Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Schöne Aussicht auf die Berge

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels
Nettes Personal, auch der Koch. Deutsch und Französisch. Restaurant Preis/leistung sehr gut. Im 1. Stock Zimmer mit überdachtem Balkon. Heizung funktioniert hervorragend, auch nachts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by miguel from bulle

emplacement exceptionnel

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels
biens
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Bart from San Jose, CA

a pleasant hotel in a small village

Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels
Mr. Schmuck, the owner of the hotel was most accomodating. His hotel is just off the national bike route 9, and he has a special room for bicycle parking. The room was clean, comfortable, and had a balcony with some chairss.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Dana from Washington DC USA

Beautiful

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels
Had we stayed right in Gruyeres (instead of here at Hostellerie Le Castel) we'd have never seen the amazing views of the surrounding area. We walked from Hostellerie Le Castel to Gruyeres and it was perhaps the best scenery we've seen in our lives.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Franco from Milano

Grazioso, a pochi km da Gruyere

Posted May 12, 2014
In posizione tranquilla a silenziosa, nella campagna circondata dai monti, a pochi km da Gruyere. I titolari sono affabili e gentilissimi, ambiente famigliare.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Peter from Neuchatel

Nice hotel and staff, though it could been better.

Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels
Le Castel is situated quite close to the gruyere castel. By car it is approximately 10 minutes. The hotel is comfortable, however it is also been well used over time. The fondue was the best I have had until now. Even the famous fondue in the Gruyere castle wasn't as good as this one. Make sure you enjoy it in front of the fire in the restaurant and with the plate of assorted meat on the side, and the local wine. (NB: motie-motie is just the cheese and potatoes). We had a double room, and we were told when ordering that the beds could be put together to a larger bed. This wasn't possible when we arrived, but we made it comfortable with the mattresses. But, traveling as a couple this made us a bit irritated in the end of the day. They advertised with a balcony and a large bed, we got two separate beds and a terrace. If I had to go back to this hotel, I'm not sure I would be so very happy paying the same price.. The service was ok, but with a undertone of squeezing a bit more money out of you. Breakfast had to be ordered the day before and costs 15 francs for just a bit of fruit, juice and croissants. Food from the table can't be brought to the room, and the check out is before ten. Overall, the hotel could have been better in the clients favor. In such case, living up to the expectations. Plan your stay - one night is good.