Ratings based on 1,233 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reserved non-smoking - given smoking room.

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Cons: Assign smoking room as reserved.
Reserved a non-smoking room. Allergic to smoke. Was given a smoking room and told non-smoking room was not available. Hotel clerk said we did not reserve a non-smoking room. It was on our confirmation as non-smoking requested. Made sleeping very uncomfortable with smell of smoke in room and smok coming down hall from other rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Top choice of Kahuku HS Class of 1958. Arrangements were coordinated by a class member who is a frequent guest.
Cons: Maybe a chalk board in the lobby where visiting groups may choose to sign in. (e.g., Kahuku HS Class of 1958 reunion, April 14-17, 2015.)
Location: Close to Fremont experience. Not convenient to top shows on the Strip. Hotel shuttle that makes scheduled trips to and from the Strip would be nice!
Parking and accommodations were convenient. Getting together with classmates was easily facilitated. On the 3rd night, I had a bad case of food poisoning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

close to fremont street

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Hotel was clean and rooms were nice. Halls were quiet, didn't notice when people were coming and going. It was a short walk to Fremont Street. I would recommend to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bellingham

Descent place to stay

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Good price.
Cons: Earlier check in time when available.
Location: Fremont street was a block away.
Clean, close to the main street. Easy check in but room wasn't ready until 4pm. Snack bar inside casino.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Just for sleep, no gambling. Clean rooms and easy access
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Denver

close to Downtown

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: hotel was close to downtown activities
Cons: beds could be softer, drains could drain, air conditioner could produce cold air; inernet could be provided; could provide free business center
hotel was close to downtown activities; quite disappointed in the smokey atmosphere, room conditioner didn't cool
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: rooms were clean and quiet
Cons: Would havebeen nice to have pool open. This was not known before booking the room.
Location: Fremont Street Experience just around the corner.
Fremont Experience just around the corner, Great food near by. Better then I expected. Would have been nicer if the pool would have been open..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom alhambra ca

nice close to everywhere I want to go like bus

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: quiet, clean
Cons: parking lot need cleaniness
Location: good near by bus station
comfortable good food but wait in line awhile parking lot need to clean up
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Durchschnittliches Hotel

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Der Preis.
Cons: ein besseres Klima-/ Belüftungssystem
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich in der Downtown. Es ist mehrere KM vom Strip entfernt, jedoch gibt es in ca. 5 Gehminuten eine eigene Partymeile.
Wir waren für zwei Nächte im California Hotel. Das Hotel und die Zimmerausstattung ist etwas in die Jahre gekommen aber ordentlich. Es riecht im gesamten Hotel etwas nach Zigarettenrauch (auch im Nichtraucherzimmer). Das Hotel hat ein ordentliches Preis- Leistungsverhältnis, ist aber nichts Besonderes. Vom Flughafen mit dem Taxi dauert der Transfer ca. 20 Minuten, der Transfer kostet ca. 30,00 USD.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smoky and loud

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Great food options and super cheap drink specials. Low limit table games and slots. Refrigerator in room.
Cons: Less smoke and more privacy in room (thicker walls and quieter doors).
There are some really nice things about the California. The location is right next to Fremont Street and connected to Main Street Station by an overhead walkway. Great food options and super cheap drink specials. Low limit table games and slots. Refrigerator in room. Also some bad things and those usually stick out more in your mind. For me they were... Very smoky. I asked for a non-smoking room but did not get one. Paper thin walls. Other reviewers had mentioned the noisy train tracks and freeway nearby so I asked for and received a room in the East tower facing south. That was great but by neighbors were not. Let's just say I felt involved in their sessions, which were loud and abundant.