Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Good in parts

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Pool, size of bedroom, free parking, flexible check out time
Cons: Restaurant, leisure centre changing facilities
Location: Splendid restaurant just across the road.Judy
Mostly the hotel was quite good, but what lets it down is the restaurant. Sunday night menu was ok, but Monday night menu was exactly the same but with several of the items no longer available. The restaurant manager told us it was because the executive chef was having a bad day! No apology. Waiting staff were nice but young and inexperienced. Several conferences and weddings all going on at the same time meant a lot of comings and goings. Reception staff seemed unsure of what they were doing and I was told 'we've got a lot of new staff'. Short man in pink tie (the Hotel Manager?) seemed completely uninterested in what was going on around him. I was allowed to stay an extra hour for late check out (12pm). The non-English speaking maid came in at 11.20 and rolled her eyes when I pointed to my watch and said I'd be out at 12.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pauline from Lancashire

Stayed for two nights for a wedding

Posted May 19, 2014
Lovely time.....but the bar prices increased as the night went on, even for the same drinks. My husband questioned this but the bar person just shrugged their shoulders. Otherwise we had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay from Friday till Sunday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anna from Blackpool

Pleasant stay, good location

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Modern look, location, breakfast, pool area.
Location: Good location just off the A5, in two days we visited Twycross Zoo, Bosworth Battlefield and visitors centre, Dudley to watch Jimmy Carr.
The hotel was in a perfect location for our short trip to the Midlands to see family. The facilities were good. We enjoyed using the leisure facilities although there were children in the pool later than the rules stated, so the dip wasn't as relaxing as it could have been. The spa pool was out of order which was disappointing, but understandable, as work has to be done on the upkeep of the facilities. The breakfast was lovely, lots of choice. The hotel caters primarily for conferences and weddings, and sometimes we felt we were encroaching on the wedding parties, as it was very much 'their hotel', but for a couple of nights and as we went out most of the time, this didn't bother us as much as it could have if we had stayed at the hotel. The room was nice and clean. The staff were polite and helpful. The stay was excellent value for money. We would definitely consider staying here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel OK. Bed terrible.

Posted May 15, 2014
Stayed one night in the hotel. Friendly staff, and the hotel does not seem awful. However, the room, though pretty large, was let down by stains on the furniture- but most importantly- an absolutely awful bed. I did not sleep the whole night. I do expect that this is a one-off, and that most customers won't have this problem. However, it's the basics that count the most for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from Newcastle

shame about the party

Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
lovely hotel, beautiful food breakfast was alittle cold. service was nice and friendly. wouldnt need anything else from a hotel. only problem we had was a wedding party on the second night led to very noisy neighbours at 2.30 in the morning next door and above. overall excellent shame you cant pick your nieghbours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Martin from Liverpool

Good Hotel but so busy....

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Rooms, and swim pool when available/ Good breakfast
Cons: Better advertise any restrictions resulting from number of guests particularly in pool. Create better separation between room access and functions
Location: Twycross Zoo, National Space Centre
Booked three nights (Thurs to Sat) with grandkids on the basis that it had swimming pool and offered free tickets for three out of five local attractions. Big room reached from reception by walking past conference rooms, an impressive three floor "hall" off which five corridors had the bedrooms. Children loved the pool on night of arrival and a visit to Twycross Zoo the following day. But then it got busy... A Ford awards ceremony meant the place was heaving. More importantly to return to rooms we had to walk (or rather push) with children through their drinks reception (at 7PM) to get to corridor, and back through to get out of hotel. The next day breakfast was busy we went out to the excellent national space centre, and returned for a swim in the pool to be told swimming was fully booked for the rest of the day and that people should have been told a booking procedure was operating. We weren't and lost out, being able to have a swim was one of the reasons to choose this hotel. At least two coachloads of overnight guests had arrived, a young rugby team practising in the corridor above etc, and a very busy breakfast. In general it was OK. Breakfast was busy but quality did not suffer. So although quite annoyed with the unannounced booking system for the pool, and the potential for being stuck in your bedroom or fight through a sea of suits, it is worth considering this hotel. But be prepared for it to be very busy!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Maria from Leicester

Good location, too busy 4 good customer service

Posted Apr 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good location, nice layout, good leisure facilities. Poor customer service, often a queue at reception, wrong orders for food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by pangela from ledbury

good conference hotel

Posted Mar 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
was ok. Nice large room with 2 large beds in. everything you need. The only comment I would have that slightly negative is the room has a view of a blank wall. perhaps they could improve the outlook by tidying up with painting the wall and add a few pots or something pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Good amenities. Very pleasant staff.

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Pleasantness of staff. Food. Amenities. Local surroundings.
Cons: Hot water in shower could have been warmer
Location: Visited Battle of Bosworth historical site.
Easy to get to from motorway. Had stayed before and wanted similar room so Reception were very accommodating in re-allocating our room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Mar 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was okay, rather impersonal though. Gym is awful old dodgy equipment. Evening meal took more than 45min to arrive, not impressed.