Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In-room safe not working, staff stealing

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Location is great, staff, facilitity condition, cleanliness is OK. My disappointment (resentment rather) is honesty of some hotel staff - there must be a rogue staff there. The in-room safe was not working and we left two lap-tops and two Bose headphones in a backpack with the reception, believing that that was a good bet. When we retrieved the backpack in the evening, I found out my new Bose headphone was missing. The hotel staff called the police into the hotel for me to report the case, but of course they cannot help. The only thing they could do is to invite me to their station to file a theft report. I was told I have 60 days to do so. I think it may be more productive to report this case to Expedia users. Hope this helps you when considering this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wendy from Palo Alto, CA

Great value in great location, but nothing fancy

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: Staff, location, value
Cons: dated
Location: just off Praca Figuero, great access to Rossio Train Station, hop on hop off bus, other buses, and the 3 neighborhoods
Staff were extremely helpful, hotel quite dated, room clean, bathroom tiny but functional. Great location and very reasonable. I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ildiko from London

Very central hotel, close to many sights

Posted Jun 3, 2014
The hotel was very central, yet not too noisy. The room was clean and made up every day, buffet breakfast was good, especially their cakes and pastries. Hotel staff were very helpful. There is a small lounge with a mini bar facilities, but most importantly there is free access to a computer and printer as well. Very useful when wifi is quite weak. Wifi seemed to be weak almost everywhere in Portugal though. Ask hotel staff about easy access to the castle, to save loads of steep climbing up there!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Precious from Allentown, PA

The Rooms on Top

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed at this hotel twice and really appreciated it's convenient location and wonderful service. The first time I stayed at the hotel my room was on the second floor, the WiFi worked well but my room was a little dark (the lighting was so dim). The second time I stayed at this hotel, I stayed on the fourth florr and though the WiFi didn't work, the room was brighter, had a small balcony, and view was fantastic! Overall, this is a good hotel to stay at because its close to the Metro, the Rossio train station, and so many restaurants and stores.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tom from Canada

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Good Hotel !

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Good location, nice staff, easy to find, good breakfast, clean and cosy !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel in the heart of the city

Posted Jan 11, 2014
Cons: coffee for breakfast
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Beate from Portland

Great Location

Posted Dec 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Went to Lisbon on a 3-day stopover and picked the Alcobia for its close location to town. Finding the address on foot was a bit challenging as many streets share multiple names. Rua da Madalena is a better reference point. The staff was helpful but not overly enthusiastic about visitors. More like a job they had to do. Room was small but had everything we needed and beds were comfortable. Elevator fits only 2 people and 1 piece of (small) luggage, so be prepared to walk the stairs. Look for good coffee elsewhere as Breakfast was marginal but given the low room rate totally OK.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by HJ from Montevideo, Uruguay

Great for people that can manage staicases.

Posted Mar 21, 2013
Pros: The view, spaciousness of the room, kind staff
Cons: the stairs and small elevator
Location: excelent location
Two staircases to access a very small elevator (two people without baggage or one and one piece of luggage). Not recomended for people with problems to climb stairs. Kind and helpful staff. Free use of the computer in the lobby. Nice breakfast buffet.