Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Business oriented hotel in new section of Lilongwe

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Comfort, cleanliness of the grounds, variety of foods at the inclusive breakfast
Location: Location is away from the more "vibrant" part of Lilongwe so it's either stay on the hotel grounds (not a minus) or get transportation
The hotel staff were very responsive to requests and showed a genuine interest in ensuring a pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mussa from UK

Great Hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: The staff attitude nothing is to much trouble.
Cons: The hotel infrastructure a little tired over the years owners could with investing in a refresh.
Stayed 3 nights on this occasion , a repeat visitor to this hotel and was not disappointed. Overall very friendly courtesies staff and great food in the buffet restaurant downstairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Craig from Pretoria

Not many other choices...

Posted May 7, 2013
Hotel is ok. Nothing special. Under normal circumstances not worth the price but considering options in Lilongwe, not much other choice.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paul from Maryland

Customer service lacking

Posted Mar 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Booked a room with two beds and free internet and was given a room with one bed and no internet. Front desk staff were not helpful and refused to allow me to speak to the management until i insisted. Management team did find a room for me with two beds (one hour later) but were very rude. I did not get free internet and had to pay. The food in the one on site restaurant was good but the service staff were extremely rude and non attentive. Breakfast was included in the rate but the restaurant staff told me it wasnt and tried to charge me. Actually a nice hotel but very badly managed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from UL

OK business hotel in the centre of Lilongwe

Posted Mar 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
Room and hotel fine... no charm or style but fine for a city centre hotel. Food truly awful. Ordered a steak... took for ever to come, very tough and service levels about as bad as Africa can deliver
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from uk

Sunbird Capital Hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
Really good hotel and I feel value for money. There was some maintenance work going on which started before 8 am (This was Sunday), however, after a quick phone call the work was delayed to a more suitable hour! The manager was courteous about the matter. The room was clean, comfortable and a pleasure to stay in. As a stop gap for the airport, I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from China

Capital Hotel Lilongwe malawi

Posted Jan 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
A very pleasent stay (1 night) I'd surely be going back there. Thanks
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

mostly ok for business

Posted Dec 6, 2011 on Hotels.com
malawi tourism board gives this hotel two stars and that is more or less accurate I think, despite their efforts. The food really should be much, much, much better. I stayed here 5 years ago and it has not improved though the renovations are at least good ones, making the place more pleasant. Good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by JP from Bethesda, MD.

Excellent hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2011
Expectations were low based on Expedia reviews and hotel description. The Sunbird turns out to be an excellent hotel. It's set in spacious grounds near the Parliament complex. Accommodation (in the standard rooms) was more than adequate and facilities generally were of a high standard with two very good restaurants and a very efficient business center. The large pool area attracts a lot of people at weekends with afternoon barbeques and cocktail service. Only negative point is the quality of internet connectivity. It was not available in the rooms apparently because of a shortage of internet "card" but one free daily hour was available in the business center. Anyone who says the much more expensive Cross Roads hotel is better needs their head examined. It's tacky in comparison.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2011 on Hotels.com