an extra blanket and 2 beds. I was given a room with one bed-first floor- no extra blanket and with a window next to the front entrance area- which consisted of the bar exit door. We were kept up by people exiting the bar until 2:30am. And in the morning, the hotel played Mexican elevator music at 6am. There was no working thermostat in the room. It was a beautiful hotel when it was a Hilton. The carpet is smelly and worn. Whoever owns this hotel needs to seriously consider its future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Dakota

Nice

Posted Oct 19, 2014
The location is noisy until about 1AM. Guys with loud cars and motorcycles roar from the traffic light. If you get a room on the east side of the building you might have a beautiful view of the Organ Mountains lit up by the setting sun. Las Cruces is Spanish for "the crosses," so the hotel uses a lot of crosses in the decor. That might be annoying if you're not a Christian.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, needs updating

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Location; next to the mall, stores, university and highway. Maybe silly, but the elevator is ridiculously fast.
Cons: The rooms need to be upgraded with newer technology and the furniture should be better quality.
Location: The mall is across the street, lots of restaurants down the main avenues, and Aggies game.
We typically stay at Hotel Encanto and previous times it was nice, however this time around the hotel felt dated and old. They haven't updated their televisions, light fixtures and furniture was somewhat beat up or looked cheap, heating and cooling were two different control panels compared to other hotels with modern heating/cooling system, some light bulbs weren't working, the fan in the bathroom didn't work. Maybe it was a one-off experience and we probably should have pointed out these things to the staff, but the charm I've felt in the past is gone. I understand the hotel is going for an antique look, but somethings should be updated and have good quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by SJE

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Beverlyfrom Santa Fe

Unpleasant

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The rooms were advertised as two queens when in fact they were full beds. We were not able to check into our room until 6pm because our room was not ready. Great pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Close to mall shopping

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
There was a party going on outside in the pool/courtyard area that kept us up till 2:30am. The staff was slow shooing the lingering patrons off the property, and stragglers remained, getting louder as spirits were poured. Parties are fine, and necessary to the hotel economy, but an earlier and more efficient cut off time would have been appreciated by those of us not invited, who needed rest! There is also little choice of eateries nearby, if you don't want hotel barfare after hours. Rooms comfortable, staff availability and accessibility, average.