Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moscow

Good location, poor rooms

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: location, bunch of good restaurants nearby
Cons: breakfast, room cleaniness, pool service.
If you plan to stay in Cascais than you gonna like the location of this hotel! But that's the only advantage... rooms are small and dirty. I had a sink full of cigarettes when checked in and bad smell in the WC!! Staff is very friendly, especially reception!! Breakfast is just awful, cooks can't even cook eggs right and the variety of foor is poor..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location, a bit away from the main town

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The overall ambience and quality of décor.
Cons: Choice of food at lunch was not great and salad portions tiny, complimentary water should be more available.
Location: There is a marina with a shop close by for water (and ice lollies!), and the main town is 10 minutes walk away with a choice of many restaurants.
Having read reviews, I wondered if the sea view rooms really worth the extra cash (pretty much double) but I am so glad I didn't spend the extra. My room facing the street (203) was lovely, white wooden floor, blue décor and it had a huge balcony that was in the sun in the afternoon and evenings, unlike the rooms that faced the sea. The pool area was very nice, with comfy sunbeds and cabanas (Brits, please don't bring your own towels - use the plush white ones provided! :) ). The pool water was at the glacial end of the scale, although useful for cooling down. The staff were generally very hospitable; my friend sprained her foot out at a restaurant and they were running round after her with ice and someone even went to the pharmacy for her.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Phil Hughes

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Linda from Oklahoma City, OK

Great view of the ocean

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: The friendly employees and our room was very pretty and comfortable. It is a small hotel, very quiet and clean.
Cons: The food in the restaurant could be a little better.
Location: The hotel is located on a bluff above the water. You can walk along the ocean or go the town of Cascais for beaches or shopping.
Upon arrival we were greeted by Miguel who showed us all around the hotel. Our room wasn't ready so we sat on the pool deck, had drinks and snacks with wonderful service from the wait staff and gazed at the ocean. Miguel was always so friendly and helpful and fulfilled every request we had. He even waited after his shift was over until we got back from dinner at a local restaurant which he had recommended to make sure that we enjoyed our meal. We wished we had stayed the the Farol for the rest of our trip instead of going to Lisbon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Location, location, location

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: Seafront, easy walking distance to Cascais centre, very charming hotel, very helpful staff
Cons: Massage treatment was okay but not at the very high level as everything else in this hotel. Gardeners over-ambitious and made a hell lot of noise
Seafront, easy walking distance to Cascais centre, very charming hotel, very helpful staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from Dublin

Few Days at Farol

Posted Apr 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Spent a lovely week in the Farol Hotel. Great location only about 1K outside of the town, enough to make for a nice walk in and out each day, but far enough out to be quiet at night. Went for the Design Room, which is the most expensive but IMO worth the extra for the excellent views. We did notice a guest at check in complaining about the rooms having gone for the cheaper double rooms without sea views. You get what you pay for... The sushi restaurant is excellent, and the Mix restaurant (same room, different levels), also good. Only small criticism is the breakfast could be a little better. Cava only on a Sunday…
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Happy shopper from G

Romantic modern hotel right by the water!!!!

Posted Feb 25, 2014
First of all I would like to extent a warm thank you to the staff at the Farol Design Hotel who were so friendly and helpful. I went with my girlfriend as part of her birthday present for 3 nights in Febuary and I can honestly say it was one of the best holidays I've ever been on. The views of the sea we're great. The hotel decor was inviting, the staff were welcoming and so helpful and very knowledgable and full of recommendations, breakfast was lovely and fresh with fresh fruits, English breakfast, fresh portugease pastriese and cakes, cereal and a wonderful fruit n nut porridge with a Portuguese twist. You can sit in the restaurant with a fanatic view of the sea which then over looks the swimming Pool area. The sushi bar was amazing, never knew Portugal had such a thing for sushi and they really know there stuff. The sushi chef was very welcoming whilst he prepared your food in a open kitchen. The rooms were clean and modern and our room had a terrace which lead straight out onto the rocks over looking the sea. The hotel is situated 5 minutes away from tourist attraction 'Hell's mouth' and a 5-10 walk away from the centre with restaurants shops and bars and the bus and train station. The train will take you straight to Lisbon city in 30 minutes and the bus 403 will take you along the lovely coast with great views on a hour long journey to Sintra a very romantic and fascinating area of Portugal. All in all best hotel I stayed in and defiantly one of best holidays ever!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Happy shopper from G

Romantic shabby sheek hotel right by the water!!!!

Posted Feb 25, 2014
First of all I would like to extent a warm thank you to the staff at the Farol Design Hotel who were so friendly and helpful. I went with my girlfriend as part of her birthday present for 3 nights in Febuary and I can honestly say it was one of the best holidays I've ever been on. The views of the sea we're great. The hotel decor was inviting, the staff were welcoming and so helpful and very knowledgable and full of recommendations, breakfast was lovely and fresh with fresh fruits, English breakfast, fresh portugease pastriese and cakes, cereal and a wonderful fruit n nut porridge with a Portuguese twist. You can sit in the restaurant with a fanatic view of the sea which then over looks the swimming Pool area. The sushi bar was amazing, never knew Portugal had such a thing for sushi and they really know there stuff. The sushi chef was very welcoming whilst he prepared your food in a open kitchen. The rooms were clean and modern and our room had a terrace which lead straight out onto the rocks over looking the sea. The hotel is situated 5 minutes away from tourist attraction 'Hell's mouth' and a 5-10 walk away from the centre with restaurants shops and bars and the bus and train station. The train will take you straight to Lisbon city in 30 minutes and the bus 403 will take you along the lovely coast with great views on a hour long journey to Sintra a very romantic and fascinating area of Portugal. All in all best hotel I stayed in and defiantly one of best holidays ever!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Luis Domingues from Lisbon

Not a 5 * property

Posted Feb 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Highlights: very nice staff, beautiful seafront location, fashionable decoration of the public areas (although not the rooms!) But… We booked a sea view room, which actually had a side window where you can see some sea. I would call this “partial” sea view. It didn’t match any of the nice pictures displayed on the site. The room is pretty small (around 20 sqm including bathroom), with a queen bed (the size of the room won’t allow a king bed), minibar, LCD TV, small desk and wardrobe. Sound proofing is poor or non-existent (we could hear the noise in the room above) and the old sliding windows allow some cold air to breathe in. The sushi restaurant is quite good, although the rooms is very cold - the glass walls all around don’t insulate much in a cold night and the staff is juggling with the few gas heaters they have meeting the demands of the customers. Although a bit expensive, we felt that the value for money was reasonable for a sea front location. Breakfast is what I would expect in a 3* (with the exception of the fresh tropical fruit) or any 4* – it included a selecting of sliced (budget) cheese and ham, some bread and pastry, yogurts, fresh sliced fruit, coffee and some juices. The breakfast buffet was quickly moved out of the breakfast room once the closing time approached. The other two 5* hotels in the same neighborhood are 30% to 50% cheaper - both are better or equal in every aspect.