Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Wonderful hotel!

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Can't think of anything!
Location: Central location for sightseeing, shopping, bars and restaurants. We didn't need a taxi at all during our stay
The staff were fabulous....helpful, friendly, relaxed but very professional.We were given brilliant recommendations for dinner, pitched just right for us, so well judged by the staff. Their recommendation for Fado was also spot on. The roof top bar is great with an informal but stylish atmosphere. Breakfast is very good. The rooms are exceptionally clean. I have stayed in 5 star hotels all over the world but none have come close to getting the total package as correct as this one. Exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Lisbon hotel

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Facilities; staff; location
Two couples traveling stayed three nights. Facilities were excellent and the staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. Close to everything. Don't miss the rooftop bar at the end of day seeing sites. Great views and helpful staff. We will stay here when in Lisbon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really nice staff

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Well positioned hotel with very thoughtful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Caroline from Scotland

Good Hotel: Great Staff

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Excellent location for exploring the older part of the city. The staff. The rooftop terrace.
Cons: Wi-fi. It's now free throughout the hotel, but the connection was poor and dropped off constantly.
Location: The No. 28 tram trundles by the front door and the sights of the Bairro Alto are on the doorstep.
The Bairro Alto is in a great location for exploring the old town. Rooms are on the small side, but everything in them is of the highest quality. Extra touches such as chocolates, fruit and water were much appreciated. The rooftop terrace is fantastic, though it does get very busy as it's open to non residents, and is obviously a popular spot to enjoy a drink, while enjoying the spectacular views. We didn't sample dinner, but breakfasts were very good, with a wide choice of items. Hotel staff, led by manager Jorge, are excellent. Very professional, welcoming and friendly and happy to offer advice on places to visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by H and P from london

Funky hotel, tons of character.

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: The staff was helpful and nice. Went out of their way.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Location was great, bars restaurants, shopping, metro station, and the 28 tram runs right in from of the hotel.
We went to celebrate my husbands birthday. Perfect city for a weekend away. Perfect hotel for a weekend away. The food was delicious. The hotel was well appointed. Staff helpful and location great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Melissa from Colorado

Charming old hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Very swanky. Nice location.
Cons: Hard to find, even w/ GPS. The parking garage across the street does not accept U.S. credit cards, take cash! Or pay the 20E for valet I guess.
Location: Good restaurant next door - La Brassiere De L'Entrecote. About 90E for 2 w/ a bottle of wine.
The hotel was very clean and neat and the front desk personnel were very friendly. Every amenity was provided from robes and slippers and towel warmers, to a safe sex kit near the mini-bar. I had a single room and it was very small, but fine for the few hours I spent there. My floors squeaked a bit and I felt bad for whomever had the room below me. I only stayed there about 8 hours because of an early flight. I wish I had more time to explore the neighborhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Catherine from Hawaii

Close to everything!

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
An outstanding hotel - the rooms are superb. The staff is warm and helpful with every aspect of your stay, and the location is right where you want to be!
2 out of 5
by LA guy from Boston

Great Location - But not best deal

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Cons: FREE WIFI
Location: Great area - close to a lot of dinning and shopping and a very vibrant young scene.
The hotel is pretty and centrally located and is well maintained. But for a 5 star hotel, one would expect more amenities like a pool, bigger rooms, and FREE WIRELESS INTERNET. I find it rather petty to charge 5-star prices but penny pinch on what is normally free elsewhere, like the internet. I found the price of WIFI to be exorbitant as well, something like 15 Euros per day/per device. They did not replace the complimentary water bottle in the room every night and the attention to detail to these sorts of little comforts is absent. The staff is generally nice, but not always. They have a difficult valet section with no one constantly manning the area, and when you run in to request help (since you are blocking the street) they take their sweet time to help you out. Overall, I would rather stay in a hotel with more traditional 5-star amenities, this hotel did not have anything in particular to set it apart.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by J&P from Houston, Texas

Perfect location

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Everything about this hotel was superb! The staff was overly helpful, the breakfast was very good and fresh. The two rooms we stayed in, yes two, were both excellent. The Deluxe room was spacious and a corner unit. The attic room (Mansard) on the 5th floor was our favorite. The attic room was larger than expected and loved the layout. The rooftop bar and view were magical. Try the sparkling Sangria. I highly recommend, and I am very picky.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by SJS

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2013 on Hotels.com