Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: apart from the problems with our rooms, the remainder of the hotel was pretty good
Cons: more info on hotel facilities. sink in the bathroom!
The initial impression of the two rooms we booked, were the room was large and had one double bed. Upon closer inspection we found that the heated towel rail in the bathroom did not work, nor did the heat lamp. The dressing table cupboards looked as if there had previously been a fridge inside which had now been removed, leaving the cupboard unsightly. Lighting in the room was very poor. Half the remains of a trouser press were evident in the specially designed enclosure. We had booked this hotel, due to a wedding we were attending at the same place. Our expedia rate of £89 room only had originally seemed very good. However, there was a wedding guest rate of £59 with breakfast for a 2 double bedded room , which was very annoying as when we tried to transfer our booking over to this we were told we could not. So we ended up paying higher rate for lower standard room. There was no hotel guide in the bedroom to tell you what time or where breakfast was served or general information about the other facilities at the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Needed a hotel close to work in Hinkley.

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Arrived on the hottest day for 30 years and was delighted with the air conditioning in the public areas. Sadly, not so good in the rooms. Very nice evening meal. This is a very, very big hotel. Be prepared to walk a long way to your room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham UK

Really Surprised

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Had a great overnight stay was so much better than I thought it was going to be.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northumberland

Spacious, comfortable and surprisingly quiet

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Well sound proofed. Lots of kids running around and a wedding party going on but couldn't tell from the bedrooms.
Cons: Drinks could be better value.
Location: Easy to get to
By and large very good. Lobby and bar area very pleasant & spacious. Comfortable, well sound proofed rooms- not too much noise despite being busy with a lot of kids running havoc. Burger in the bar was excellent. Only thing which was a slight downer was having to wait around for about 15 minutes at the bar (only one of the two bars open) along with a handful of other guests waiting for bar staff to appear. This was 8.30pm on a Saturday night. One member of staff came behind the bar, filled a teapot and wandered off without even acknowledging any of us. Eventually got served (no apology or explanation for keeping everyone waiting) and reluctantly paid a tenner for a glass of wine and a bottle of cider.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Banbury, oxfordshire

convenient and comfortable

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: The location is good. A very impressive hotel with staff very friendly and pleased to help in any way.
Cons: The doors seem to slam shut which can be annoying especially at night
Location: Its near my family. We do go to Barnacles restaurant occasionally for a change which is just over the road
Very warm and helpful greeting on arrival, eager to please. Have stayed here a few times and don't have any complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sandra from KIBWORTH Leicester

excellent hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel excellent. Very warm welcome especially from Bernard hotel manager. Rooms very clean and well furnished. Facilities excellent. Food brill. Overall 11out of10.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Susan from Hong Kong

Few days in Hinckley

Posted Apr 12, 2015 on Hotels
Clean and comfortable. We were just there for a few days. Bar seemed to be closed whenever we wanted to go for a drink. Nice breakfast. All in all a pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Joli hotel bonnes prestations un peu bruyant

Posted Apr 8, 2015 on Hotels
4 jours entre birmingham et leicester .bel Hotel , service super, personnel sympathique , très bonne pizza au bar, petit déjeuner un peu cher près de 15 livres dommage que tous les bruits de couloir s'entendent si fort dans les chambres .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Hotel really nice and comfort but found wifi to be slow in part we stayed otherwise it was well worth it
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rosemary from leicester

20th Century Hotel in need of 21st Century update

Posted Mar 16, 2015 on Hotels
Room 276 the Bathroom was freezing because neither the towel rail nor the room heater were working. Staff seemed to be either untrained or working in the wrong area. Breakfast was the best part,staff there were good. Customers are expected to walk a long distance to the rooms - which might be inconvenient for some.