Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Georgia

Run don't stay here.

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: get the musty smell out of the rooms. see above...
Location: Great bar/restaurant next door...Hurricanes.
The place stunk to high heaven. room smelled very musty and was over powering. Microwave didn't work and requested it to be replaced on first day. It never was. The air conditioner was so loud I had to leave it off to sleep. The wireless signal in the room was so slow and bad I couldn't ever use it. The remote to the TV was so bad it took 10 seconds every time you changed a channel. One of the worst rooms I have ever had. The only thing going for this place is the location and the bar next door and the jogging path in front. The bed was pretty comfortable and staff was very friendly but that was it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Apollo Beach Fla

Like the facility and the staff was very nice and

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: Yes, enlarge the sign in front. Somewhat difficult to see from the road especially at night.
Location: Mt Dora is filled with restaurants, craft shops and train and boat rides. Great destination.
Everything was nice. Breakfast was good and filing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by C.Ball, Hotel Management
Greetings, Thank you so much for the awesome comments and we hope to have you two return to our lovely hotel. Sincerely, Candice Ball Admin Asst.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boca Raton

Comfortable , nice free breakfast

Posted Feb 10, 2015
All good except A/C was really noisy Staff was great
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by C.Ball, Hotel Management
Greetings, I want to thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to tell us how we are doing. I am sorry the A/C was loud and I will make sure this problem will be handled swiftly. We hope to see you again. :) Sincerely, Candice Ball Admin Asst.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Janetfrom Delaware

a little above average - not exceptional

Posted Dec 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
a little above average; not exceptional
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2015 by Pia B, Hotel Management
Good Morning Janet. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I would really appreciate it if you could reach out to me personally to let me know what would make the difference for you next time you stay with us. We endeavor to be a property of excellence, and I take any critique very seriously because I feel it will always help us to improve. Thank you so much for staying with us. Pia Brenan Asst. General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Preslyn Mfrom Wesley Chapel, FL.

Stay again

Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
We realy enjoyed our stay. Every one there was nice and we felt very comfortable. We enjoyed the free breakfest. The room was very clean. I loved the bed and pillows I did not take my pillows out of our car. We will stay here again if we get over that way.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2015 by Pia B, Hotel Management
Greetings Preslyn, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and felt comfortable in your home away from home. Please come and see us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Randyfrom indialantic, fl

great place.

Posted Dec 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
visited for a short trip great place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2015 by Pia B, Hotel Management
Good Morning Randy, We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you back in the area soon. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: online booking
Cons: nothing
Location: business trip so this was close to where I needed to be
The location was convenient and the staff were very nice. I slept great as the bed was very comfortable. Clean and a great breakfast as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2014 by Pia B, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Our guests are extremely important to us, and we really endeavor to make our Hotel your home away from home. Comfort and cleanliness are an important aspect of that, and we are glad that you accept no less.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Marcelofrom Spring Hill, FL

Very pleasant

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
We booked the night to see the Christmas lights in Mt. Dora. The choices in this area seemed really grim, so we selected the best rated of the choices offered. Both my spouse and I have birthdays in December, when the staff found out they upgraded our room to a suite, which was very nice of them to do. However, we had booked a room with a king bed and the suite had two doubles - not very comfortable due to sheer size. There was a vast selection of pillows, all marked firm to soft which I loved. The shower was nice and the room was clean. The staff was very pleasant and professional. I would not have one single complaint if we had a king bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2015 by Pia B, Hotel Management
Dear Marcelo, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites Tavares. Your comments served as a wonderful learning tool for the staff, as we reviewed how an honest attempt at doing something really special for the guest needs to have every detail secured to absolutely hit the mark. Ensuring that you had a King Bed in your upgraded room would have been the icing on the cake. Great lesson for us, and the staff will be even more attentive thanks to your observation. Very important and very appreciated. We hope to have you back very soon as our guest. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: very clean
Cons: air conditioner made a lot of noise
Location: we were visiting friends Downtown Mount Dora was nice
Very pleasant stay the staff was very nice and kept the breakfast full
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2014 by Pia B, Hotel Management
We really appreciate your nice comments about our Hotel, and are glad we could be of service to you and your family. Please come again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Marilyn

Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2015 by Pia B, Hotel Management
Thank you for giving us three stars. As well as the rating, any suggestions that you may have to help us in our endeavor to be the best possible choice for our guests are welcomed and taken very seriously. We hope to have you back as our guest very soon!