Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Needs a major upgrade!

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Area it is located in.
Cons: Everything
We didn't stay, the room was awful. It looks like your grandmothers bedroom. No internet, only in the lobby, so if you like sitting in lobby it should be ok. It is in a nice area which was a shame that it is so out dated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robb from Orlando, FL

Idyllic lakeside retreat.

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: Lakeside setting, large room, Sunday brunch.
Cons: Parking was limited
Location: Harris Chain of lakes...boating tours, seaplane excursions, fishing Mt. Dora...restaurants, antique shops, sidewalk festivals Tavares...train tours
Spent the day cruising the Harris chain, six restaurants on five lakes in four cities. The Gilbert Park boat ramp on Lake Dora is within walking distance of The Lakeside Inn. Large clean room with dark hardwood furniture coupled with light Key West colors. So much to do...we'll be back!
1 out of 5
by Donuts from Boston, MA

Lovely on Lake Location

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything! Cleanliness, food, service, major upgrades to rooms, ie furniture, linens, amenities.
Location: Great location! Short walking distance to town, art galleries, shops, restaurants, churches,
Grounds and main building looked lovely. Grounds were groomed and located on large lake. Out buildings to main Inn looked fine on the outside but inside were drab, smelled of mildew, old, uncomfortable and uninviting. No elevators, no room service, dusty, and dirty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by George from N.J.

My wrong choice of available rooms

Posted Jan 25, 2014
Pros: It's quaint and, right on Lake Dora
Cons: Breakfast buffet was expensive and juice and coffee was extra. Strange.
Location: Historic Mt. Dora is a beautiful town right out of the entrance to the hotel. Several coffee shops and restaurants within walking distance
Do to budget constraints I chose the least expensive room available. There was no dresser in the room and no vanity in the bathroom. It was winter and heat was supplied by a small but, efficient space heater. It made me nervous when I left the room so I unplugged it. As the grounds were so nice we looked at other rooms before checking out. We will be going back to the Lakeside but, I will not pinch pennies next time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Marie from Pembroke Pines, Fl

Great Location

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location, beautiful view of Lake. Loved the porch with rocking chairs.They should take out carpets and leave hardwood floors. Carpets in bad shape.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Troy from Orlando

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Average hotel in a nice area

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Pros: Just next to a beautiful lake and scenic downtown
Not much to say. The hotel seemed pretty from outside, including the bar and food areas. We were very disappointed with the room. Very small room, and had a unpleasant smell as if someone had just slept in the room an hour ago. We knew that the hotel was very old, but still the rooms can be better cleaned up and refreshed. The wireless was horrible, and T.V set was very old.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sarasota, FL

Disappointed

Posted Dec 25, 2013
Pros: The proximity to the center of town. We could walk to find a restaurant for dinner, etc.
Cons: The hotel needs some tender loving care. For example, the main lobby bannisters need to be refurbished as well as the rooms.
Location: The hotel is located in a lovely spot: on the lake, near shops, easy access to the center of town. The grounds are lovely. Not much else to do.
The Lakeside Inn was not what we expected. We thought we were going to a quiet B & B. Instead, we found ourselves at a large, old hotel. The proximity to the center of town was its best feature. The hotel needs upgrading. Our room was at the end of the hall, rather small & old. The cleanliness was minimal. We have stayed at other older hotels (turn of the century types, 20th century) & they have added modern amenities which this has not done. The bathroom needed a good scrubbing (grout, etc).