Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Dana from Washington DC USA

Beautiful

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had we stayed right in Gruyeres (instead of here at Hostellerie Le Castel) we'd have never seen the amazing views of the surrounding area. We walked from Hostellerie Le Castel to Gruyeres and it was perhaps the best scenery we've seen in our lives.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Zach from Virginia Beach, VA

Great Hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Checked in late and the staff was amazing. We were upgraded to a room with a view of the Gruyere Chateau and the Chef stayed just to cook us a late dinner which was delicious. The room was simple but very clean and everything you need. Just a three minute drive to the cheese factory (tour was great) and the Chateau Gruyere. Only ten minutes from the Callier Chocolate factory (tour was a amazing). I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Nayef from New York

A great retreat with a view

Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
I booked this hotel on my pilgrimage to the town of Gruyères to visit the miraculous Tibet Museum. This hotel came up in my hotels.com search for the town of Gruyères, it is around teh corner from the train station Le Paquier, the owners are very very kind and helpful, the breakfast was delicious and the view is miraculous.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, but watch for extra costs

Posted Aug 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
Desk was very polite and helpful. But watch out for extra charges. Continental breakfast cost 15 Francs. Ask for a piece of bread at night, 4 Francs. Location is somewhat inconvenient to the Broc. Probably should have stayed in Bulle where it is cheaper and convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by CG from Wales

The Real Switzerland - go there!

Posted Jul 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was looking for an inexpensive hotel between Bern and Montreux for an overnight stop. The Castel seemed to offer just what we wanted. Rural location was fine, with great views of Gruyere Chateau (but without the crowds) and near the autobahn. (take care if following Google Maps instructions and be sure to take the right exit at the first roundabout - follow the motor road signs - we missed them first time and needed to retrace). I would describe the hotel as traditional Swiss - and all the better for it! So many Swiss hotels have become international. The fondue was perhaps the best I have ever had (again very traditional, with potatoes) and the breakfast superb. We were given a room with a balcony and I understand these are worth the extra - view of the castle rather than the (quiet) road, and also a larger bed. I would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Manu

Posted Jan 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great hotel. Staff very friendly. Beautiful view from room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Exactly what we wanted!

Posted Oct 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
We stayed here the night before the Desalpes festival in Charmey and absolutely loved it. If we go back to the Gruyeres area we will certainly stay with them again. The restaurant/bar is a very warm, cozy environment for a nightcap and dessert with their roaring fireplace and pool table. The rooms are just what we expected. And the owners and staff were so friendly and helpful. We loved it!