Ratings based on 268 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom bonita Ca.

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: None
Location: Five stars++aaaa+++
Five stars++aaaa+++ Everything are excellent Thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2014 by PedroMCosta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, It was a real pleasure to read these wonderful words following your stay at the Avenida Palace. Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you again in a near future. Kind regards, Pedro Miguel Costa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Canterbury UK

Lisbon's Treasure

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Position and atmosphere
Cons: slight redecoration
Location: Right in the centre of Lisbon and immediately adjacent Restauradores Metro station
We stayed here in October 2014, the hotel is 152 years old and fairly well preserved, although maybe some of the decor could do with touching up. The staff are very attentive and went out of their way to please. Location could not be better. all in all a first class hotel in a first class position with first class staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2014 by PedroMCosta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for a truly outstanding review and for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace. Your wonderful review will surely be a great source of motivation for the entire team. Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to your new Lisbon residence. Yours sincerely, Pedro Miguel Costa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Location for Lisbon

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: Location, Location, Location
We had a great stay. Wonderful staff, Great sized room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2014 by PedroMCosta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for letting us know that you had a great stay at the Avenida Palace. Your comments about our staff are much appreciated and will be forward to the entire team. Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you again in a near future. Kind regards, Pedro Miguel Costa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bedford

Why Stay anywhere else ?

Posted Oct 20, 2014
First time in Lisbon and chose those hotel on the basis of other reviews. We were not disappointed, the staff and Junior Suite were first class. The Hotel is in the best possible location, and although there is no restaurant available the breakfast room is great as is he buffet breakfast. There are also numerous good places to eat within easy walking distance. Would highly recommend for a great stay in Lisbon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2014 by PedroMCosta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace on your first time in Lisbon. Our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality and we are thrilled that our services were up to your expectations. I will share your comments with the team involved and I look forward to welcoming you to your Lisbon residence, on your next visit to Lisbon. Yours Sincerely, Pedro Miguel Costa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cheshire

Would like to return

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: The internal decor was amazing. Our suite, the downstairs lounge area and reception, all very tastefully decorated.
Cons: The choice of light meals in the bar a little disappointing. You could not have meals from the room menu downstairs in the bar area.
Location: We found the Downtown location ideal. Some very good shops and restaurants.
My friend and myself had booked a Junior Suite for our visit, when the staff became aware that one of us was celebrating a special birthday the room was upgraded to an Executive Suite and a bottle of champagne was sent to the room. Although the room was at the front of the hotel it was very quiet with no noise from the road at all. We found all the staff very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent with all needs catered for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2014 by PedroMCosta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Allow me to thank you for your rewarding comments about your stay at the Avenida Palace. We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests and are pleased when such effort is recognized. Your enthusiasm for the hotel is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation to the entire team. I will surely forward your thanks to all. It would be a great honor to welcome you on your return to the Avenida Palace in your future stay. Yours sincerely, Pedro Miguel Costa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England

Beautiful old traditional hotel in central Lisbon

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Wonderful architecture, lovely relaxed feel, plus kind and attentive staff
Cons: Wish there was a restaurant so that we could eat at the hotel (other than bar snacks) in the evening.
Location: Central Lisbon but within walking distance of the river Tagus. Right next to a station and extremely close to buses, trams, taxis and an 'elevator' .
If you want real luxury with a traditional feel. If you want to be pampered and relaxed but close to all the lovely sights of Lisbon, this is the hotel for you. It isn't cheap - it's a 5 * hotel after all, but it's worth every penny.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2014 by PedroMCosta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following your stay at the Avenida Palace and I am thrilled to hear that you felt pampered and relaxed during your stay. Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back very soon to your new Lisbon residence. Yours sincerely, Pedro Miguel Costa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oxfordshire

Great Hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: The pubic rooms especially the breakfast dining rooms are very grand. Our suite was a good size and had two good size bathrooms.
Cons: Nothing,
Location: A good selection of Restaurants and shops are near by. Taxis, trams and trains are on your doorstep.
Fantastic location, right next to the train station for a trip to Sintra. Very attentive staff who are friendly and attentive. A great place top stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2014 by PedroMCosta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I thank you for leaving such a kind review of your experience staying at the Avenida Palace. I must also thank you for your kind words about our staff and location. I will be delighted to share your review and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Pedro Miguel Costa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom uk

Wonderful classic

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: classic atmosphere, rooms, communal areas, staff, breakfast.
Location: perfect location at the heart of Lisbon
A place Ritz-like with the charm of the classic era. Comfortable communal areas to sit and read. Lovely place highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2014 by PedroMCosta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review about your stay at the Avenida Palace. Your high rating and recommendation are much appreciated. We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at the Avenida Palace in a not too distant future. Yours Sincerely, Pedro Miguel Costa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Old-Style European Hotel. Four Stars.

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: See above….and add the excellent location next to the train station for the excursion to Sintra that should not be missed.
Cons: Nothing!!
This hotel is a return to the wonderful European hotels of the past. Excellent staff and excellent service, providing an ambience that is gone from the US. Go….and enjoy!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2014 by PedroMCosta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review about the Avenida Palace. It was delightful to read that you enjoyed your experience with us. With a prime location in the very center of Lisbon, this Hotel, with more than a century of history and fully renovated is a symbol of our great city. I look forward to welcome you again in the near future. Yours sincerely, Pedro Miguel Costa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly recommend this fine hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Very friendly, accommodating and helpful staff. The concierge was extremely knowledgeable. Location could not be better for sightseeing. The meeting place for 2 of our walking tours was right across the street in the square. The Metro is just down the block. Great bars, patios, shops and restaurants within easy walking distance. The famous #28 tram is just a short distance away. Excellent breakfast included in a palace setting. We had a very early departure to the airport and the hotel delivered breakfast to our room at 5 am. The welcoming gift of fruit was a nice touch. The bathroom was on the small side but I would stay here again and highly recommend this fine hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2014 by PedroMCosta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Your review is wonderful reading. Allow me to thank you sincerely on behalf of all the staff members. As our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of quality, we are thrilled that our services were up to your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon to your Lisbon residence. Kind regards, Pedro Miguel Costa