Ratings based on 3,389 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap Old Vegas hotel in quieter Downtown

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Very close to the action but it's blissfully not right on your doorstep. Friendly staff and very cheap
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rollie from Utah

Hard to get the maids to clean your room.

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: The pavilion has a nice view of the city. They now have a security guard and a room safe, which they didn't before.
Cons: You shouldn't have to dial 74 for the maids to clean your room promptly.
Location: Close to the Fremont Street Experience. The Pavilion overlooks "Container Park", an interesting place to visit.
The maids won't clean your room for awhile after you leave. You have to dial 74 to get them to clean right away, and sometimes that doesn't even work. Contrast this with Four Queens, which has the most prompt maid service I have ever seen. At Four Queens I would leave my room for a moment and the maids would have already cleaned it. Everything else about the hotel was good. I didn't like the new resort fee, but it is still cheaper than other hotels. The pavilion has a nice view of the city. I have been in the Vintage rooms as well as the Pavilion, and when you book a Vintage room you don't know what kind you'll get, which is interesting. You might get a noisy room close to the casino, or you might get a room far away in the back corner which is extremely, extremely quiet, the quietest place I've every stayed in Vegas. You also might get a room with a balcony overlooking Las Vegas Boulevard. And there's always the possibility that the room you booked will be unavailable, in which case you might be upgraded to a room in the Tower, which is nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from Canada's Flordidia (SW Ontario)

My Favourite My Favourite

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: The new management hasn't done away with the feel of "old Vegas", an active Keno set-up and lots n' lots of slots.
Cons: I would fire the dim wit who decided to add the "at check-in amenities charge" money grab that seems to popular on the Strip.
Location: Location is fine and improving with the on-going clean-up of Fremont St. The whole "downtown experience" is within easy walking distance.
My semi-annual visit to Vegas - no fuss, no muss and good location. Tower room as requested.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Knarf from Reno

Good deal

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Great rooms for the price. Food was good. Has parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz from Plano, TX

Good Older Downtown Vegas Hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Price, location, casino- in that order
Cons: Probably cant make walls more sound proof but should try to accommodate those who want less noise. My inital request for a high floor was ignored.
Location: Fremont Street! Way better than the strip and cheaper! The Neon Sign Museum is the best thing I've seen in Vegas & you can walk there from the hotel.
Large Tower Room still had the charm (all in the eye of the beholder, but I liked it, haha) of the 1970s but with new beds (with THREE PILLOWS EACH!) & a flat screen TV. Unfortunately due to the age though, the walls were paper thin. Blasting music could be heard in our 5th floor room until 2 am. We asked to switch rooms on our second day (the first day I checked their website and saw they were booked on almost every type of room) and was told an imaginary supervisor the clerk walked over to check with (clearly there was no one there) said no, that they were fully booked (the website said otherwise). It wasnt worth the argument, so I dropped it. We asked then that our sink (which didnt drain) be fixed and our safe (which was locked when we checked in). Security came right away to fix the safe. No one ever showed for the sink. Housekeeping was strange all weekend. The first morning we could hear them roaming the halls and jiggling our door (despite our Do No Disturb) before 7 am. The next day we were still waiting for them at 4pm. Despite all this, I actually would probably stay there again, just would try to get a quieter room upfront. The price can't be beat, especially including wifi, parking & the two waters a day (In the amenity fee). Plus the location is great. Its one block from Fremont, so you do avoid some of that noise while still feeling safely close by. Plus I REALLY liked their casino. 50 cent chip Roulette and $5 single & double deck blackjack.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as pic on website

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Good but did not look like room that we picked. Over all a OK stay gr8 for price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amanda from Las Vegas, NV

Peaceful Sleep

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: I liked the pleasant attitudes of the staff and their smiling faces
Cons: The plumbing, it needs replacing. our sink gurgled through the night.
Location: We are into the outdoor, natural scene. We visited Red Rock Canyon and Bonnie Springs Ranch.
I was concerned about the beds being comfortable and they were. I slept like a baby. Even though the noisy casino is downstairs, we did not hear a peep out of any night life. I had to study and do my homework and I had a pleasant atmosphere to do my work on-line. The staff was very kind and we loved the food in the El Cortez Cafe. Our Hostess, Lucy was so nice and pleasant and when she was not busy with the other customers she came and talked with us making us feel right at home. She is the GREATEST Hostess EVER! They should give her a raise or bonus and keep her there forever. She is a great asset for their business. The Housekeeping staff were wonderful too. I would recommend El Cortez to everyone. Why pay for the high pricy places when you have everything right here at El Cortez. Amanda Luhr & William Hinson
5 out of 5
by Felicia from lake havasu city az

Worst hotel in vegas

Posted Apr 13, 2014
I honestly can't believe I paid $100 to stay in this hotel for a night....stains all over the bench seat in the room...looked like the bathroom had never been properly cleaned....two doors down from our room there was a room service tray outside the door that was there when we checked in at 4 pm and was still there when we checked out at 7:30 the next morning....plus we tried to go to the cafe for a late dinner....first got ignored for a good few minutes and then got turned away because my husband was wearing a tank top....really...I can understand if we were trying to go to the steak house...but the cafe at 11 at night.....oh and don't forget about the high number of security guards around at ALL times....not very comforting!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice room , coffee very unusual for vegas

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Everthing
Cons: nope
great meals and fun casino clean room and great room service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great room for an even better price

Posted Apr 11, 2014
We were upgraded to a nicer room and it was beautiful. We got a killer price too. No complaints here.