Ratings based on 2,402 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Gone downhill - badly

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: free parking. kitchen.
Cons: pretty much everything. it was dirty. the rooms were not comfortable. the service was non-existant.
If you have stayed at the Desert Rose before Jan. 2014, then I would recommend you don’t come back. The property has changed ownership to Wyndham and is in the process of being renovated and (rebuilt?). There is no more free breakfast, no cleaning service(s), no social hour, a dismantled lobby, and right when you check in they are forcing a time-share meeting on you. The rooms have gone from nicely furnished and clean to dilapidated and really dirty. The carpet was black, literally. There were large black stains where a plant used to be, and the bottoms of your feet will be pure black in an instant. The little touches, like the throw pillows that used to be on the sofa, and the brochures that were once in the room are completely gone, and you can still see spots where things were removed (like plants and pictures). The furniture is all scratched and the place is just very uninviting. I have stayed at the Desert Rose 5 times now and will not be going back because of the changes they have made/are making. Perhaps it’ll come back better? Who knows. But, for now, the staff is aware of the renovations and probably everything in the room will be tossed out and/or sold, so do you think they care if it’s clean? Nope. I got a sense of dirtiness in the room and it’s just not a good choice any longer. The location is nice is you want off the strip, but there is nothing here to offer any longer except the kitchen and free parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weird

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: I like the easy booking, check in and check out
Cons: Customer service in the front desk. I waited over 10 min for someone to come ring me up for my items
Location: Location is fine
One of the employees was being overly flirty and boarderline inappropriate. Which made it scary as a woman staying alone in my room after coming back late at night. It was creepy but over all my stay was ok. I just used the room for sleeping. They told me there would be no cleaning service for my stay but the house keeping came in while I was asleep. She didn't clean, just opened the door n walked back out. Which again was creepy and irritating as she woke me up. But other than that I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Family vacation

Posted Jun 25, 2014
The 2 room condo worked well for our family of 5. It was close enough to strip, but quiet enough to rest. Pool was nice. Wished there was breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

Good Price, great location.

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Cons: Wife was traveling separately and was not allowed to check in until I arrived. Check in staff quoted hotel policy.
Location: Vegas main hotels and eateries.
Attending 50th wedding anniversary. Hotel had nice amenities, and very convenient location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mom of4 from visalia,ca

Loved it!

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Was a great stay. No complaints. Kids loved the pool. Very relaxed setting. Will definately be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Patrick from Southern Indiana

Great hotel right off the strip.

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Hotel has an open air feel. No hallways - doors open to outside. All gated. Very nice.
Location: Very close to everything. Tram accessible. My family walked the strip from hotel.
Ended trip to western parks at this hotel. Glad we did. This hotel avoids all the hassle of the mega casinos yet offers easy access to everything. This is not a casino - it is a great hotel for families. All rooms are suites. Really nice kitchen with everything needed. Fantastic pool/spa area - we enjoyed after a hot day. Parking right out front - secure area. If you want to avoid the chaos of vegas casinos and value comfort and quiet - this is the place. They were super nice at checkin and let me park there all day for free even though it was early morning. There is a gas station a couple of blocks away to refill rentals and airport is very easy 15 minute drive. They also have Starbux coffee 24/7 in lobby for free.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from y

Hotel did not meet my needs or requests.

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Hotel. Did not honor my needs for medical cancellation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carol

Quiet and close to Strip

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: The fact that it is smaller - only 3 storeys and the location. Nice to have a balcony to get outside.
Cons: Bring back breakfast. Happy hour was also an opportunity to meet the other guests.
Location: Hotel is right behind Hooter's & across the road from MGM.
Desert Rose is currently being renovated so I have lowered my ratings. We were given a different suite than requested (ours was being renovated) & it was a little tired. They also have discontinued their breakfast and happy hour which we were not aware of when we booked. We still love the location and the fact that they are suites. We will certainly go back once the reno's are completed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary Alberta

Lovely oasis close to the strip!

Posted Jun 10, 2014
My friend and I stayed here 4 nights and loved it! Lovely pool, nice rooms, great coffee, super helpful staff and no casino!! It's close enough to walk to the strip and jump on a bus right at the Tropicana....I would absolutely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Trade show

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Helpful staff (although they do try to sell you a time share) and very clean.
Cons: They used to provide breakfast--but do not anymore.
Location: Close to Mandaly Bay where our trade show was.
We were there for a trade show and has stayed at Desert Rose 2 years ago. Very happy with it--a one bedroom apt. with a kitchen. Off the strip and a nice pool. A great value.