Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Hotel Jorge V - not good enough

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Location. Air con.
Cons: Please see above
Location: Perfect location to be able to see Lisbon on foot and to get the to main sights easily
From past travel experience, I expected to like this hotel, despite some of the reviews, but I have to say it was just too dated, shabby and noisy. We had a room on the sixth floor. Really basic, old furniture, unloved grubby balcony (no seats) and a grubby carpet. Really tiny bathroom, so much so showering was uncomfortable with the shower curtain sticking to you all the time. I pulled a socket out of the wall to plug something else in and a whole load of wires came out with it! The air con was really good, bathroom clean and bedding fresh and changed regularly. Location is fab. The biggest problem, whilst not directly caused by the hotel, for us was the noise of building works starting early and on Thurs, Fri and Sat the horrendous loud noise from a nearby bar (we like nightlife and returned from the Barrio Alto most nights fairly late but this was super late and super ridiculously loud!). So sleep was disrupted (for me the number one necessity in a hotel). Soundproofed windows and balcony doors needed. We didn't try the breakfast. Reception staff varied. Some friendly, some not so. Overall, whilst I appreciate the price, the basic necessity of sleep (noise) and cleanliness (grubby carpet) weren't met so for me, so a no return. I felt the hotel was unloved, like they'd lost interest, I have stayed in similar 3 star, low price hotels and found some gems. Lisbon itself, absolutely wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very good location just off avenida de liberdade

Posted Jul 28, 2014
very good value hotel, central location ,close to metro
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
For the money and location, this hotel was good. The staff was helpful and friendly. Had some issues with a leaky air conditioner but no real complaints given we were not paying that much.
1 out of 5
by love to travel from ontario

Terrible

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Arrived a bit early, was told room not ready. Came back later, received a room key. Went to the room only to find people sleeping in the room. Went to get another key, next room had a over whelming smoke smell. Third room had a leaky tap and the locks on the windows did not work. This place needs a new manager and upgrades. Would not recommend !
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Teresa from Rochester NY

A big disappointment

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
How this hotel gets three stars is a mystery. The facade is in need of repair, the lobby and breakfast room are small, dark, and unwelcoming. Upon entering, one doesn't feel happy to have booked there. The breakfast was barely edible; few fresh fruits and some with no flavor; bitter, lukewarm coffee, mushy croissants. We went elsewhere for breakfast two of the three days of our stay. Rooms: small, carpet that I wouldn't walk on with bare feet. The lights above the bed are placed precisely so that you bang your head if you sit up to read. The furnishings are basic and old. Bathrooms you expect to be tiny in Europe; this one was miniscule and the shower curtain barely reached the top edge of the tub, making it hard not to flood the floor. A tiny shelf above the sink was the only place to set anything down. Their solution for luggage storage if you check out before heading for the train is in the corner of the lobby. We were happy to move on from this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Yoel from Miami

Great location

Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was not bad at all. I know it is old but it is kept very well. The only problem i found is that the bathroom are quite small; other than i think it is a good place to stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Pete from Chicago

Great value albeit a bit dated

Posted Apr 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was very happy with my stay here. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The price was great too, especially since it included wi-fi and a breakfast buffet (which was more than adequate--I did use it all three mornings of my stay). Short walk to two different metro stations, which was very convenient. My only problem was that the hotel was older and a bit dated. It could use a bit of renovation, but overall a great place to stay on a budget with character.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Charles from London

Central location

Posted Apr 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fine - a reliable choice which I first used 10 years ago for the Euros!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mature traveller from Brisbane, Australia

Central city chic location

Posted Apr 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Behind the main avenue with designer labels! Would have made grubby jeans wearing travellers feel very grotty if it wasn't for the occasional homeless person sleeping on the street. Our room even had a balcony with a glimpse of the harbour, lovely in good weather. Tiny lift.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Angie from London

nice hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Central location, good service. Very happy to stay.