Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ann from UK

Absolutely lovely

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a really lovely stay. The hotel is absolutely lovely. The building itself really is as nice as the pictures suggest - beautiful sweeping staircase, lovely open fire etc. The grounds looked really inviting. Often you see pictures of a hotel suggesting rural walks, but when you get there you see only narrow roads that you wouldn't be safe walking on. Here in contrast really does have its own spacious grounds, not to mention the river ... I am already planning a return trip - and plan to make it much longer in duration.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by julie from kent

close to family we were visiting

Posted Apr 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
fantastic location next to river, reasonable food, were upgraded to a suite which was in another building to the main hotel. Lots of space, but shower water pressure was hopeless, forget washing your hair.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tom from London

Once upon a time a great house...

Posted Apr 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
I have used Castle Oaks since 1990. It is by the river and great scenery. Unlike one of big chains it has a personal touch. However, the main house is in need of desperate modernization especially the bathroom. the fact every footsteps on the corridor can be heard is also a disturbance. hot water system needs updating so it does not become cold shower half way through. As for breakfast we needed to wait for 15 minutes as it was busy. Its a tough time for all Irish business I know but this hotel which was once praised and recommended by the Japanese ambassador (reason for the first time visit) is quickly becoming a cheap "motel" type. A real pity...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok not great but not terrible

Posted Apr 14, 2012
Our stay for 2 adults and 2 children was in one of the garden suites (room415), disappointed in the rooms - one room was clearly for disabled visitors with an adapted ensuite bathroom. I fully appreciate the need for hotels to supply this type of room but a shower head that will not go higher than 5 feet above the floor level is no good to a 6ft tall man. This bathroom also had cobwebs hanging from one of the walls and whilst not dirty had a tired feel and definitely not sparkling. The same just ok quality applied to the other rooms - they really need a good deep clean and redecoration. The sofas in the living room area are particularly uncomfortable, TVs are small and gave a poor selection of channels. We ate for one evening meal in the bar; quality of the food wasn't great - just a standard burger and chips but service was good. However it was very expensive - over 100 euro for 2 courses for 4 people with only 1 glass of wine and 1 pint of beer is excessive. Needless to say we didn't eat there the second night. Overall the phrase 'just ok' sums the whole place up, if returning to the Limerick area we will choose a different hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Castle Oaks House ....a perfect getaway

Posted Nov 14, 2011 on Hotels.com
We just spent 3 nights and enjoyed every minute . It is set in beautiful grounds and the hotel itself is gorgeous. Beautiful entrance and lovely welcoming atmosphere.....open fire and sweeping staircase add to the grand but not intimidating foyer. We had intended going to sample some of the local restaurants and bars but the barfood and staff in The Island Bar were so good we ate there every night.....the home made biscuits were just the best and Edward and John served it all with a smile.....breakfast was delish....and everything you could possibly desire was available on the buffet or to order from the kitchen. We went to Bunratty Castle and the Cliffs Of Moher so it was a great location for seeing the sights. All in all it was a really enjoyable weekend and i hope we get to come back soon....J & T
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Castle Oaks House Hotel - discover the Shannon

Posted Nov 13, 2011 on Hotels.com
I picked the Castle Oaks House Hotel because I wanted to explore that part of the country side around the river Shannon. For that, the hotel is in a great location with scenic walks along the river easily reached by footpath from the hotel. The hotel is a beautiful old country house which has been extended to provide rooms and conference / reception facilities. These look dated and not as grand as the house itself. The room I stayed in was basic but surprising quite large with plenty of floor space. It was clean, but in need of some modernisation. For example, the door uses a basic rim lock and there was clear evidence that it had been jimmied open before and nothing stopping someone from doing it again. The bathroom was small and space could have been taken from the room by adding a walk in shower. A room that has no view, such as the one I stayed in, needs extra features to make it some place the guest can enjoy. For example, comfortable armchairs. The food was good but the waiting staff disorganised which took from the over all experience. Having said all that, the hotel does not pretend to be a luxury hotel or venue in and of itself. If you are looking for a place to stay that is comfortable and unsophisticated while you explore the countryside you can't go too far wrong with the Castle Oaks House Hotel if you get a good rate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Wendy from Sacramento, CA

Wonderful hotel!

Posted Sep 6, 2011
Great hotel - lovely setting. Great bar that offered to stay open as long as they had customers (we had arrived late and were hungry and thirsty). Very helpful staff too!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bit Dissapointed

Posted Jun 8, 2011 on Hotels.com
We Booked a room for a Saturday night thinking that it was going to be in the main Hotel however when we got there we were given a room in one of the converted holiday homes which had two Bedrooms so in theory we could have been sharing with another person or couple. When we questioned this I was told that the hotel was full and this was the only available room. It was ok but nothing special. Don't think is was a 3 star standard room but the main hotel is much better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Castle oaks hotel castleconnell

Posted May 5, 2011 on Hotels.com
We had an enjoyable trip as hotel location was perfect for us with 2 small babies.Hotel located in lovely grounds and very close to village the only real problem was the walks down by the river are not suitable for people with a buggy/pram as there are gates,steep steps and no path for a lot of it which was a pity as we both would have loved to do the river walks.We were put up in an apartment which was very spacious only problem was a few of the lights were not working and sheets could have been cleaner.Hotel restaurant and bar were good value and had very nice staff. My wife also enjoyed her treatment in the spa.