Ratings based on 808 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas

Beautiful

Posted Feb 24, 2015
I was pleasantly surprised by the beauty and comfort of this hotel, the staff was nice and helpful, excellent location too.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: Staff, shuttle
Cons: Room are plain and have poor sound deadening.
Too far from the strip. The wi-fi was excellent . The room was rather plain. There are better hotels closer to the strip of equal value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your visit and feedback. We are 2½ miles west of the Strip and have a free shuttle that makes alternating hourly stops at two hotel-casinos.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom KY

Great shuttle

Posted Jan 2, 2015
The shuttle to the strip is great. They need to add an airport shuttle service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your visit, Dan. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our free Strip shuttle. It's a great way to get to and from Las Vegas' signature attraction. We have discussed adding an airport shuttle over the years, but the cost is prohibitive. The way it presently stands it is cheaper for our guests to simply take a cab. Thank you once again for staying with us. We hope you will consider us on your next visit to Las Vegas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Nice hotel off the strip

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: The staff was great. Rooms were quiet. It's off the strip but only about 5 minutes. Lots of local stores and restaurants.
Cons: The rooms should be inspected and repairs be done BEFORE the guest arrives!
Location: 5 minutes off the strip, near the Orleans Hotel & Casino. Black Bear Diner up the street, along with multiple food stores, pharmacies and restaurants.
Got to the room and the bathroom light was broken. Called front desk and they sent a repairperson to fix the light. Also noticed there was no handle on the sliding glass doors to balcony. That was also replaced with quick action by hotel staff. Blow dryer kept overheating, so it took a long time to dry my hair. Bed was soft and uncomfortable, as was the sofabed my friend slept on. Other than that, the hotel is beautifully landscaped, rooms are modern and clean. Pool area is great. Nice place. Would stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your visit and feedback, Virginia. Although we are pleased to learn of our quick response to your service requests, we are disappointed you were inconvenienced in the first place. Your comments reinforce the need to make sure everything is functioning properly before we release a room for occupancy. We are happy these issues did not negatively affect the rest of your stay or influence your opinion of our resort, and we are delighted you would stay with us again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

North of the strip

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: The kitchenette fact.
Cons: Could be updated. In every sense.
Location: not much.
This resort is OK if you drive. They offer a scheduled bus as well . not impressed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your visit, P. We appreciate your feedback.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What makes this a resort?

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Room was clean.
Cons: Define "resort?"
Location: It's a few blocks from the Strip, with lots of shops, restaurants, etc. nearby.
While my stay was just "okay," I am not sure what makes this a resort. There wasn't a restaurant onsite, although there was a pool and tennis court. As far as I could tell there were no special onsite activities or events, yet I had to pay an extra resort fee each day. The walls are thin (I could clearly hear the folks next door), and there was a connecting door between my room and the one next to it (that's a little un-nerving). What I didn't know was that there are [at least] two properties to this "resort," but there are across the street from each other. It's not too far from the Strip, is off of W. Tropicana Ave., which can be a very busy (and challenging) street to navigate onto and off of. Overall, my stay was only "okay," not sure if I'd stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your visit and feedback. We are disappointed we did not fully meet your expectations. The resort fee covers the cost of our shuttle service to the Strip, Red Rock Canyon, the Fremont Street Experience and the grocery store, wi-fi and morning food offering. Our resort is divided into two distinct properties, Club 1 and Club 2, that are located a block apart. You do not have to cross a busy street if you're walking from one to the other. They are on the same side of West Tropicana Avenue. Thank you once again for sharing your comments.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Leland, NC

Great for a long stay.

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Being away from the noise and crowds of in casino and being able to prepare breakfast in the kitchenette.
Location: The free shuttle bus will easily get you to two locations on the strip. There are several good quality, low cost restaurants within 3 miles.
For a long visit in Las Vegas (4+ days) and those who do not want to stay on the strip, this is an excellent value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you, Ed. We are happy you enjoyed your extended stay with us and appreciate your generous rating. We hope you will consider us again on your next visit to Las Vegas.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Antonio, TX

DO NOT stay here.

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Absolutely nothing. Would never stay there again or recommend it.
Cons: The staff's attitudes could definitely use improvement and cleaning services or at least clean towels would be nice. Who wants to use the same towel.
Location: n/a
From the moment we walked in to the lobby, the staff was very rude. Once we got to the room, it was very small, did not have a lot of space in which to move around. They do not clean the rooms, if you ask for new towels or for the room to be cleaned, you have to pay an additional fee. It was just NOT a good experience at all. After the second night we had to pack up and move to another hotel. VERY DISAPPOINTING. Second hotel was GREAT though. SLS Hotel ROCKS!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, Brenda. We are disappointed we did not meet your expectations, especially as it pertains to friendly customer service. Please accept our sincere apology if our resort staff was anything less than completely courteous in your interactions. As a timeshare resort, we do not follow the daily housekeeping model of traditional hotels - something we state in our check-in packet. We provide one free midweek cleaning for visitors staying seven days. We are always happy to replenish any items you may need - for free - and, as you mentioned, we offer daily housekeeping for a fee. We regret you left before the end of your stay, but are happy that you enjoyed the remainder of your time in Las Vegas.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Idaho

Not like the picture

Posted Oct 31, 2014
The pictures made this place looks so nice. This place was dated, unkeptand, and extremely far from the strip. My room was never cleaned once in the three days that I stayed there as well. I would never recommend this place to anyone or any of my friends. What a disappointment for a vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your visit and feedback, Idaho. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Our location and cleaning policy are both clearly delineated - the former online and the latter in our check-in packet. The Strip is just three miles from our West Tropicana address and easily accessible by car, cab or our convenient free shuttle. As a timeshare resort, we provide one midweek cleaning for visitors staying seven nights. This is in deference to our vacation club owners, many of whom are here for a week at a time and do want the intrusion of a daily cleaning visit. We are happy to replenish any items you may require during your stay and offer daily housekeeping for a fee. Thank you once again for your visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Victoria Canada

Loved It!

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Great place to stay! Not really near the strip but had a free hourly shuttle to get there. Loved my room, was like I had my own condo!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you, Marcus! We are glad you enjoyed our accommodations and truly appreciate your highest rating. We hope you will consider us again on your next visit to Vegas!