Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jorge from England

Very nice hotel close to Lisbon city center.

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: Pretty much everything.
Cons: Maybe complimentary bottle of water in the room.
Location: Great location, short walk to Rossio, the river and, if you are feeling like a good walk, you can walk up to the castle as we have.
We have stayed at the hotel Aviz twice and will stay again, in fact we will always try and stay at the Aviz whenever we are in Lisbon. We stayed first with our daughter and the second time with friends and they all liked the hotel, they all enjoyed their stay. Great facilities, very short walk to the city center and very close to where you can pick up the touristic buses, great breakfast, very pleasant staff. Nothing bad to say.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great find

Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is a great find with good location, nice rooms and really friendly service. The hairdryer was clearly designed by a man but apart from that it was perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carr from NJ

Beautiful clean hotel in the heart of the city!

Posted Aug 11, 2013
Pros: Staff service, comfortable beds, newly renovated, breakfast, location.
Location: Avenida da Liberdade is right there which is main street with tons of restaurants and hotels and shops. Famous Marques de Pombal also nearby.
From the moment we arrived with our 2 toddlers and 8 suitcases/bags the staff was amazing. They stopped what they were doing and took multiple trips up the elevator to assist us in bringing up the luggage. The room was immaculate, clean and very comfortable. We had the suite so it felt like a mini apartment, every room newly renovated.The breakfast was just delicious especially the pasteis de nata (Portuguese custard cups). I was extremely pleased and would absolutely love to stay there again!
3 out of 5
by Maria from Winnipeg, Canada

Quiet room, uncomfortable beds

Posted Aug 7, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: New pillows and mattresses. A hard mattresses is not a firm mattresses.
Location: One street over, Avenida de Libredade, is where to start. Head south to check out restaurants and high end shops. check out more down side streets.
This hotel was one street over from the main Avenida with shops and cafes. The beds where extremely hard with thin worn out pillows. Slept on my son's child cot with extra bed spread rolled up for a pillow for a better but not the best night's sleep. Room was quiet and breakfast was great but couldn't make up for feeling the effect of a bad night's sleep all day long.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wink from UK

We will be back!!!

Posted Jul 28, 2013
Pros: Everything was perfect
Cons: Nothing
Location: Just off the main drag
We celebrated our 30 anniversary at Hotel Aviz. They booked a fantastic restaurant for our 30th meal. Very, very good choice. The hotel and staff were brilliant. The location was great. The breakfast had a wide choice of hot and cold food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kevin from Calistoga CA, USA

Great hotel, Incredible Staff

Posted Jul 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was very nice, but it is the incredibly friendly and helpful staff that will me bring me back whenever I am in Lisbon. Also there was a top notch breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Apr 22, 2013
Pros: the hotel staff-so friendly and helpful
Cons: the shower water temperature (got way too hot every 5 minutes)
Location: the location was safe, near a main roundabout, and walking distance from the city center
Great hotel! the staff was so helpful and always asked if we needed anything....they also gave us great recommendations on where to go in Lisbon. The hotel is slightly outdated, and our shower randomly got really really hot but that is minor. It was clean, in a great and safe area. They cleaned our room every day, and brought us extra pillows upon request. It is also a bigger room than i expected (used to the small european rooms). Great great great staff. Made us happy everytime we were back in the hotel. They also have a hot english breakfast included which was great.
3 out of 5
by George from Toronto, Canada

Not Bad!

Posted Mar 22, 2013
We booked a double room but found it small for 2 of us. The window opened up to a view of another building about 50 ft across with mechanical equipment, noisy fans etc to look down upon from the open window. Buffet breakfast was very nice Good uptown location, however the hike back and forth from the Baxia and Alfama districts were a bit too far for us older folks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chris from Warwick

Nice hotel, shame about the restaurant

Posted Mar 19, 2013
Location: It is a pleasant stroll down Ave Liberdade to the centre but there is nothing much near to the hotel.
The room was small but well designed and the bathroom was spacious with an outside window. The view was of the back of an office building! We enjoyed the breakfast buffet which included freshly cooked scrambled egg and bacon, a pleasant atmosphere too with proper white tablecloths and helpful staff. This small hotel has 2 modern lifts so never any waiting. Our main disappointment was the restaurant, which is over-priced and with very slow formal service. The pizza restaurant in the hotel 2 doors away is a better bet!