Ratings based on 1,148 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Greenville, SC

Classic Vegas Hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2015
I loved my stay at the Golden Gate. The oldest hotel in town is proud of its history, is a great value with great staff. If you hate the crowds cramming the halls, elevators and casino floors of the megacasinos on the strip then this little Fremont St gem could be for you. With less than 150 rooms, I found the Golden Gate and the perfect home base to return to after long days and nights fighting the crowds. The casino is the perfect size and the dancing dealers who take over the tables after dark add to the fun. And you have to try the hotel restaurant at least once if only to sample the pie selselection.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Mexicali B.C Mexico

4406

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: nada
Cons: remodelacion de las habitaciones y principalmente poner camas mas comodas.
Las habitaciones muy viejas y muy pequeñas, muy sucias.Muy incomodas las camas
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Close to town.
Too noisy with loud music, room by alley with all kind of noise in alleyway early in morning. Could not sleep all night due to this. Moved to Harrahs after first night, gave up the money we paid for 3 nights in advance to move out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old, small rooms

Posted Feb 26, 2015
No room service or in-room coffee. Very old. The views were horrendous. Asked for a blanket and told none were available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

Served its purpose

Posted Feb 24, 2015
This hotel at almost a century old is exactly as you'd expect it to be. The room I was placed in was pretty small and layout was dated, but I knew that going in. It was clean and worked for what I needed it for. It's not like you hang out in your room in Las Vegas, so to have a room, bed and bathroom was all I was looking for. The proximity to Fremont Experience and decent casino is what gives this hotel appeal. The $23 per day "resort fee" is a bit of a farce though as it is really grossly overpriced wifi. Overall, it was ok though.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Cheap room.. yes you get what you pay for.

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: I can't think of a thing!
Cons: I would think with all the revenue this place generates they could put a little bit back into the building. A few bathroom updates would be tremendous
Location: The location is the best part if you want to be on Freemont Street next to the band stage, You can hear it perfect from your room!
My no smoking room still smelled of old cigarette smoke. When I opened the television cabinet and this was the second day there, someone had put there to go container inside of it. I had to question the cleanness of the room. The bathroom still had hair in the sink. overall I would have to say the room was not very clean. The walls are very very thin you can here everything going on in your neighbors room, which is kind of disgusting!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom seattle

Posted Feb 21, 2015
The room was old, dark, gloomy. No view. No coffee in room and no room service to get coffee in morning. Room cold. Asked for blanket and told they had none. Pillow was half normal size.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Göttingen

Einfaches Hotel - dafür super gelegen

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Vintage soll es sein - meiner Meinung nach ist es einfach nur alt. Vintage gefällt mir, die Zimmereinrichtung und die allgemeine Zimmereinrichtung sind auch schön im alten "Stil", der Rest (vor allem das Bad oder Teppiche), sind einfach nur nie renoviert worden - eben einfach im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes alt. Der Service ist ok, das Casino ist nett, aber nicht interessanter als die anderen Casinos in Downtown. Die Lage vom Golden Gate ist perfekt, Downtown/Fremont Street liegt direkt vor der Tür und die Busanbindung zum Strip sind top (24 Stunden Tickets nur 8€, Bus fährt alle 15 Minuten, 24 Std./Tag). Das Frühstück im Hotelrestaurant ist ok (Tellergerichte 10-12 $ + Getränke 3-4$), empfehlenswerter ist jedoch das Frühstücksbuffet im Fremont Hotel schräg gegenüber (all you can eat, 7,99$ inkl. aller Getränke, egal was). Wer Lust hat schwimmen zu gehen, im Hotel nebenan (Golden Nugget), kann man als nicht Hotelgast für 15$ ein Poolticket kaufen. Das Pool läuft rund um den "Tank" (Haufisch- und Meerwasseraquarium). Ein atemberaubendes Gefühl mit den Haien (nur durch Glas getrennt) zu schwimmen. Es gibt sogar eine Wasserrutsche direkt durchs Haifischbecken. Weitere Tipps: im Fremont Hotel gibt es einen Shrimp Cocktail für 0,99$ o.leckeren Margarita für 0,99$. Der Shrimp Cocktail hat uns nicht zugesagt, der Frozen Cocktail hat uns hingegen sehr zugesagt. Er ist so günstig, damit die Leute gelockt werden - Ziel: Geld im Casino lassen. Eine Disco ist im Golden Nugget (5$Eintritt).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Casino staff was pleasant
Cons: Cleanliness. Water temperature in shower
Room was extremely small, fairly dirty, shower was hot or cold, never warm, shower pressure was bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lakewood, CA

Comfort and Quiet in a Unique Suite

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: The dancing dealers were a treat to enjoy from the bar. DuPar's Coffee Shop is nothing fancy, but the food is great for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Cons: I'd like to see them throw in something else for the resort fee. Maybe have a small gym or a business center or give guests a daily newspaper.
Location: The Fremont Street Experience is right outside the door. At night, the roof lights up and the colored lights and loud music are overwhelming.
I read lots of reviews about how the "cheapo" rooms are small and very noisy. I didn't want any of that, so I booked a suite. I had plenty of room and peace and quiet. My suite had a comfortable king-size bed, a fifty inch flat-screen tv, and a Keurig coffee maker. The shower (no tub) had a hand-held and wall-mounted head. The rest of the room had a pretty cool, retro 60's vibe. There was a giant picture of Elvis and Priscilla Presley with Tom Jones on the wall above the faux leather sofa. The lamps were like the ones we had at our house when I was a kid. All in all, it was a really fun room. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here, again.