Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w

Staff rude and unhelpful!

Posted Jul 5, 2014
I left after day 2! Of 6 day holiday.... Staff rude, unhelpful and only seemed interested in assisting better paying holidaymakers! Would not recommend and will definately not go back, tent on beach is preferable! Room small,shower falling off wall, wardrobe locked so couldn't access .... The list goes on...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from g

Excellent location and staff

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Clean hotel. Located close to the beach, restaurants and shops True feeling if being part of the culture and make up of costa de caparica
2 out of 5
by charlie from london

Close to beach

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Closeness to beach
Cons: TV no good facility's furniture dated
Location: Not much to do but fantastic beach spa close by but expensive
Very good value for money nice helpful staff , whole town needs a revamp
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was vey basic but clean. Staff is very friendly & helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Los Angeles

It is an older hotel with modest accommodations.

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: I liked the staff and the location. The beach is stunningly beautiful. The restaurants are plentiful and tasty.
Cons: They seriously need better wifi. It would be great if it was in all the rooms. It was really hard to work because it was slow. It is fine for reading.
Location: Go to the beach everyday and walk all the way down on both sides. It is very nice. To the north is a little forest area with trails. Awesome.
The staff were generally nice and friendly. The internet was only available on the 1st and 2nd floors and was rather limited and slow especially when other people were using it, which was all the time. The TV is tiny, but gets a nearly 40 channels of mixed Portuguese and English. Most of the other guests were Spanish, students which is apparently common for spring, and they were pretty nice. The hotel was apparently high class in the 30's but now is a little small etc. Right down the street from the beach and rather accommodating. I knew pretty much what to expect, so I was happy with it, especially for the price. Washing your clothes in Portugal is a bit of a pain and unless you have friends, you will end up taking your underwear to the laundromat where the ladies were not that happy about doing it for me. Did not eat the breakfast because there are so many Pastelarias near by, there is no point really. I'd say eat at the Merendeira and Tony's Pizza. The best little Pastelaria is in the town on the corner of Rua Horacio da Silva Louro and Av. Dr. Aresta Branco. It has a little glassed in outside patio and is hard to miss. There is also a little restaurant when you walk out of the hotel to the left on the other side of the street that was also good. Hit up the Bate Papo for the wifi and so real local food and people. And be aware that this is a beach hotel and sand is in the carpet permanently. Best bar in town is the Warm Up Bar. It is perfect for soccer with the locals.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by tazthe devil from London

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
was ok at one time we had to many teenagers staying
2 out of 5
by Stevie from London

Fear and Loathing at Praia Do Sol

Posted Mar 30, 2014
First the positives; the room was clean and tidied every day, nice little bar. Negatives; wi-fi only works if you are stood next to the modem. No phone signal at all, couple of items did go missing and when we ininformed reception they looked at us like we should go work on a time machine. We had room 216 - this over looks the back yard and when it rained the noise of the rain on the various bits of scrap metal and plastic disgarded by maintenance staff was horrendous and last all night. They had a group of kids aged 13-15 stay for the time we stayed, the kids screamed and ran riot in the hotel from 7am till 2am no matter how many times I asked staff to control the kids and their teacher supervisors - they didnt and said I should do something. I did and ended up shouting at them every night. Loud music and 15 year olds drinking while the staff hide in a little room is not useful. You have to hand your key back everytime you leave the hotel - this ain't too bad but the time you have to wait to get it back is a lifetime.... every time. I wouldn't stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Carlos from Ireland

Walking distance of the beach, and restaurants

Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel is simple, but the staff is extremely nice, make you feel at home, Hotel is close to a lot of restaurants, all price categories, and the beach, so, all was great, my second time there, and I will go back, surely.
2 out of 5
by Bill from Bristol

Out of season in Caparica

Posted Dec 4, 2013
Pros: It is cheap and cheerful.
Cons: The bathroom was freezing cold and the hot water required much patience. Badly in need of refurbishment.
Location: Very quiet out of season, but would be buzzy when the tourists are there
This hotel is reminiscent of a 1960s boarding house. Everything is functional, but if you expect more you will be disappointed. Breakfast is buffet style and not bad for €5 per person, but the coffee from a machine is simply undrinkable. We found it a better bet to visit the ice cream shop across the road. Costa da Caparica is a beach resort and is a bit depressing out of season, as all such places are. Many of the local restaurants were closed for at least some of our stay. I would not recomment O Pipo, virtually opposite the hotel, but would recommend going further down the coast to find Atlantico and the Chinese/Japanese restaurant almost next door, In the town centre, but tucked away is a good Italian restaurant, Napoli.