Ratings based on 292 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hershey, PA

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Lobby bar, brasserie
Cons: Front desk attitude
In downtown with all of the Xmas hoopla. Nicest hotel in Lille.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Paris

Beau potentiel mal exploité.

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: Le cadre ancien revu en moderne est très agréable.
Cons: Rendre le wi-fi en libre accès. A ce niveau d'hôtel c'est incompréhensible qu'il faille payer en plus. Côté amateur de l'accueil à professionnaliser.
Location: Musée des beaux arts, centre ville piéton (ou presque).
Chambre agréable mais de dimensions réduites pour deux. Salle de bain prévue pour un et non deux.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kent, UK

Luxurious and comfortable hotel in great location

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: The hotel was superb, great, friendly staff, very comfortable room and interesting history attached to the hotel with lovely lobby and bar area.
My daughter and I stayed here for one night in order to visit Lille and the Christmas market. The hotel was superb and is in a great location, being just a 10 minute walk to the old town. The only disappointment (nothing to do with the hotel) was that we expected the Christmas market to be bigger than it was. Luckily though, there is a great shopping area in Lille and lovely buildings in the old part, so all was not lost, but I won't be recommending the Christmas market to my friends. I would definitely recommend this hotel though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Please see above.
Cons: Please see above.
We have stayed here before about six years ago. It is a lovely place and the staff are extremely pleasant. The restaurant is great, if expensive. Wonderful sommelier. Room is OK but no drawer space and no mirror in the bedroom, which seems strange, so have to use the bathroom which has two. TV channels quite restricted compared to other hotels. No problem for me but an irritation for my other half! Breakfast also very expensive compared to other hotels of comparable quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Superbe accueil, bâtiment historique,

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: La localisation, dans un coin calme de Lille, à 10 mn à pied du centre. Le lieu historique et les collections de peinture, le bar et le petit dej
Cons: plus de personnel à l'accueil
Location: J'y étais pour visiter les maisons folies, la gare saint sauveur, le vieux Lille et le tri postal, et je recommande vivement !
Nous avons été surclasses dans une chambre superbe ... Mais le chauffage ne fonctionnant pas, nous avons demandé un radiateur qui nous a été livres. Puis en revenant du dîner, la télécommande est introuvable, il a fallu aussi aller demander à l'accueil ... Petits détails agaçants dans un hôtel de ce niveau. Petit déjeuner excellent et copieux ... Produits de toilette agréables.... Et le personnel du restaurant vraiment charmant car nous nous sommes,pointes au petit déjeuner après l'heure limite et nous avons été accueillis très gentiment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2014 by Christophe, Hotel Management
Vous avez séjourné récemment à l’Hermitage Gantois Autograph Collection et vous en remercions. Vous nous faites partager votre expérience et je vous en remercie, votre avis nous est précieux. Vous avez apprécié notre qualité de service, c'est une véritable récompense pour l'ensemble des collaborateurs de l'hôtel. Dans l’attente du plaisir de vous accueillir de nouveau, je vous renouvelle mes remerciements. Très Cordialement. Christophe ramaciotti Directeur Hébergement
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Great quiet and beautiful stay

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Couldn't fault it at all. As tired parents, all we wanted was a getaway for a night and a sleep in. The room was beautiful, staff were excellent (gave us a late checkout at 1pm), and it was so quiet we couldn't believe it. Only 10 minutes walk from the Eurostar station. The brasserie downstairs was good price (18 euro fir 2 course) and lovely food. Perfect getaway
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2014 by Christophe, Hotel Management
We would like to thank you very much for having chosen L’Hermitage Gantois Autograph Collection on your last stay in Lille. You have shared your experience with us and I am extremely grateful for this. Your feedback is a great value for us and I am glad to learn that our level of service has reached your expectations. Once again, thank you very much for your positive feedback and we hope we will soon have the pleasure to welcome you back at our hotel. Warm regards, Christophe Ramaciotti Room Division Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mother/daughter city break.

Posted Oct 30, 2014
We were warmly welcomed on arrival and were stunned by the history of the building. The way they have kept the original features and meshed them with modern fixtures and fittings is lovely. They gave us a bigger room with 2 single beds instead of 1 double bed which was much appreciated. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. We stuggled with turning the bedside lamps on and straight away someone was there to tell us (sounds silly but they were modern and fiddly). I would stay here again in a heart beat. Only slight complaint was that we thought that the coffee at the bar was slightly overpriced but having said that they were lovely and the little petit fours were much appreciated. Looking forward to visiting again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2014 by Christophe, Hotel Management
We would like to thank you very much for having chosen L’Hermitage Gantois Autograph Collection on your last stay in Lille. Your feedback is a great value for us and I am glad to learn that our level of service has reached your expectations. Once again, thank you very much for your positive feedback and we hope we will soon have the pleasure to welcome you back at our hotel. Warm regards, Christophe Ramaciotti Room Division manager
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Davidfrom Sweden

bad attitude

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very attractive hotel with very nasty attitude. Stuck-up and unfriendly staff and no sense of hospitality. The free wi-fi was useless - I could barely open my email never mind surf the internet. They wanted 22 euros for proper wi-fi - which is outrageous considering the price of the room. This hotel is therefore quite unsuitable for business people. Even the little bottle of water which is normally free in cheaper notes cost 6,90 euros. In the restaurant as a "table for one" guest I was given a horrible table in the middle of an empty restaurant as all the edge and window tables were reserved in case couple or groups came - none had showed up by the time I drank my coffee in the otherwise empty restaurant. When I checked no one asked how my stay was or even said good-bye. I won't be going back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel, breakfast expensive!

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel and fascinating history, the bar area and dining areas are particularly spectacular. Our only complaint was that it wasn't made clear that breakfast was charged extra, we thought this was included in our booking so were presented with a bill for an extra £80 at the end of the stay! Should have been notified at check-in or even when we arrived to eat in the morning.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Birmingham

Well-situated hotel with pretensions

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: It was well located in a quiet area and within five minutes' walk of a metro station and some nice restaurants/shops. It was also very quiet at night
Cons: The beds should be double-sized beds rather than single-sized. There should be a washbasin in the toilet room. There should be two comfortable chairs
Location: On the Rue de Paris, near a metro station and some decent restaurants/boulangeries,patisseries. It was a fifteen-minute walk to the old town centre
As I was attending a conference in Lille, I stayed at the hotel for four nights. It is a beautiful mediaeval building with a couple of nice courtyard gardens. The twin bedroom (I was visiting with my father) was clean and comfortable, reasonably spacious, and very quiet at night, but was not what I have come to expect from a five-star hotel (which is what the hotel states it is). There was a separate toilet room and bathroom, but the former had no washbasin (despite being large enough to accommodate one), so one had to leave the toilet room and then walk through the bedroom in order to wash one's hands in the bathroom. The twin beds (although comfortable) were only single-sized - this is unacceptable in a five-star hotel. There was only one comfortable chair, the shower riser arm was broken (and took a while to be fixed), there were no drawers for one's clothes - the only storage facility being a wardrobe with one shelf. There was no swimming pool or other leisure facilities (I am aware that an extension to rectify this is currently being constructed), and the buffet breakfast was overpriced at 23 euros. In both my opinion and that of my father, this is a 3 star hotel with pretensions.