Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Exceeded every expectation.

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Coffee in room? That's just us.
Location: Perfect location, close to Lisbon sights.
Great staff, great location,,let me bring carafes of coffee upstairs in the morning, then return for great breakfast later. Dinner in restaurant was good, but service was better. Seriously, we felt more welcome there than any other hotel in recent memory. If I am ever in Lisbon again, it will definitely be at Marques de Pombal!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sarah from New York

Centrally located

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: It's location.
Excellent location. Close to aerobus and the tourist buses. Very good service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Glasgow

Friendly hotel with amazing staff

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: I liked the natural friendliness of the staff who gave a little of themselves to make each guest feel special.
Cons: Perhaps we were unlucky, but our room could have done with a little upgrading in terms of carpet and bathroom but it was kept spotless despite that.
We stayed here for 12 nights and can say nothing but good things about this hotel. The position is a good one for seeing Lisbon and the Avenue Liberdade is fabulous for shopping and browsing. From here you can wander into other areas by foot, funicular, tram or bus but I liked coming back here at night. The room was very comfortable and the bed amazing with soft, constantly changed white sheets. The only downside was some stains on the carpet around the coffee table and the bathroom was a little tired but very clean. Breakfast every morning was a real treat and we enjoyed chatting to the very friendly team who helped with the breakfast buffet which was varied and fresh. I loved the homemade tea bread both cinnamon and yoghurt flavour and our waiter made sure to keep,me some if I was later! Little details made the service excellent. We ate in the restaurant several times and again the food was good and service excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by gillian from London

Great position, town hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: We felt very comfortable and safe.
Cons: We would like some salad vegetables ie tomatoes or cucumber , at breakfast.
Location: Great location, close to the square where the Hop on , Hop off bus starts.
Very helpfully reception staff. Everyone friendly. Great buffet breakfast , and additional eggs can be ordered. Rooms very comfortable, lovely sheets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gisele from Toronto

Excellent location in the heart of the city

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: The staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to ensure our stay was comfortabale
Cons: Staff tried to sell too many expensive tours. There were far better deals available for the same type of services.
The beds in the room were extremely comfortable, but the pillows were much too soft. Should offer a choice of pillows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robert from Peterborough England

Good value hotel well placed for sightseeing

Posted Feb 22, 2014
Very well placed for sightseeing with a metro station on the doorstep and only a short walk to the centre of Lisbon. Good sized room which overlooked a street and was extremely quiet. Breakfast was fine and the hotel staff were friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by pat from ireland

Brilliant City Break Hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Superb location and connections to the airport & train stations. Quite, spotless comfortable rooms & free WiFi through. Friendly informative staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Accessible to everything, metro, down town, parks, restaurants. Get metro to their version of sea world and Europes biggest shopping mall.
Marquis de Pombal Lisbon ticks all the boxes in all the right places. Within yards of the Marquis de Pombal metro station it was only €1.40 from the airport and with easy walking distance to the centre of town. From the metro you can hop out to Colombo, the biggest shopping mall in Europe with a metro station practically in the Mall or to Benfica Stadium ( same stop). You can also go to Lisbon's version of sea world ( wow!) and it's adjoining Vasco da Gama shopping mall. The staff were incredibly friendly & informative, the buffet breakfast ideal, the free WiFi brilliant throughout, the rooms spotless and the location excellent. Highly recommended. Will definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ponch from Vancouver Canada

Ideal place to stay for visit to Lisbon

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: The way housekeeping kept the suite impeccably clean. Housekeeping is quite and respects if guest doesn't want to be disturbed. Breakfast with great.
Location: Right in the centre and along Avenida Liberdade. Just a few steps away from the metro.
The six days stay at the hotel was total comfort. Staff made sure that request was handled in a very timely manner. Surprise from the hotel was when I found chilled wine and cake left in the suite for my birthday and then another complimentary wine during the valentines day. Can't get any better attention than that! Breakfast buffet was ample with great choices.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Luke

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: Good location, they park the car for you, bar and restaurant good service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by california

def recommend. a solid 4 stars

Posted Nov 15, 2013
silvia at front desk speaks eight languages fluently and was larticularly helpful. very good location on tree-lined main blvd. skip the restaurant. walk a few blocks down toward water and eat at ribadour sp?) a famous old restaurant favored by locals. increidble selection of really fresh seafood, inc whelk, several types of lobsters/shrimp id never seen. try the barnacles. waiter brought me a couple just to try. far better tasting than youd ever guess.