Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gaynor from South Wales

Lovely Villa

Posted Sep 28, 2013
Pros: The friendly staff
Cons: Could do with tea/coffee facilities in the rooms. Missed it after a hard day sight seeing!
Location: Definately need a car. Lots to see in Florenze but be prepared for the crowds. Sienna and the Cianti vineyard worth a visit.
The Hotel Villa Saulina is very pretty with some great views. The hotel staff were all very helpful and friendly. Matteo the manager was great, always there to help and even dropped us to the local train station on a few occassions, and his English was very good. We ate at the hotel on two nights and the food was lovely. The pool area was very relaxing. We didn't hire a car but would recommend it as the hotel is in the countryside and to get to Florenze it was a short taxi ride to the train station and 15 mins on the train which was excellent and only cost 2.50 euros. We walked to the station on our first day and it took us 40 mins but wouldn't recommend it as it was too dangerous, no pavements and we had to dodge the cars who drove a little too close for comfort. We were very happy we chose this hotel as Florenze was just too busy for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Remo from UK

Great location, lovely stay, glad we booked!

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Pros: The staff were great, the scenary fantastic and pools were quiet and spacious.
Cons: There were limited options for restaurants close by - although the food at the hotel was very good and provided plenty of choice.
Location: The views were stunning and easy access to sight seeing locations. Small villages close by for occasional visits and supermarket within 15 mins drive.
Stayed in Villa Saulina for a week this summer and really enjoyed the stay. We had a family room really close to one of the pools and breakfast area. All the staff were fantastic - welcoming, supportive and friendly. We had considered many other hotels when doing our research, and were delighted with the choice we made. Car hire is needed, but worth it for the opportunity to see Tuscany and appreciate the location. I have already recommended this location to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Steve from UK

perfect getaway

Posted Sep 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great spot accessible to Florence, Pisa, Vinci and Siena. Relaxing place where you can keep yourself to yourself.
2 out of 5
by Byrne from London, UK

Not 4 Star Hotel

Posted Jun 13, 2013
Pros: The view, The location (Tuscan Hills), and the hotel pools and surrounding areas were quite secluded.
Cons: The service, lack of staffs response to requests or enquiries. Hotel doesn't even offer 3 square meals, only breakfast and dinner (no room service)
Location: The Tuscan Hills are beautiful! This hotel overlooks the rolling hills and is very secluded. It is advisable to take a car though!
This was an extremely disappointing hotel and stay. The hotel staff were very friendly and polite but completely ineffective and did not put ant effort in following through with customer requests, enquiries and problems. There where several incidents/ problems during our stay. On our arrival, the cab the hotel had booked to pick us up was 1 hour late. This was due to the hotels error. My medication went missing on one of the days and when we followed it up with reception, they casually fished the medication out of the bin without any explanation. Considering this is a 4 star hotel, there is not much to eat. Breakfast is very minimal. Juice and hot drinks are served from drink machines. There is NO lunch, we were offered toast if we were hungry for lunch, otherwise we would have to drive or book a cab to the nearest village to get some food. Dinner is served at 7.30pm at the hotel restaurant. There is no room service either. I The rooms are extremely small. There is barely enough room to walk around (and this was their superior room too). The bathroom is also extremely small with a flimsy shower. The rooms didn't even have a kettle either! The only pluses are the two swimming pools, which we got to enjoy all to ourselves, the location of the hotel (Tuscan Hills) and the view. This is quite a harsh review, but I think people should have fair warning that this hotel is well below a 4 star ranking. So if its luxury you are looking for, steer clear of this place.
2 out of 5
by Kinder from London

Hardly a 2 star hotel!

