Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Rosiefrom Coventry

Disappointing

Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful setting let down by dirty and scruffy rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wirral

Overnight stay

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Ideal for short stays.
Cons: Found everything fine.
Location: Beautiful area just off A1.
Booked last minute on your recommendation so did not know what to expect. Hotel beautiful listed building with picturesque grounds. Food good, would use again if in area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by KTfrom London

Traquil

Posted Sep 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was all great execpt the bed was very hard & There was no chair to sit on
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orlando

Impressive drive up

Posted Sep 22, 2014
The hotel is very impressive as you approach, with the public areas decently well kept. Our room was clean with everything as expected ---- hair dryer, tea and coffee with shortbread available, although we did have to ring for towels. I got the impression the Hall exists primarily for corporate functions, however; the staff was friendly enough but not geared for service to the independent traveler. The reception area was more of an office and set away from the main door. We had a light evening meal in the bar as the restaurant offerings were heavier than we wanted; the server took our order, delivered it, and disappeared. Well, she did walk by the hallway once, but with that complete lack of peripheral vision common amongst certain types of waitstaff. (The same held true the next morning at breakfast --- minimal staff and service with a full English served as a buffet.) It took us a while to find a member of staff; I had pen and paper out to leave a note with our room number when someone finally wandered by. As this was more than an hour until last orders, it wasn't as if it was time for them to close down. As we walked by "reception", there was a call to say that nobody was serving in the bar. Apparently they were having some employee problems, so I would still recommend the hotel as it was value for the price paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Golf
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by JBfrom Portadown

Annex

Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was very tired with a few minor faults. Get annoyed this sort of thing is not noticed nowadays. Still using bulky keys. Staff were very friendly and location is superb.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Review

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Staff, scenery, building, sports facilities and food.
Cons: Some areas of the hotel looked a little tired and in need of some TLC.
Location: Quite a bit in terms of cultural buildings - Burghley House, Belvoir Castle etc...
The ambience and location of the hotel was very pleasing indeed; lovely countryside in a tranquil setting. The staff were very helpful and did all they could to accommodate guests. However, the room was disappointing, as it was extremely small, especially the en-suite, where it was virtually impossible to dry oneself once out of the shower. The television did not work and the amenities in the room were basic and functional.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Doncaster

Hotel lovley

Posted Aug 15, 2014
No dog towl or treats in the room as stated in booklet shower mold around tray and toilet dirty under the rim swimming pool very poor changinng rooms poor need a good srub and regrout stayed three years ago and was told a refurb for pool but not yet it seems having said that would stay again as love the room and bed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Stoke Rochford

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stunning entrance and quiet location with friendly staff in all areas. Rooms in need of a little work but dinner and breakfast were excellent - great full English breakfast which set us up for the day. Would recommend to book again
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com