Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty views and close shopping and dining

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Keep in mind the hotel is old, but that is what I like about it. Rooms were clean. We waited almost an hour for our food at brunch but it was good, not great. Sunset cruise was enjoyable. I recommend taking the cruise. Also recommend getting the lake view room. Overall a B
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to downtown Mt. Dora

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Wedding tent blocked view of lake, bummer. Wait staff was slow, across the board.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eddie from Raleigh, NC

Historic hotel in a great location

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: It could use some updating.
Location: Good location, close to historic downtown and on the lake.
It is an old, historic hotel that could use a little more updating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jim from seminole, FL

Nice relaxing weekend

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: You can sit on the porch overlooking Lake Dora and just relax in a rocker or have breakfast or lunch outside.
Cons: Some buildings are being renovated but did not appear to interfere with our stay.
Location: Boat tours of Lake Dora, Ghost walking tour or the open train ride to Tavares, the weekend train is an actual steam locomotive which is exciting.
The Inn is located within walking distance of downtown Mount Dora. The shops and restaurants are unique.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Debbie from Altamonte Springs

Fabulous Stay.

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: The ambiance and the rocking chairs.
Cons: The exterior could use some updating but we understand that is in progress.
Location: If course there's shopping. Tours are available and evening entertainment is just a few steps away. However, relaxation is the the key.
We chose Lakeside Inn for our Anniversary Weekend. It was apparently booked for a Porsche Event so it was very busy and we could not check in at 3. However, because of the problem, we were upgraded to a beautiful room at no extra cost. The on-duty manager was wonderful and the staff in the lounge Saturday night and for outside seating Sunday morning were terrific. The pool sparkled, the room was spotless and we were so relaxed it was hard to say goodbye. We enjoyed it so much we are going back for Father's Day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Shannon W. from Tampa, FL

Great Weekend Getaway!

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
We just got back from our overnight stay at the Lakeside Inn. We will definitely be going back. It was such a lovely, old hotel. It had a charm that you just don't get with chain hotels. We ate a couple of meals there which were just wonderful. The staff was so nice and everything was so clean. We have no complaints at all. It is an older hotel so if you are looking for a modern feel, this is not the place to be. We had a fabulous time and can not wait to return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Patty from Indiana

Vacation

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
The only few bad thing I have to say is the town shuts down too early and there's nothing to do in the evening other then eat. Bar pool was never open . Front deck clerks weren't very helpful .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert from The Villages

Within walking to all resturents.

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very old ane a little run down but comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler from Camberley UK

Beautiful location

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful old hotel overlooking the lake. Wonderful location for a few days away. If you are looking for a hotel with modern facilities, coffee makers and fridges in the room ( not in ours) The Lakeside Inn is not for you. What it does have is an abundance of character, wonderful floorboards in large rooms with high ceilings. Our bathroom was quite dated but clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. All the staff were very friendly and I must mention the receptionist who went out of her way to make me a cup of tea. The pool over looked the lake and had a pool bar. Our breakfast was excellent with a very good choice. We will certainly go back. I understand that some of the rooms are being modernised, but either way we will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Steven from Sarasota

just lovely

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you want to just get away for a couple days, somewhere quiet, maybe take a boat out, enjoy some old shops, quaint places, then this is the place. Lovely hotel first class staff and worth every dime. Don't think about staying anywhere else