Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Harrogate

Good hotel convenient for Leicester and the M1

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: Good food served by hardworking well trained and attentive staff. Cheerful receptionists.
Very pleasant staff. Good attention to detail and food in the restaurant was very good and well presented. Second time I have stayed there and it is getting better each time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Devon

great spot handy for Leicester

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: love the character and history
Cons: Wheat beer in the bar, I like a glass of real ale, but my choice of pre dinner drink tends towards the wheat beer, Hoegarten, or Leffe would be great
Location: Near Leicester & Loughborough and if that is where you want to be this is the spot you need to stay in, for those surfers out there, it's not for you!
A great hotel, steeped in history, very nice food in the restaurant, well done Sydney, probably the best hotel breakfast I have had in the UK, eggs Benedict cooked to perfection and lashings of hollandaise , Earlier reports would have had me believe that I could expect loud noisy guests attending weddings, but despite staying on a Saturday it was a blissful nights sleep, speedy and efficient book in and helpful friendly staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Surrey

Paper thin walls

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Checking in, and sound proofing the rooms.
We arrived late in the evening so just wanted to check in and go to our room. We were given our key (room 33) and even though the check in slip said room 26 I didn't question it. We had to go to another building for our room. It was only across the car park but still seemed a little strange. When we got to our room we found we had twin beds when I'd specifically booked a double. And then at 5am we were woken up by the people next door. They had a baby and babies cry - that's fine and I accept that. But the parents were having a conversation at what seemed like a normal volume, and we could hear every word of it, so clearly the walls in this out building are a joke. We then thought as we're up we'd go for breakfast as soon as it started. We were told at check-in it started at 7am, but actually it started at 8am. To be fair the breakfast was very nice, and the staff in the morning were very helpful and apologetic about the person who checked us in the night before. I wouldn't stay here again though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Understaffed

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Could not open room window because it had been overpainted.
Location: steam railway.
plenty of staff in restaurant but difficult to get attention in the bar or reception.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice Rooms with Good Food

Posted Sep 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had a large room in the seperate accommodation block. Short walk from main hotel. Good food in a nice setting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dawidfrom Ashford

Thank you

Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great old hotel, location, food - I will recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous hotel. Fantastic service.

Posted Sep 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel grounds and building beautiful. Friendly welcome and helpful staff. Food was very good including a fantastic breakfast. good location for business in Leicester with onsite parking. Will definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable hotel in a lovely setting

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Setting, gardens and the room.
Cons: Crispier bacon!
Location: It was easy to find from the M1.
We stayed here for our friends wedding. The room was brilliant, very comfortable bed with nice decoration. Definitely better than a 3*! Breakfast was ok, cold food was buffet and the hot breakfast was made to order. They also catered for gluten free guests which was great. Drinks at the hotel were very reasonable too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Toppenfint ställe !

Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Charmigt hotell med trevlig personal. En liten tätort i närheten erbjuder restauranger och pubar om man önskar variera hotellets utbud.