Ratings based on 1,065 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom d

Golden ghetto

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Room dirty bed not comfy in the least music way too loud
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Convenient, old Vegas charm

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Cons: lower the resort fee
I requested a room overlooking Fremont St. It was small, but sufficient for 1 person, but a larger room would be necessary for a couple. The Valet and self park were about 15 paces from the elevator, and the room maybe 25 from the elevator. Try that on the strip ! Old Vegas (downtown) is great for the music, food and multiple casinos all within a short walk. Golden Gate has a great little coffee shop featuring the shrimp cocktail that has been part of Vegas virtually forever.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: the history of the hotel and casino, was a very good place to relax and forget about a few things for a while.
my stay was very enjoyable at the Golden Gate the hotel room was fine accommodations the staff was excellent answer most of the questions that I had or direct me to the person who could answer the questions the restaurant had find food and it was very nice atmosphere outside walking distance to most of the other casinos and just the outside area with the Fremont Street and Plaza area. the downtown area this seems to be a lot nicer thanks a lot closer do and probably would return to downtown more likely than doing this trip I like the idea that the older people like the downtown area and I just enjoy that in the future I will probably return and stay again downtown and I thank you for everything that the staff at the Golden Gate Hotel and Casino provided thank you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Great staff great price pretty decent rooms ...no complaints
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

old, tired rooms, way to expensive

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: The new entry way looks very nice
We were next to the fremont canopy, band stage. Very, very noisy all day and night.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Arizona

We wont be back

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: quaint , lots of character
Cons: Locate us away from the street noise , we are in our 70's , give us air conditioning.
Location: great
The street noise was awful we couldn't sleep until it stopped at 3 am. The shower is hard to adjust so that the you wont get burned or freeze . The lack of air cond was awfull we had the windows wide open . The hallway was like an oven.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Tx

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: Dupars restaurant is ok, has very good home made like food.
Cons: cleaning, room placing, bathrooms
Placed on the worst rooms first 3 nights, by freemont street, impossible to sleep before 4am, supposed to be smoke free, but not true, all our clothing smell like walking cigars... bathrooms old, and not well kept. finally got moved to better rooms, yes, they did exist! same small size, little bit better, but not Ok still. At least noise level decreased. They only have central air conditioning, so do no expect to be able to manage your room's temperature at all. Hotel Ok for people looking for a place where they can smoke(Anything) and sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom DC

Good hotel unless you need peace and quiet. I don'

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Overall, nice experience. Had to switch hotel rooms the first night because there was no hot water in the room. Moved to a cozy room, very chic but very noisy...can hear the thumps of music up to 5am every day. I slept through it. Overall, very affordable and clean with free parking. However, the bathrooms are a bit rustic and can use updated tiles and corking of sinks and tub.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect place to experience Fremont from.

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Pros: I liked the easy access to Fremont.
The building is historic and very cool. The room was very clean and functional. The shower faucets took a moment to dial in but once a suitable temperature is attained, it didn't fluctuate. I would recommend this place and I would stay here again without hesitation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: The staff, the staff, the staff (Casino and Du-par's). They are friendly, don't look like they hate their job like some casinos and always helpful.
Cons: AC/Heat
Odd school, no frills hotel, but super friendly staff and always a good time. The suites are excellent but small. If you want a large modern "Vegasy" resort room and huge gaming areas this isn't the place for you. If you want to avoid the strip, experience a little Vegas history downtown, but still play great table games then it is awesome. Du-par's has a great breakfast, looks the same as it did in the 50's, but is clean and always tasty. My favorite place to stay Downtown hands down.