Posted Apr 28, 2013
Location: Awful location. Can't leave the property without paying for a taxi.
The shower was leaking, the sheets were filty, the bathroom was full o hair. There was no shelf in the bathroom for body cream, etc. I requested a wake up call, but didn't get it. This property is 10 minutes drive to the nearest station and will cost you 15Euro each way. If you think you're getting a good deal, think agan. Even if you hire a car, you'll spend a lot on petrol. Pay more and stay in a hotel nearer to Florence and avoid this horrid experience. No intention of ever going back to a place like that. Going forward, I'll stick with my five-star hotels within walking distance to many attractions!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by LJS

Hotel Villa Saulina

Posted Nov 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
We spent 2 nights here, whilst visiting Florence. The location was easy to find, and beautiful. Staff were great and could not do more for us. The restaurant served fantastic food, reasonably priced and freshly prepared. The breakfast was the only disappointing element, which they are currently reviewing, and hopefully this will improve.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

amazing views and beatiful food.

Posted Jul 3, 2012
Pros: The view and the restaurant food.
Cons: the breakfast.
Location: Very bad if you dont have a car as taxi cost a fortune and are hard to find. But the scenery itself is amazing breath taking views.
The Villa was absolutely wonderfull. Most amazing views i have ever seen. the restaurant food was one in the best i ever had and was really affordable. The only thing is if you dont have a car you are definitely in troubòe as there is no bus going to and from the hotel. we got a taxi once and it cost us 15 euros for a 6mins drive and the second the charge us 28 euros for the same distance just because it was a different company. The only disappointing thing from the hotel itself was the breakfast. it is really poor barely any fruits and for pastries they only offer plain croissant. Next time if i go to the hotel i will def rent a car as this hotel was worth it. un beatable views and amazinfg food in the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Denise from Yorba Linda CA

Great hotel for anyone

Posted Jun 26, 2012
A great place to spend your vacation in Florence. Only 3 km to train station to Florence. I would highly recommend to anyone who love open space.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carrie from Hertfordshire, England

Gorgeous 5 Days in Tuscany!

Posted Apr 17, 2012
Pros: The location, food and people were brilliant. Quiet location, but only a 5 minute drive to the train station for a 15-minute ride to Florence.
Cons: The coffee machine in the breakfast room and the massive TV screen in the glassed restaurant annex.
Location: Surrounded by grape vines, views over the hills, yet close to Florence and other lovely cities.
We stayed here for 5 days and have already told friends to stay here. The staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful throughout the stay. There is a restaurant/pizzeria on the premises with a somewhat limited menu, but the food that we ordered was all very fresh and carefully prepared and presented. The only two minor negative points we had were the first night, we wanted to have a romantic dinner and were sitting in the glass restaurant annex looking over the Tuscan hills when football was put on the giant screen TV and although the sound was low, as it got dark, the massive reflection of the TV on the windows was annoying. After the football started, our main course was mixed up badly - my husband got his meat, I was given the wrong order (chicken instead of beef), his grilled vegetables turned out to be sauteed spinach, he was finished before my steak arrived and ten minutes after I was done, my baked onion side dish arrived. The rest of the meals we had there were, however, correct and very good. The coffee and tea in the breakfast room were never more than tepid, coming from the horrible machine they have present, although when I started ordering my cappucino from the lovely breakfast person, it was quite good. The remainder of the items for breakfast were excellent and fresh. There is a lovely small bar for sitting with a relaxing drink and a book and the whole grounds are well kept and lovely and quiet as well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT a 4-star hotel.

Posted Apr 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
Hotel is quite a ways outside of Florence but easy to get to the train station. Room furnishings were disappointing. Bedspread looked like something from the 60's. Chairs were very uncomfortable in the room. Overall hotel was not up to the same 4-star quality as other places we stayed during our trip to Italy. Also, the water stopped working for several hours one night. We asked on check-in about wi-fi. Clerk told us it was available in the lobby area on their computer or our own. We asked the first morning for the code and was given a card with the code on it, good for 24 hours. We did this twice. On check-out, we were informed there was a 10 euro charge for the internet. This was NOT stated on check-in. Breakfast had fewer selections than other hotels during out stay but was adequate.