Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Caroline from Scotland

Good Hotel: Great Staff

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Excellent location for exploring the older part of the city. The staff. The rooftop terrace.
Cons: Wi-fi. It's now free throughout the hotel, but the connection was poor and dropped off constantly.
Location: The No. 28 tram trundles by the front door and the sights of the Bairro Alto are on the doorstep.
The Bairro Alto is in a great location for exploring the old town. Rooms are on the small side, but everything in them is of the highest quality. Extra touches such as chocolates, fruit and water were much appreciated. The rooftop terrace is fantastic, though it does get very busy as it's open to non residents, and is obviously a popular spot to enjoy a drink, while enjoying the spectacular views. We didn't sample dinner, but breakfasts were very good, with a wide choice of items. Hotel staff, led by manager Jorge, are excellent. Very professional, welcoming and friendly and happy to offer advice on places to visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by H and P from london

Funky hotel, tons of character.

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: The staff was helpful and nice. Went out of their way.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Location was great, bars restaurants, shopping, metro station, and the 28 tram runs right in from of the hotel.
We went to celebrate my husbands birthday. Perfect city for a weekend away. Perfect hotel for a weekend away. The food was delicious. The hotel was well appointed. Staff helpful and location great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Melissa from Colorado

Charming old hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Very swanky. Nice location.
Cons: Hard to find, even w/ GPS. The parking garage across the street does not accept U.S. credit cards, take cash! Or pay the 20E for valet I guess.
Location: Good restaurant next door - La Brassiere De L'Entrecote. About 90E for 2 w/ a bottle of wine.
The hotel was very clean and neat and the front desk personnel were very friendly. Every amenity was provided from robes and slippers and towel warmers, to a safe sex kit near the mini-bar. I had a single room and it was very small, but fine for the few hours I spent there. My floors squeaked a bit and I felt bad for whomever had the room below me. I only stayed there about 8 hours because of an early flight. I wish I had more time to explore the neighborhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Catherine from Hawaii

Close to everything!

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
An outstanding hotel - the rooms are superb. The staff is warm and helpful with every aspect of your stay, and the location is right where you want to be!
2 out of 5
by LA guy from Boston

Great Location - But not best deal

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Cons: FREE WIFI
Location: Great area - close to a lot of dinning and shopping and a very vibrant young scene.
The hotel is pretty and centrally located and is well maintained. But for a 5 star hotel, one would expect more amenities like a pool, bigger rooms, and FREE WIRELESS INTERNET. I find it rather petty to charge 5-star prices but penny pinch on what is normally free elsewhere, like the internet. I found the price of WIFI to be exorbitant as well, something like 15 Euros per day/per device. They did not replace the complimentary water bottle in the room every night and the attention to detail to these sorts of little comforts is absent. The staff is generally nice, but not always. They have a difficult valet section with no one constantly manning the area, and when you run in to request help (since you are blocking the street) they take their sweet time to help you out. Overall, I would rather stay in a hotel with more traditional 5-star amenities, this hotel did not have anything in particular to set it apart.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by J&P from Houston, Texas

Perfect location

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Everything about this hotel was superb! The staff was overly helpful, the breakfast was very good and fresh. The two rooms we stayed in, yes two, were both excellent. The Deluxe room was spacious and a corner unit. The attic room (Mansard) on the 5th floor was our favorite. The attic room was larger than expected and loved the layout. The rooftop bar and view were magical. Try the sparkling Sangria. I highly recommend, and I am very picky.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by SJS

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by niceguy1st from Singapore

Great Location

Posted Oct 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location right on the famous tram line 28. Staff were all very friendly from reception - with great suggestions on seeing the city, transfers, etc, to the breakfast ( very nice) staff in the morning, to the roof top bar staff ( a must to sit and have a drink in the evening - great view of the river) Room was typical older building Europe type smaller. Door closing were loud and creaky floors made for a bit of noise if your a light sleeper, but I found tolerable. Comfy rooms. Wifi for charge, but cable for free - (I always travel with my small portable router - a must for savings like this and great signal)My 1st trip to Lisbon - I'll be back and not hesitate to stay here. Note - taxis are a problem like other major cities. Head all the warnings you've read
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martin from London

Great boutique hotel in a lively part of the city

Posted Sep 25, 2013
Lovely staff and great rooms. Amazing views from the 6 floor roof terrace bar. The Bairro Alto area of Lisbon is also great for drinks and food, and is a really vibrant part of the city. Highly recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Connie from Las Vegas, NV

A truly outstanding vacation experience!

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Pros: As above.
Location: The hotel is located adjacent to the Chiado and Baixa, both areas with abundant shops, restaurants, entertainment.
The Bairro Alto Hotel is beautiful, perfectly located, and extremely comfortable. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient and attended to all my needs and questions. The hotel restaurant, Flores do Bairro, was absolutely superb - the best meals I had in Portugal! - and all the waitstaff were simply excellent. Though the rooftop dining area gets a bit crowded at times, the staff did everything possible to accommodate the guests, and it is a beautiful place to have a light meal or a drink.