Ratings based on 1,194 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smoky and loud

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Great food options and super cheap drink specials. Low limit table games and slots. Refrigerator in room.
Cons: Less smoke and more privacy in room (thicker walls and quieter doors).
There are some really nice things about the California. The location is right next to Fremont Street and connected to Main Street Station by an overhead walkway. Great food options and super cheap drink specials. Low limit table games and slots. Refrigerator in room. Also some bad things and those usually stick out more in your mind. For me they were... Very smoky. I asked for a non-smoking room but did not get one. Paper thin walls. Other reviewers had mentioned the noisy train tracks and freeway nearby so I asked for and received a room in the East tower facing south. That was great but by neighbors were not. Let's just say I felt involved in their sessions, which were loud and abundant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Good value! Great bartenders! A short walk to Fremont Street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Utah

Hotel in Downtown Las Vegas

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff and comfortable room.
Cons: Offer a breakfast buffet not a combination breakfast and lunch. It was only 9:00 a.m. and I just wanted breakfast. I also didn't want to pay $15.
Location: Location was right at the north end of downtown. It was easy to walk anywhere downtown, but you would need to drive to the strip.
I checked-in around 10:00 p.m. and was greeted by a very friendly and helpful desk clerk. The check-in was fast and easy. The room was comfortable and spacious. It was clean and everything worked well. The bed was very comfortable. The buffet (across the-street in another building called Main Street Station) was a combination of breakfast and lunch food. All I really wanted was breakfast, which I had and it was quite tasty. The line was fairly long and it took quite a while to pay for my meal. The hotel was nice, but was older and had not been remodeled. So, while it was OK, it wasn't one of the nicer places to stay. Additionally, there was a fairly strong smell of cigarette smoke throughout the facility.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good location for fair price

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Casino smelled musty.
Location: Close to all the fun on Fremont Street.
Hotel is conveniently located near Fremont Street. Casino smells musty. Beds were comfortable, but room was dusty. All in all, a good experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Location: Situated a full block from the Freemont Street Experience which made for relative quiet outside the room's window, a big plus in my book.
Friendly and accommodating staff. The hotel itself however needs upgrading. The wallpaper was peeling in both the room and bathroom. The bathtub was not fit to soak in and the faucet had a steady drip. On the flip side, the king bed was extremely comfortable and provided a great night's sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: The local style food, and the friendly service.
Cons: I would love if they served micro brews from 777 in the Cal casino floor like they used to. They should also open up a ramen shop or micro brewery.
Location: Local eateries around town, Red Rock mountains.
I was born and raised in Hawaii, moved away in 1991, and lived in Las Vegas for 10 years. I am now a San Diego resident. I ALWAYS stay at the California Hotel or Main Street Station due to my Hawaii connections. The local food, the friendly service and the comfortable, at home atmosphere of the Cal will always bring me back to stay whenever I visit. I miss my family in Hawaii and it is a great place to remind me of home and to meet my family when they visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grrrrr8t

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Very pleased, all went as planned and as advertised. from booking to check-out all persons representing this Casino and Hotel were very friendly, professional and courteous! Facilities for dining, gaming, and relaxing are excellent! Choices for dining include great mix of western, Asian, Island and Italian, all of which we found to be of high quality and value. Room was a King and well attended to and clean. The Cal is highly recommended and joins our Favorites List. Thanks Cal
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

No thrill and economical.

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: only a 5 minute walk to Fremont Experience.
Cons: Add traffic control (or pedestrian bridge) between hotel and off-site parking.
The room has all the basics, nothing less, nothing more. Cleanliness is above average, beds are comfortable and noise level is remarkably low despite only 1 block from the railroad tracks. Passing trains are infrequent and barely noticeable when the windows are closed. Parking is a bit inconvenient, hotel parking structure filled up quickly, and off-site self-park is across the street via a pedestrian crosswalk that is poorly lit and has no traffic lights. It's a little scary to access the lot on foot; you have to wait for the cars to yield. (It is especially worrisome at night because it is so close to many bars or other establishments that sell alcohol.) .The staff is very friendly and the place has a casual family-oriented vibe. If you are not high-maintenance and needs to be pampered, this is a great place to save some money for short stays.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom az

Nice quiet place

Posted Feb 16, 2015
In such a busy town it's nice to find the quiet get ways. This hotel is perfect for that. Very nice people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fremontから少し離れていて静かホテルです。

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: 冷蔵庫完備、Main Stへの連絡
Cons: 特になし
全室に冷蔵庫完備されていてとても便利です。 Main Stへの連絡も良いのでウエストタワーがお勧めです。 カジノもミニマムが安くとても遊び安いです。