Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Josephfrom Pittsburgh

VMI Weekend

Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Football weekend in Lexington VA. Only hotel left. Kind of a dump.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Thomasfrom Pa.

Terrible

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Terrible..would never recommend to anyone..This should be deleted from Hotels.com list!! Smelly, dirty, and sheets were not clean. We complained to the front desk, but got no results!! Stay clear of here..drive on by!!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Maryland

Parents Weekend Stay

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Not too much
Cons: Most things - room smell, amenities (1960 style hair dryer was duct taped together). Continental breakfast, cleanliness (old mattresses in park lot)
Stayed one night as this was the only room available in the town of Lexington (Parents weekend). Festivities were enough to increase room rates in excess of 200%. Not a problem until you feel like you overpaid for poor accomodations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Baltimore MD

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: The view is beautiful and the access to Washington & Lee is very convenient!
Staff was very courteous. The room was clean although it was showing some wear and tear.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Solid Value

Posted Sep 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was not the single greatest hotel I've ever stayed at, but it was worth what i paid for it. Rooms were clean and service was good. My only complaint would be with the physical condition/design of the hotel--it was really difficult, for example, to find outlets to plug in anything, even traditional items like the iron. But overall a good stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Jerk swindler hotel manager

Posted Sep 14, 2014
The manager threatened to charge us $100 if my friend walked into the room with us, because I had only registered 2 guests. She was camping at the horse center and I offered her the shower in our hotel room. When I told the manager this he said that she would be considered an unregistered guest and I had to give him $10. I argued with him for quite awhile that someone that was going to be in the room for less than 15 minutes was not considered a guest, but he refused to listen. The room was also supposedly non smoking and wreaked of smoke and there were tiles in the bathroom that literally fell of and were just laying there. The breakfast was pathetic: 2 kinds of cereal and little Debbie's. I don't recommend this hotel because it supports a hotel business that doesn't respect its guests.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ednafrom Cincinnati

Disgusting.

Posted Aug 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy. I arrived in the room at midnight to find: 1) a dead spider colony under the sink. 2) Unwrapped/used soap on the sill of the bathtub. 3) Makeup stains on the folded towels. 4) makeup stains on all but one pillowcase. 5) mysterious white stains on the green blanket. 6) A large hole in one of the wall panelings that I can only assume is what the spiders ventured through to get to my room. As I had driven 7 hours to get to this Bates motel replica, I couldn't get up the energy to complain so I got a dusty bedraggled blanket I keep in my car (a habit born from growing up in frosty michigan) and laid that over the blankets and caught a few hours of sleep. Never would I ever ever recommend this place to anyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom massachusetts

Very nice owner

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Staff
Location: Close to universities
I was warmly welcomed by the owner. The room was comfortable the only drawback was the older condition of the room, but I was told they were in the process of updating the rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MA

Nice hotel. Quiet area.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: It was in a quiet area and the price was reasonable.
We were very pleased with our room. The bed was very comfortable and everything was clean and fresh. We would stay there again.