Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beautiful hotel, wonderful escape

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: The location was very central to the attractions of Sintra, the suite we stayed in was spacious with beautiful views, wonderful food in restaurant.
Cons: Fit and finish in the bathroom could be improved (tap washers needed to be replaced) .. but that was a very small issue
Location: It was very close to the National Palace as well as the estates and gardens nearby. There is a very convenient hop on hop off bus circuit.
This hotel was the refuge of Lord Byron for three months. One can understand why he would have been cranky having to return to a grey and dismal England. The hotel is wonderfully situated and is very comfortable indeed. The food at the restaurant was superlative and the staff very friendly. We knew nothing of Sintra and had been recommended to stay there by a friend. We stayed for three nights and were very sad to leave. It was our best vacation experience in many years.
2 out of 5
by Hugh from weston-super-mare

A disappointment.

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: The location is pretty good being only a ten minute walk to the centre of Sintra.
Cons: It badly needs upgrading.
Location: Sintra is a superb town with masses to see and loads of eating places.
I booked and paid for two nights having read that this is the hotel to use. We stayed only the one night for the following reasons: 1. There is no facility for parking. You have to find a space somewhere in a nearby road if you are lucky. 2. The room we were given (Eden) was so small there was no room for two people between the end of the bed and the table. It was very dark, looking straight at the trees. The plugs on the basin and bath had chains which were unattached. The bed was rock hard. The mixer tap on the basin was loose. The energy bulbs stood inches above the shades. Wifi is available only in public rooms and then only depending where you sit. This is NOT a five star hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from London

beautiful hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: location was good, staff were brilliant
Cons: breakfast on the outside terrace
Location: close to the town centre and easy access to the paths to the palace
stayed at Lawrences Hotel for my friends wedding in Sintra and it was a brilliant choice. The room was of a high standard the view from the balcony of the gardens/forest was breathtaking. And the history behind the hotel made it feel very special to stay there. Hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful throughout this short stay
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Austin

Good location, decent room, decent price.

Posted Dec 18, 2013
Pros: Great location.
Cons: Breakfast was sub-par.
Location: 5 minutes to most Sintra attractions, either by walking or bus.
Overall it was a good experience. Breakfast was a bit below average, with no hot items except on the weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing View to Moorish Castle

Posted Dec 9, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Berkley from Fresno CA

Romantic to the max

Posted Nov 13, 2013
My wife of 40 years and I thoroughly enjoyed this get a aeay in Sintra Portugal. Although a bit pricey, the history, charm, and quiet were special. The staff was wonderful amd oh my, the food was fabulous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by James from Austin

Lovely Remodeled Old Inn with Superb Restaurant

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: Restaurant, ambience, staff, location, architecture.
Cons: Safe and door keys.
Location: About two blocks from central plaza. If you plan to go to Castelo dos Mouros and Palacio da Pena on the top of the nearby mountain, DON'T TRY TO WALK
We loved the view out over the ravine and the proximity to old Imperial Palace and bus stops for other palaces, ruins and estates. The building itself is eccentric and rambling, but quiet and comfortable. Our first dinner at the hotel was so well prepared and well served that we decided to have our second dinner there as well. The menu included a terrific "wild hare" dish that we knew was really wild. Good wine selection, and the head waiter cheerfully accepted return of one bottle that had gotten corky. Staff was helpful and courteous. Only criticism is that room safe did not work and the key to the room did not work part of the time. Prices were very reasonable for the experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by David from York, UK

Convenient for town

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: Staff - see above. Excellent food and wine.
Cons: My imagination has run dry!
Location: All the wonderful palaces and gardens. Fascinating.
My wife had an accident within 6 hours of arriving in Sintra. The staff, at all levels, were magnificent in their care and attention. During my enforced extra 5 nights I spent in the hotel (my wife was in hospital) I was treated as a member of the hotel family! I cannot thank the staff enough. Well done!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Carol Gibson from Denver

Charming and convenient

Posted Oct 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Loved the location of the hotel. The rooms are charming and it has an excellent restaurant. The staff were very helpful and seemed to be on top of all your requests and needs.Would definitely stay there on a future trip to the area.