Ratings based on 9,609 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from springfield mo

Nice pool

Posted Jul 22, 2014
It's been about 10 years since I have stayed at Mandalay Bay. Since then, I have stayed at many of the newer Las Vegas locations as they were finished. Mandalay Bay still has a really nice pool resort and always enjoy it, including their various day clubs. The available Restaurants are all excellent. The Cirque show available is fantastic. However, the actual rooms are outdated. The AC unit in our room was definately underpowered for the Great Room suite. Also, we were able to hear our neighbors have a normal tone conversation as well as noise in the hallway and ice machine. We still had a great time but for the price, one could probably get a more up to date room in an alternative resort, even within the MGM line up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, mo

Great hotel, clean

Posted Jul 22, 2014
We love staying here and the Moorea Beach, this time though there were so many families with little children running around and crying at night. My suggestion is to have families on one floor or wing and adults only in the other areas. Including casino.. So many children running around in the gambling area.. That disappointed me.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Disappointed.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
We arrived about 11:00 pm on a Tuesday night & waited over an hour to check in. Only a few people working at this time & the process was very slow. We requested adjoing rooms or rooms close by & they could only get us on the same floor for 1 night then we would have to be packed up & out by 11:00 the next morning & move to new rooms. Very loud & dusty construction going on in the lobby during our wait. We asked for extra pillows but never got them. Rooms were warm & never really cooled off. We bought fans to help with that. Stayed here several times & usually enjoy it but this time overall we were disappointed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2014
good experience but eating prices are outrageous, I will stay at a less expensive motel next time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, Florida

Not what It used to be.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: It is not as noisy since it is at the end of the strip. easy to goto the Luxor, Excalibur, New York, Tropicana and MGM via the free Tram
Cons: Increase the check-in staff when long lines Housekeeping clean the toilet floors Do one resort fee rather than fee tax to the fee
Location: Easy to goto the Luxor, Tropicana, MGM and New York via the internal Tram. The parking is in the back. easy access to the casino when you rent a car.
The reception area was under renovations ( July 14-2014) the noise of the jack hammer was unbearable. The line to check-in had more than 50 people and the staff did nothing to expedite the check-in process, only two at the reception to handle the long line that had to bear the noise for 40 minutes. None from the desk apologized. All they did was to complaint to us informing that: " the hotel was to replace the huge and beautiful fish tank by the reception area with a bar, as if there were not enough bars in the resort". No complimentary water like other times. The room marble floors were dirty mainly in the toilet area ( room 30223 and room 29217) so was the carpet on 30223. On the way out the hotel added to the bill $139.00 for a facility located bar charge. We do not drink. So they took it off the bill. They also added $11.00 to the supposedly free buffet per stay. They claimed that the free buffet was for the morning time, the dinner or lunch was a more expensive buffet that is why they were charging the $11.00. This was not disclosed in the reservation. Then they removed it. They impose a fee of $25.00 per day for using the resort. It is absurd. If they want to charge $28.00 say it and so be it. But it is ridiculous to charge a fee of $25.00 plus $3.00 tax. First time this situation with the Mandalay Hotel and this used to be my favorite Hotel. I visit Vegas every year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tacoma

Great time

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Check in took forever but we got upgraded to a suite so it made it worthwhile. Beautiful property, great restaurants, amazing spa!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Kids loved the pool.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
The kids loved the pool. It made this their best vegas vacation so far. Rooms could have been a little cleaner but the overall experience was great. There was a stain in the carpet that needed to be cleaned off. All in all, the rooms were great at The Hotel. Construction really didn't bother me at all but the pool was a bit far .We would definitely come here during the summers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Nice hotel but Nickel and Diming Occurs

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: The breakfast buffet was included in my package and was amazing. We got a window seat each time and had amazing servers.
Cons: Stop adding fees for everything.
Location: It is the far end of the strip so you have to take the tram to get anywhere.
The Mandalay made some huge improvements since last I was there by adding pools. But what I didn't appreciate was the lack luster cleaning job they did (forgot to empty trash cans twice), the long waits when trying to call the front desk (don't ever wait in line as it moves really slowly), the 45 minutes it took to check in, the nickel and diming for everything from the tubes for the lazy river to the shark display which all used to be free. It is also at the very end of the strip and the free tram was broken twice in the four days i was there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Nickel & Dime Hotel where you pay for basic needs!

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: pool area during the day wasn't all thongs & high heels-- maybe that's why they market this hotel to families?
Cons: complimentary water, especially during the summer!!!! working phones to contact housekeeping or front desk. working AC- especially during SUMMER!!
Our two rooms weren't ready, so they "upgraded" us to a 2bedrm PH suite. I think they gave us a "broken down" suite and made it seem like they were upgrading us. NONE of the phones in the suite were working, which made it very hard to get any help when the AC in one of the bedrooms weren't working (NOT Good when it's 100 degrees outside!!!). There is ABSOLUTELY NO SHADE anywhere by the pool. why? because if you want to sit under the umbrella, you have to PAY! If you want a cabana, you have to pay even more. Yes, they have a lazy river-- but if you want a floatie- you have to pay $25 per floatie! Do you want to use the gym? Yes, they have a free gym-- one small rm with some free weights and one bench, but if you want anything more than that- $25 per day! If you are thirsty- there's NO complimentary water anywhere... it's $5/bottle. Most hotels I have stayed at, especially suites, offer some complimentary water. Breakfast buffet restaurant room was barely edible and at $15/child over 5 and $22/adult, we thought it would at least be decent. Location is at the beginning of the strip, so getting to mid strip (to see bellagio water show) or the other end of the strip (Pirate show at treasure island) is quite a trek, even with the tram that goes to the excalibur hotel next door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

A few disappointments but very nice overall

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Hotel and facilities are, as I've said, very nice. Just be prepared for little surprises here and there.
Cons: Management decisions to charge guests for use of facilities and late check-out.
Location: I would highly recommend anyone renting a car (there is an Avis desk in lobby) and making 2.5 hour drive to Zion National Park. Beautiful scenery!
Hotel is very nice and clean. Was surprised, though, to see a "Resort Fee" (plus tax) for each day on final bill when checking out. Also, was shocked there was a high charge for males to enter the Moorea Beach Club on Friday. (There was no charge for females on Friday.) This was disappointing as there was no such charge Mon-Thurs. Besides, as a guest of the resort, there should have been no charge at all to me, whereas such a charge to non-hotel guests would have been understandable. And whichever day you go to Moorea, go early if you want to get a no-charge lounge chair. They don't have nearly enough no-charge ones but plenty if you want to pay for one. Wouldn't you think they would make it up in food & drink if they had more no-charge-entry folks in the pool area? There was also a charge for "late check-out" (leaving at 3:00pm rather than noon). We stayed for four nights and the hotel has to nick us for an extra 30 bucks for stay on property for an extra 3 hours???? Poor public relations move there. Finally, when we arrived at the hotel on Monday, there was demolition of a fountain taking place in the lobby area. My wife and I, along with many other folks, were subjected to repeated jack hammer noise in excess of 100 decibels for several minutes at a time. Absolutely deafening. When we finally got to the counter, the only thing staff & manager would do was say "I apologize." No upgrade of room, no comp meal, nothing. VERY disappointing!