Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jan

Very good - location, staff, hotel, breakfast

Posted Apr 1, 2014
only app. 300m to walk from Metro station (up hill - so perhaps not best for all of us). Otherwise everything was just right: short walk into Lisbon centre, staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast buffet very good, room basic but very clean and tidy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Sep 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were very welcomed by Mr. Antonio, who loves to explain about the city and help you to explore it. By the way, as a welcoming drink, you can have a glass of Porto wine. The hotel is located less than 5 minutes from the subway and 10 minutes walking from Bairro Alto, what helps a lot, especially if you do not want to spend your Euros with Taxis. The area is not beautiful and you fell in the bohemin suburb, with dirty streets. The room was almost as expected but the fact that the furniture was broken was frustrating. The hotel definitely requires some repairs. At the end, I believe that by the price we wanted to pay, this would be a good option. I could stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Adil Kussow from Boston, US

Hotel

Posted Jun 22, 2013
Pros: Already explained.
Cons: I think all is ok. no need to improve.
Location: Close to Bairo Alto, train and M station
Very good hotel, clean great breakfast, nice professional helpy stuff. Perfect location close to everything!
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Tim from Singapore

TERRIBLE HOTEL

Posted May 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Extremely rude staff, nothing that I have ever seen before. 2 friends came to visit me at 12 noon after my check in. Not only did the reception not greet them, he came to my room personally and gave me a scolding, demanding that my friends greet him. Was supposed to stay 3 nights but this rude attitude resulted in me canceling the next 2 nights. Check out was a nightmare 2 hours long. To reach the hotel you must climb a steep hill, passing a park with homeless people. This hotel service is horrible, never encountered such a bad experience before and i spent 1 day searching for new accommodations because I felt very threatened by the hotel reception.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by carman

Posted Dec 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
Staff very helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Central Location, Fair Price

Posted Sep 9, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Airconditioning / Bed
Location: Central - Perfect for getting out and about, handy for metro.
Top floor room was very hot with marginal air conditioning. Uncomfortable and noisy mattress.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Debi

Good location, but steep, dated hotel, but comfort

Posted Jul 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel is dated, looks like it was decorated in the 70's. It is confortable, rooms and bathrooms are spacious. It is a steep walk up but easy enough, between hotel and msin avenue is a bit downtrodden and seedy, lots of homeless in the park, staff is helpful, internet in room is weak or nonexistent so must sit in lobby - not a bad place though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Leslie from Edinburgh, Midlothian, UK

March weekend

Posted Mar 21, 2012
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Limited availability of double beds
Location: Halfway up the hill above the Avenida Metro station. Not too difficult even for my 70 yr old legs.
We had booked a double but could only get single beds because of limited availability. Breakfast was really good (scrambled eggs and bacon as well as the usual). Bathroom excellent - clean. Wife didn't like the pattern on the room carpet. Central location and easy access to main travel routes. Decent local cafes and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Hotel Botanico, Lisbon

Posted Feb 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
Excellent value for money, friendly helpful staff. Great location within walking distance of main sites and quiet at night. A few local restaurants offer good menus at reasonable prices. But windows need to be double glazed to keep the cold out in winter as the heating was not efficient.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Yuma, AZ

Botanico Hotel-central location

Posted Apr 26, 2011 on Hotels.com
Botanico Hotel is close to nice areas and an easy walk to many resturants. It is in a noisy, dirty part of town, but rates are reasonable and it was conveniently located.