Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enjoy the Train

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: The soaking bath is great, you must try it.
I hope you like trains, they run all night. The foot is good and the people are very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel with hot springs

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Very quiet and relaxing.
Cons: Nothing
Location: See the beautiful countryside.
Nice hotel with very friendly staff. The hot springs were fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paonia, Colorado

Loved the customer service

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Very friendly to us and our two pets. Not many hotels welcome cats; they do!
Cons: Coffee could be stronger
Location: Rafting down the slow moving river that runs behind the hotel looked very popular, and we would have done it too if we'd had time
The owner upgraded our room to a larger room for free. The hotel is charming, as is the small town. Our bed was comfortable, the mineral pools were relaxing, and the breakfast was much appreciated. I definitely recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

It use to be!

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: It was in Lava Hot Springs.
Cons: The hot tub outside could be cleaned and new cushions bought. Dirt could be cleaned out of the hot tub.
Location: Mineral hot ponds, tubing down the river, swimming pool. Lots of cafe's and shops. A very cool museum.
It use to be the nicest place in Lava Hot Springs to stay. It is very rundown. Outside the hot tub, the chair covers were ragged,ripped and torn. The chairs were dirty. They hot tub had an inch of dirt in it. Inside the mineral baths had scum on the top. All these conditions could be remedied or fixed with little effort and a few dollars. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone to stay at. Restaurant prices were very high. No one was even dining there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Texas and Yellowstone

A lovable old inn -- quaint as can be...

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Cons: An historic building is always in need of repairs and renovations. There's some peeling paint, and the carpets are rumpled, but it's a labor of love.
Location: The historic hot springs pools at Lava are wonderful, enjoyable in any season. And the river makes a fun romp in the summer. We love Lava!
Some places you just love. They're comfortable, like an old couch that has loads of charm and no pretense. We have stayed at the Riverside at least three times. It's a wrinkled and frumpy old inn, the kind of place old-fashioned, anti-corporate, take-your-time travelers can appreciate and even revel in. It's the kind of place that starts conversations and makes memories. The Riverside is right in the middle of Lava Hot Springs, right on the river, as its name suggests. In mild weather, you can leave your window open and hear the stream close by. You can also hear the trains close by, too, but we love the sound of trains. If you aren't so sure, ear plugs do the trick, but then experienced travelers already know how to take care of themselves in all sorts of accommodations. I think the comfortable feeling of the Riverside makes it a great destination. The self-serve breakfast in the big dining area is a treat, too, as it's more than just the junk carbs of most places -- there are yogurt cups, boiled eggs, and a fridge full of things, good coffee, too, and what a fine space in which to enjoy it all. This is a place where "taking your time" means something.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jtau from Wyoming

Like Victorian? This is the place!!!

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed my stay. Great service! Everyone was very accomidating to my needs. I was on a business trip and being able to enjoy the mineral bath in between meetings was awesome!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Kaoru Felling from Goodyear, Az

Good lesson

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very uncomfortable. Very dirty. Very poor maintenance & services.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Al from Idaho Falls

Nice getaway

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall nice place...if your looking for 5 star not going to find it in Lava Hot Springs. This place is as nice as any in town