Ratings based on 982 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: The staff, the staff, the staff (Casino and Du-par's). They are friendly, don't look like they hate their job like some casinos and always helpful.
Cons: AC/Heat
Odd school, no frills hotel, but super friendly staff and always a good time. The suites are excellent but small. If you want a large modern "Vegasy" resort room and huge gaming areas this isn't the place for you. If you want to avoid the strip, experience a little Vegas history downtown, but still play great table games then it is awesome. Du-par's has a great breakfast, looks the same as it did in the 50's, but is clean and always tasty. My favorite place to stay Downtown hands down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Merced, CA

Get a Suite

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: The location was good (for me), it was quiet in my room and comfortable.
Cons: It feels as if it caters to single guys more in that all the girls wear fringed bathing suit type things & go-go boots.
Location: You can get a $.99 deep fried twinkie right across the way at Mermaids. Gotta try at least one!
I was really nervous about staying here after reading all the reviews. However, my suite was great. I was told all of the suites are on the back side of the hotel, which mine was, and it was on the fourth floor. So no casino noise and no Fremont St Experience noise. The room itself was spacious with a large sectional, king bed, big screen TV and plenty of storage. No microwave but a small frig. The bathroom was compact but the shower was pretty big and had great water pressure. Everything was quite new. The A/C worked well. I was happy about staying here. Just beware that the Expedia prices don't include the $20/day "resort fee". So in reality, the prices are $20/day higher than what you pay Expedia and they collect it at check-in. It does cover wi-fi which worked well for me after figuring out that there are options for the sign-in and I was using the wrong one. Didn't like the casino, but it didn't matter because I really don't gamble.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Dakota

Service

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: The 1 Security Man and Curly the bar tender and the price
Cons: The rooms and the bathroom doors are to close to the toilet,if a bigger person in size stayed there they would have a hard time getting in bathroom
Location: lots to do right out the front door.Freemont Street is not a kid friendly place,but all kinds of things like catching bands,my favorite.
Check-in service was bad,but she was just a fill in,Maids do not understand the DND sign hanging on my door,they came in anyways and cleaned my room,made my bed and left my pillows on the floor! Went to soak in the tub and ran the water and watched the paint peel off the bottom of the tub.They had that tub painted,brushed of the peeling parts and tried the next day after it dried out and it did it again.Down By the poker tables it smelled like backed up sewer everyday.They have a very nice Security guy but never got his name and they have a very pleasant bar tender named Curly.If I get the chance I would stay there again for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san diego, ca

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Stayed in a suite and loved it! Very comfortable and clean room. Excellent value
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UT

Thanks

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Location and staff
Location: Fremont street and restaurants off the street
Great staff and hotel and location from the strip.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Lake Placid, New York

My initial impression was through optimistic eyes

Posted Nov 14, 2014
I attempted to give this place the benefit of the doubt given that it is a very old building and historic casino and I was able to find a room for a one week stay at a very, very reasonable rate. The gentleman who checked us into our room seemed very friendly but when he asked for my credit card (I paid in full online), I was hesitant and asked for what, to which he responded "For a $100 deposit". I gave him the card to have the number on file. The room size was extremely modest--not much larger than the furniture that it accommodated--but appeared clean and the bed was comfortable. My boyfriend and I weren't planning to spend a lot of our time in the room so the small size was fine for our needs. At night the noise on Fremont St. was loud, even after selecting an "inside" room. Our room also had the main AC unit DIRECTLY outside our window, leaving us to this moderate humming/buzzing noise all day and night. All of this aside, the outside noise tended to die down early enough for me to sleep well and the AC unit became background/white noise. What REALLY got me was when I checked out. The front desk said I owed $150+ in "Resort Fees" (AKA a hidden $20/night fee only in the fine print - and not included in the rate). She said the clerk should have told me when I checked in, which he absolutely did not! Additionally, the "Resort fee" was for services that I didn't even use. BE AWARE!! This effectively DOUBLED the cost of the room/night. I will never stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom BULLHEAD CITY,AZ

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: WHEN YOU MAKE A RESAVATION THEY TELL YOU,, RATE IS LOW BECAUSE IT'S NEAR FREEMONT STREET, VERY LOUD ALL NIGHT,,
Location: IN VEGAS
the hotel didn't have a room to check in to,, told to come back after 6pm, then only 1 room available over fremont street,, VERY LOUD MUSIC AND DRUNKS YELLING ALL NIGHT asked front desk to move me, told no other rooms, 2nd night moved to over giant air conditioners that run ALL NIGHT, and drunks all night in hall ways, NEVER AGAIN.. FRONT DESK YOUR IN VEGAS, NEED TO GET USE TO IT.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Great Location
Great little hotel. I read some of the reviews and was worried. Yes the room was small but was clean and the bed was comfortable. So if you are going to stay in your room go some where else. If your in Vegas to be out and about this hotel was great. I asked for a room away from the Fremont noise and did bring earplugs. Fremont street is noisy. Hotel staff was terrific.. Great restaurant in Hotel too. Would stay here again YES
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2014
loved it staff was friendly and helpful. Whatever I need it they provide. The room was a little small but for his age that's good
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles,CA

Clean hotel. Great price

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Room was clean.. a bit small but there's nothing wrong with that. The walls were a bit thin so we were able to hear all the commotion outside had to go to the drug store for ear plugs to be able to sleep. Good location right next to the downtown strip. But not as close to the convention center as we hoped..overall the experience was still a good one.