Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A gem in a city,the best

Posted Nov 25, 2013
I don't think I have enough adjectives to describe how wonderful this hotel is! It is like staying in a country house with the owner away, you can enjoy the lounge and library with ' honesty bars' Breakfas is so fresh - no words can describe the freshly squeezed orange juice and fruit salad which tastes as though it has just been picked! The location is perfect, walk up to the church for fantastic restaurants. The transport around is so efficient . So good we want to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 16, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alexa from Shetland UK

Beautiful hotel with friendly staff

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: It is so full of character; I have never stayed in such a beautiful hotel! The staff were so pleasant and helpful. There is an honesty bar.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: A bit away from the city centre but nice restaurants near by. Bus stop handy just outside the hotel.
The hotel was full of character and beautiful! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel doesn't do evening meals but they recommended a lovely restaurant not far away. It was such a great experience that we went there twice! We enjoyed Lisbon, the bus stop was just outside the hotel or it was about twenty minutes to walk. The only disappointment was a dishonest taxi driver who took us from the airport and charged thirty-four euros! He didn't have his meter on which we later realised was illegal. We would recommend visiting Lisbon and especially this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Our Lisbon experience

Posted Sep 30, 2013
We had found out about this hotel from various travel reviews. It was all we expected, and more. Exceptional staff, beautiful hotel , especially the library/patio overlloking the river and a wonderful breakfast in the courtyard. As some had mentioned the location was not ideal to central Lisbon, but there was easy access to both Lisbon and Belhem and restaurants in the neighborhood. No question we would stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A Jewel in Lisbon's Crown

Posted Sep 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Elegant boutique hotel with lovely amenities. Our room was perfection, a small sitting area with a daily replenished decanter of port; a charming garden for breakfast and a third floor Library with stunning views of the scenic river and cruises gliding by. We couldn't have been more please!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vivien from uk

Lived up to expectation and beyond

Posted Sep 23, 2013
Pros: Breakfast in the courtyard will be a lasting memory
Location: Tourist bus 5 mins away also trams and other buses, small authentic restaurants near by
Excellent hotel location by the Tagus Honesty bar good too no staff flapping about all the time Home from Home
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Adrian from Australia

Lovely boutique hotel, lots of charm,

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: Its personality, the furnishings and the honesty bar.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Superb museum next door, catch the bus for a short trip to town.
Brilliant hotel, lots of character, wonderful roof top balcony, very quiet due to very good glazing. Very friendly helpful staff. Next to a great museum and close to town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic stay!

Posted Sep 3, 2013
We had a great stay at this hotel, it was very peaceful with a fantastic room and a very comfortable bed. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JR from London

Hotel full of period character

Posted Aug 29, 2013
Slightly to the west of the city center, As Janelas Verdas is next door to the museum of traditional arts, which is one of the most important museums of pre-modern art and furniture in Portugal -- as a bonus we were given free tickets there at reception. It is also a very short walk from the puppet museum, which is fabulous. This hotel is not a soulless chain hotel, so expect old glamour that's a little frayed around the edges. Breakfast (which lasts until midday) is great, and it is taken in a courtyard garden. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It's close to Santos train station, where you can catch the train to the beach at Cascais. And there are frequent busses and a tram stop to take you to the city centre, which is about a mile away. The location is also much better than the more central ones for food: there are plenty of inexpensive and thoroughly Portuguese restaurants and bars frequented by locals. The hotel was perfect for a romantic escape.