Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East yorkshir

Spot on

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Really comfortably spacious best nights sleep in any hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Sleek, convenient but has its flaws

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Beautifully clean, modern and contemporary but being a Holiday Inn has its drawbacks...namely the other guests. We experienced several bad nights' sleep due to a raucous wedding party replete with totally unruly screaming kids and adults who obviously have no idea how to shut a door quietly or do it just the once. People repeatedly knocking on and banging doors throughout the night, combined with an overly squishy mattress that made us both roll into the middle didn't give us much peace. Also, as with every other hotel I've stayed in, the strip of almost blinding light that comes under the doors, flashing smoke detectors and rolling LED on the TV (ok, you can turn that one off) is enough to keep anyone awake. Didn't experience breakfast, so can't comment on food or service. Location is superb though and the entire Sports Village is a credit to Leigh itself.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Local hotel.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Convenient to our visit
Cons: Improved matresses, ventilation and sound proofing, room location restricted because of heavy booking.
Location: Near to family party address. Good parking adjacent to hotel. Good signage from Leigh
Visiting family in the area for an afternoon party. The hotel was the nearest to the event and we did not need to take the car or taxi. Alcoholic drinks were to be consumed and we did not want to "drink and drive". The Hotel was heavily booked due to a Rugby event taking place in the sports stadium. We were allocated a room at the rear of the hotel, adjacent to a busy, noisy road and needed to keep all windows sealed so we could have a peaceful night. The matresses were very soft and uncomfortable. Breakfast was available at a price- not B & B as we expected. Given a choice we would not use this hotel again
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by Kris, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of the hotel and I am glad that the location of the hotel was convenient for your evening entertainment. Being so close to your destination and to the major roads which connect Leigh to Lancashire and Manchester City Centre some traffic noise is to be expected from the rooms close to the main road. All guests when booking are given the option of a room only or bed and breakfast rate. Guests who choose room only are still able to purchase breakfast in the morning should they wish.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedford, UK

Very comfortable hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Nice big rooms, comfortable beds, air-con in room
Cons: Service of the staff, but they do seem to have a high turnover at this hotel.
Location: Good location, fairly quiet if you get a room away from the main road, Whistling Wren pub nearby (cheaper than hotel) and a Morrison's.
I use this hotel every month for work (since November), it is clean, comfortable. Only problem I had was waiting for service at reception and there was someone in front of me who was not being serviced whilst an employee was round the back counting money out which seemed more important than serving customers at the counter. Then I saw a manager who had been round the back all the time whilst we were waiting so that was a bit annoying.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Crap breakfast

Posted Aug 2, 2014
£10 for a very poor quality breakfast better value at morrisons
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by Kris, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I'm very sorry that you did not enjoy the Express Start Breakfast which is offered at the hotel. Unfortunately try as we may we cannot please every guest but welcome and thank you for your feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by thowra from Western Australia

Excellent stopover

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had an excellent stopover and the hotel was very comfortable .... we are from Western Australia and it was a good place to have a break for us .... thanks ... :-)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by richard from leigh

Nice hotel but noisey

Posted Jun 16, 2014
The room we stayed in was nice clean and comfortable and a decent price, but the fire alarm went of twice in 2 days, for no reason, the road traffic was very noisey, and the rugby was also very loud, the room was too warm even with the windows open and no access to a fan,
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Debbie from Edinburgh

Great service

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel, bed a little uncomfortable, lot of roll together, and little holes in sheets, not the best quality bedding. Overall good stay with good service and lovely food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by abusinesstraveller from Worthing

Just what I needed

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Only possible criticism (and I'm really scraping the barrel here) would be the breakfast buffet plates were ridiculously small! I had to take two plates, they were only big enough for toast.