Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michaelfrom Newmarket

Places to visit

Posted Feb 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
The hotel is extremely nice and we would thoroughly recommend it. If you are a gardener then you must visit Barnsdale Gardens (which were developed by Geoff Hamilton) - we discovered this from the guide at Oakham Castle. Also there are two very nice Antique centres in Uppingham. Since getting home we've enjoyed our Melton Mowbray pork pie purchased from the butcher near Chapel Street car park.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Run down room and flies everywhere

Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels.com
My husband and I stayed here in October 2014. Whilst the surroundings are gorgeous, we were sorely unimpressed by our stay. The rooms have lots of character but are a little grotty and could do with a good clean and update. We were surprised at the run-down condition considering the high cost of the room. However, the worst aspect of our stay was the flies. There were at least 10 flies in the room, buzzing around all night when we were trying to sleep. It was totally disgusting. I complained about this in the morning and the staff told me that this was a common complaint- apparently the flies are a result of local farming practices. When I asked if they were able to compensate for the flies (especially as they had known about the problem and not even pre-warned us or done anything to get rid of the flies) they told me the manager was not on duty and advised me to call back on a weekday (we stayed over a weekend). When I called back, I politely relayed all of the above to the manager who (fairly bluntly) told me that the flies were a natural phenomenon and there was nothing they could do about them. I was not at all impressed with this response and would not recommend this hotel on the basis that it is massively overpriced, especially if you're sharing your room with flies! I've had better nights' sleep and better customer service at budget hotels!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by joshxs

One night away from it all.

Posted Aug 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have to say that I was very impressed with the whole experience of the Stapleford Park Hotel. The exterior of the building is simply stunning, you cannot fail to be impressed. The check in experience was swift and faultless, our room was decorated to a high standard; my only gripe was the lack of a bath, but a decent shower made up for this in someway. Dinner was on the expensive side, it was worth the cost however. Cooked to perfection and delightfully presented. Portions are not generous, big eaters may struggle. I would stay here again, perhaps for a weekend next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mr and Mrs Sfrom UK

Difficult to get food bookings

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
We booked our stay here but initially found it very difficult to get reservations for lunch and afternoon tea. It seems many visitors were booking these services up and there was little availability for residents. Fortunately once we had arrived the staff managed to find reservations for everything we needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steve Adamsfrom Market Harborough

Relaxing and quiet

Posted May 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Service was nice and lovely area for walking or riding. Good facilities and fantastic food. Not the cheapest venue but worth what you paid for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Olifrom UK

Love love love this hotel

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
What a great hotel! Friendly and helpful staff and a beautiful setting. The grounds are stunning and the facilities are fantastic. Really good food in the restaurant. Just go!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Juhingefrom Nottingham

Romantic break

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a wonderful one night stay at this hotel. The room was lovely and the staff attentive. Would stay here again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by stevefrom london

lovely old house

Posted Feb 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
a little tired, but staff generally friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Spa
by Spa guestfrom St albans

Getaway

Posted Aug 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
I'm fortunate to stay in many slhw hotels. This would not be at the top by some way. Beautiful surroundings but the hotel was lacking. I found it because we wanted a spa break, but then could not get any treatments on the Sunday, booking a week out and limited on the Monday. Spa lovely.