Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom pa

Convenient off exit

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Very quit,clean,and friendly staff, would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Kerry AGM, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one. Sincerely, Kerry Page Asst. General Manager
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by leahfrom Philly

Never ever ever go there!!!

Posted Dec 9, 2014 
I wouldn't recommend this place to a homeless person! We booked the day before cause we were driving from 7 hours away so when we got there at 6 am we could just check in and sleep we booked 2 nights, when we got there the guy in the lobby wouldn't let us in, he said there was no reservations in my name, he left us outside in the cold and rain for 15 minutes while he checked, when he finally let us in, I told him that it wasn't nice that he left us outside he told us we could go to the comfort inn across the street if we didn't like it so I called hotels dot com and they helped us out by finding another motel that would let us walk in and book.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2015 by Kerry AGM, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, I am sorry for your recent frustration with our hotel. However, please know as soon as we saw your review of our hotel I spoke to the Front Desk Representative. The front doors must remain locked until breakfast time starts or else the breakfast person could not be able to complete their breakfast chores due to guests coming in early. Our team members strive to do their best. If you took notice that you were not standing in the rain as our night window is under a roof. Please know we are working diligently to make sure a similar situation does not happen again. We were genuinely astonished to read of the details of your feedback you had regarding our representative upon your check in. Our astonishment was even greater since our receptionist is a serious person and we have only received praise from the guests for his work, attitude and effort. Kerry Page Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Everything was very good the staff was helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Kerry AGM, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one. Sincerely, Kerry Page Asst. General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

an overnight stay on our trip.room adequate

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: quiet and clean-staff very pleasant-check-in quick/check-out good
Cons: rooms needed to be updated
Location: only passing through
we have had a couple of bad experiences at econo lodges in the past so was pleasantly surprised with this particular inn
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2014 by Kerry AGM, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guests, Many thanks for taking time to share your experience of your stay with us in the Econo Lodge Pine Grove on line. The information you kindly provided Expedia readers is most valuable. We would certainly be most pleased to see you again and if we can help with your accommodation arrangements, please let us know. Kerry Page Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michelfrom St Calixte

Tres bonne nuit

Posted Nov 8, 2014 
Tres bon acceuil et bon service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Kingston ON

Good value for the price

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Price, staff friendly, quiet, clean enough.
Cons: Hair dryers in rooms.
Location: Really nothing nearby. Only one real place to eat - The Diner. Great food really lousy service - I mean really lousy.
No complaints (except no hair dryer - too tired to ask front desk). Room was fine, a little tired but had been updated with AC, fridge etc. very quiet overnight even though close to I81. Good place to stay on the way south or north. Front desk staff very friendly and seemed interested. All in all, worth the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2015 by Kerry AGM, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, Great review! - and thank you for it and for pointing your positive experiences of our facilities and services. As the saying goes you cannot please all of the people all of the time and we are aware of it, but a sincere and objective review like yours gives us necessary “fuel” and energy to keep on doing what we are all here to do and that is; make our guests’ experience in Econo Lodge Pine Grove one they can remember with a smile on their face. Thank you again for being our guest and who knows if you are ever back in Pine Grove, PA, we would like to see you again! Kerry Page Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2014 
Location and price were key decision factors. Not the prettiest hotel I've stayed in, but that's considered in the pricing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Kerry AGM, Hotel Management
Dear Guests Many thanks for taking time to share your thoughts regarding your stay with us at the Econo Lodge Pine Grove on line. The information you kindly provided Hotel.com readers is most valuable. We would certainly be most pleased to see you again if your travels bring you our way. Yours sincerely Kerry Page Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2014 
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2015 by Kerry AGM, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the 4 star review. We hope that you decide to stay with us in the future if your travels bring you in the Pine Grove area. Sincerely, Kerry Page Assistant General Manager
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

dont bother

Posted Oct 22, 2014 
After 11pm their isnt even any employees there...entire hotel smelled moldy...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Kerry AGM, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, Thank you on your review and on pointing out issues which have influenced your overall impression of your stay with us. We are sincerely sorry that a generally positive impression you could have gained during your stay with us was hindered by your experience. I have checked the entire hotel areas and could find no evidence of moldy causing odors that you encountered. We do have employees living on the property 24/7 for hotel and guest security. There is someone available at all times of the day and night. Please know customer satisfaction is extremely important to us, and we are sorry that our service failed to meet your expectations. Kerry Page Assistant General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Philipfrom Middletown Va

Good location for charity event

Posted Oct 21, 2014 
Stayed here for the 4wheel to heal 2014 event Ok room bed not very comfotable though
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Kerry AGM, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, Thank you on your review and on pointing out issues which have influenced your overall impression of your stay with us. It is very difficult to please everyone ~we try ~ but sometimes it just is not possible. Some guests prefer the hard type of mattress and some the softer style and many are in between. I do appreciate your review and I will take it into consideration when we purchase new bedding. Thank you for choosing the Econo Lodge Pine Grove and if on your next travels to Rausch Creek, we look forward to seeing you again! Yours sincerely Kerry Page Assistant General Manager